We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Society Hills Slumber at the Sheraton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Society Hills Slumber at the Sheraton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our stay was just after Xmas for 6 nights. Large impersonal, city hotel but ideal if one is in Philly for a purpose as we were - a wedding! It is probably in the best part of the city as Society Hills is part of William Penn's historic city with Independence Hall, Liberty Bell etc. all a reasonable walk away. The main museums are further but to save on taxis use a number 38 bus from Chestnut / 5th Street. For only $2 this will take you to Benjamin Franklin Boulevard where all the great galleries are situated.

As in all American hotels the rooms were large and the beds even larger! No kettle in rooms just a Starbucks machine for real coffee which was excellent but spoilt by the provision of paper cups! No milk provided of course just a chemical whitener.
On the plus side, a decently sized swimming pool, oddly situated on the top floor so the glass roof let in lots of natural light. I used it regularly and each time, before breakfast, I had it to myself. Fitness suite is nearby.

On the negative side, breakfast is overpriced particularly by American standards; go to a diner instead. The bar is also too expensive again by local standards but it does stock a decent range of local "crafted" beers, all excellent.

The windows are sealed which is fine as the AC is very efficient but oh why so noisy? Probably the same in all rooms.

Staff were chatty and attentive but not always very knowledgeable.

When in Philly dont miss the Rodin Museum and the Barnes collection, the later requires advance booking so popular is it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet unless you are above the ballroom when a function is taking place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear hotelchris,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and apologize for all the unexpected misfortunes you experienced during your stay. We take all guest reviews to heart to better provide the experience they deserve. We hope you consider staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    214
    76
    29
    9
See reviews for
128
114
24
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed the Society Hill Sheraton for a weekend stay. Great location to historical sites, shopping and restaurants. Checkin was easy and the hotel is very clean. The staff was very helpful. The bar was very nice. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Geroge B.

We enjoyed learning about your experience at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are thrilled you had an excellent time. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the Sheraton Society Hill for only 2 nights, but they were wonderful nights. The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were very nice and were large. We had breakfast both mornings at the hotel and the food was wonderful. We were within easy walking distance of the downtown area and were able to walk to a number of the historic sites in the area, although my daughters favorite destination was the Dave and Buster's 3 minutes away.The hotel even had a kids splash pool which is perfect for my three year old daughter.

The only thing that I didn't like was the parking. The valet parking was almost 150 dollars for my two night stay! I had no idea that parking was going to be that expensive. Had I known in advance how expensive the parking was going to be I might have stayed outside the downtown area.

Room Tip: I don't have any tips on rooms, but the valet parking will set you back about 40 a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Travelgirl05667,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and we apologize that our parking options were not communicated to you before your stay. If you decide to return to the Sheraton Society Hill check out our special packages online where we offer a variety of options, including parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is always where I stay when traveling for business to Philladelphia. This hotel is located in walking distance to many fine restaurants and historic sites. The accommodations are above-standard. The hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are exceptionally spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Pam K,

We enjoy our repeat guests and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are extremely excited for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is our second time at this particular Sheraton and we were not disappointed! Society Hill is a great location in Philadelphia, walking distance to shopping, restaurants and points of interest. It is also a lovely neighborhood and there are scenic views overlooking the river from many of the rooms!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Workoutgirl24,

We are so happy you came back for a second time. We are always happy when familiar faces come back. We look forward to the next time you come and stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was invited to the Sports Network 26th annual Football Championship Subdivision Awards (the old Division 1-AA) dinner at the Sheraton Society Hill Hotel in Philadelphia. Presented were the the Walter Payton award for the player of the year; Eddie Robinson award for coach of the year; Buck Buchanan award for defensive player and Jerry Rice award for outstanding freshman. Jerry Rice hasn't caught a pass since 2005, but the NFL's all-time leading receiver was very hospitable and showed me some of his dance moves. Rice finished third on the second season of ABC's Dancing with the Stars,
Having spent three days in the City of Brotherly Love this past spring I was not interested in seeing the sites. But, if you are, this hotel is within walking distance of them all. The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and the Betsy Ross House are within a third of a mile from the hotel. Instead of driving from NYC I took a Greyhound bus both ways. The fare was less than the charge for overnight parking and in less than two hours I was in Philadelphia where a 5 minute taxi ride brought me to the hotel.
This is an atrium style building with four floors and 364 rooms. Try not to book a room on the outside as the noise from the lobby is rather loud, especially when there is a function taking place. My room was at the end of a maze of turns. The long walk led to a quiet room with all the amenities I needed. I was the only person using the pool, whirlpool and fitness center which are located on two floors. The buffet breakfast was nothing special, but adequate. Checkout was a breeze and a taxi awaited my return to the Greyhound terminal and NYC.

Room Tip: Do not choose an outside room facing the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Vinoron,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are happy you enjoyed the Sports Network event. Thank you for your comments about the hotel and the location. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a very good Sheraton.

Location is fantastic and the service throughout all parts of hotel was very good also.

It’s an atrium style property so the layout adds a bit of noise to the overall experience.

Stayed with my family-ideal as you can walk to a ton of things right near the hotel including Liberty Bell Independence Hall and some naval and Korean war memorials.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear NPEMDAD,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are very happy to host you during your stay in Philadelphia. We hope you return next year for the 2013 Army/Navy Games.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.