We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully renovated property with a boutique hotel feel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #33 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderfully renovated property with a boutique hotel feel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had the privilege of staying at this hotel for one night. My company holiday party was held there and employees received a discounted room rate to encourage us to stay overnight. I took advantage of the offer and did my research on tripadvisor prior to booking.

I arrived at the hotel and was impressed by the tasteful decor in the lobby and adjoining bar and restaurant areas. Check-in was a breeze and I was also signed up for the Starwood Preferred Guests program in minutes. I asked for a room away from the main lobby (per the tripadvisor reccomendations). The walk from the elevator to the room was long but well worth it when I opened the room door. The room was immaculate! The decor was fantastic. From the beautiful tile in the foyer and bathroom down to the plush new carpet in the bedroom and the huge king bed with down comforter and extra pillows. The lamps were elegant and the desk area had extra plugs for charging the numerous electronics that are a part of daily life nowadays.

The holiday party started in the lobby where we had multiple open bars and then we moved into the main ballroom which has been very tastefully renovated. The bartenders, servers and other staff were all extremely friendly and accomodating and the food and drinks were delicious and beautifully presented.

I am so happy to have discovered this jewel in my city and will reccommend it to friends who need a place to stay when coming to town. I think one more bank of elevators on the opposite end of the lobby would make this a truly 5-star hotel. Bravo Sheraton Society Hill!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main lobby. It's a bit of a walk, but well worth the silence that c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear strongforu,

Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are glad that your holiday party was a success and that you enjoyed the party and your stay. We are happy that your are now able to take advantage of all the SPG amenities. We hope the next time you find yourself looking for a hotel in Philadelphia, you choose to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    190
    66
    21
    9
See reviews for
117
95
22
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two weekend nights. The room was spacious and modern, on the club floor with a King bed. The hotel lobby is very nice, with a water feature and a peacock sculpture at the entrance. Breakfast in the lounge was good, and evening appetizers were nice too. Only complaint is that they don't have any self parking whatsoever, and valet parking costs $38+ with tax per night! That's just a ridiculous amount to charge - this is not New York or Toronto!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear cielbleu,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We appreciate that you chose our hotel for your stay when you came to Philadelphia. We apologize for the parking rates and that we were not able to communicate the parking options to you before your arrival. We hope that if you ever find yourself in Philadelphia again you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my husband to celebrate our anniversary in Philly. This is one of the better Sheraton's we've stayed at. Very well maintained, clean with a genuinely friendly and helpful staff. The setting of the King room was nice and roomy. The one downside in the room was the very noisy on and off of the heating system. It can be startling at times. Also we were able to hear the conversation in the room next door. But if you are a heavy sleeper and like soft bedding with the big feather pillows and the big feather comforter, then this will work for you.

Room Tip: I don't have a room tip. But we ate at the Positano Coast restaurant across the street and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear jeeplovermom,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are happy that we were able to host you and your husband for such a special occasion. We apologize for the inconvenience of the noise you experienced during your stay. We do hope the next time you are in the Philadelphia area you prefer to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Although I tend to favor Marriotts over Sheratons when I have a choice, this is one place where I won't look back. The property is unusual in that it's only 4 stories tall in a city of high rise buildings, but it's set in the historic district where it blends in with the older buildings. It's built around an atrium with interior walkways looking down into the serene and comfortable lobby, where you can have a coffee or curl up with a book while waiting for your companions or a taxi. Conference sized tables with built in charging stations at one end of the lobby are another unusual feature. The entire facility is well-executed. Rooms are clean and attractive, if just slightly tight, with fluffy white beds. Restaurants abound in immediate walking distance, including across the street, and you are minutes from anywhere you need to go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear DebbyClaire,

We thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are happy that we are a favorable choice when it comes to your stay in Philadelphia. We thank you for review and we hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

THis is a nice clean hotel located in the historic area of Philly. The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, The 1st Bank, and other historic attractions are in walking distance. There are also a lot of great bars and restaurants are in walking distance too. The hotel and rooms are clean. Staff was friendly. I recommend this place for stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Garry D,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to learn you had an enjoyable stay. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you chose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed at almost all of the hotels in Philly (travel there for work often) and the Sheraton Society Hill is by far the best! The welcoming lobby provides not only a great place to meet friends but ample outlets provide a great work spot. Plus there is a Starbucks in the lobby to keep you awake!

The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. From the valet personnel remembering my name, to the guest services attendant welcoming me back, and the sales director helping me with reservations - I truly feel like a VIP at this place. The first week I stayed that I needed to have a package delivered and they had no problem with me having it sent to the hotel. The little thoughts go a long way!

All of the rooms I have stayed at are great - all rooms have a comfy bed, ample pillows, a HD TV, desk / work area, and tub with shower. Some of the counters in the bathrooms are a little small for all of my girls hair products but still can fit them all.

I think above the lobby, helpful staff, and rooms the best thing about this hotel is the location. It is located in the heart of Society Hill (old city Philly). Within 2 blocks there are tons of great restaurants. If you are in town for tourism you could walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, City Hall, and the Mint. Rittenhouse Square and the "Rocky Steps" are less than 2 miles away - perfect distance for a run!

The gym at this hotel is one of the best I have seen. Personal TVs on each of the treadmills, never having to wait for a machine, and plenty of space to do free weights make this the best. Their recent remodel makes a huge difference!

I recommend this hotel to everyone coming to Philly!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or any room away from the atrium. Also ask to stay away from the rooms by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear 21stcenturyexpl0rer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to learn had an enjoyable stay. We enjoy having guests return to our property when they travel to Philadelphia. We hope on your next return to Philadelphia you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The room in this hotel is fine in general. The beds were nice and firm. They also provided free wireless and club access with continental breakfast. However, there were two big minuses in my opinion: 1) parking was only available via valet and was expensive ($35/day); 2) very noisy heater that shook the room as it started and stopped. It was so loud that I kept waking up at night. A call to the engineering department didn't help as this was apparently "normal". For the next day, I resorted to turning off the heater/fan although I had to wake up in the middle of the night to turn it back on for a few minutes as the the room got really cold. In my opinion, it doesn't matter how nice the hotel is but you have to be able to sleep through the night. Sadly, I can't really recommend this hotel unless they change the heater unit to a more quite one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Brian5900,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We do apologize that the heater was not fixed, and we know how a good night sleep is very important to start the day. As for the parking we do apologize that the parking fees were not communicated you before your arrival. If you would like to reach out to Christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com he would be more than happy to speak with you about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.