We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Society Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Bristol, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sheraton Society Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

this hotel is very nice. stayed there as a romantic getaway with my now wife for a anniversary weekend, and also with some friends for an overnight stay in the city. it is within walking distance from many places to eat and drink. the overall appearance is really nice, very clean and well lit. for the coffee drinkers there is a starbucks inside. also there is a gym and an indoor pool which seemed very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear kiteboarddad,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are so pleased to learn that you and your wife had an enjoyable time. We thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you in near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    249
    96
    34
    16
See reviews for
151
139
28
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

In general this hotel was good especially for the price. The staff was really the only down side. Rarely did anyone open the door for me even when I was loaded with luggage. No bell hops anywhere. The cleaning staff totally ignored me and not a smile on their faces, kinda grumpy even. They would leave their cleaning cart in the middle of the hall consistently which made it impossible to get by. I had to put down my bags to move the large cart to get by them. Girls at front desk were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We apologize that you felt unwelcomed at our hotel. We always strived to provide the best of service and by providing your honest feedback it helps to improve our service. We hope that in the near future you choose to stay with the Sheraton Society Hill again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked this hotel for a romantic weekend to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. My first impression of this hotel is that is a beautiful through back to a different time. The lobby is inviting with a country club feel to it. The nice feeling faded as soon as I attempted to check in. I called the day before, yesterday, to confirm that I had a King sized bed. When I checked in I was told that I was confirmed for 2 double beds and there were no Kings available. I had called 2 times the day before and I do not know how this reservation magically got changed in their system. I explained that I called their front desk yesterday afternoon to confirm the king and was lectured on how reservations were not guaranteed. After being persistent, I learned that they did have kings available, but they were being cleaned. I am now waiting for the room I reserved and confirmed available to be cleaned at 4 pm. I did not get a warm welcoming feel from the lady at the front desk and this has changed my perception of the hotel before I even get to my room. It makes me wonder if the old fashioned treatment of minorities is part of the country club feel of the hotel. Others are getting their keys as I wait. Very unimpressed.

Room Tip: Try the Westin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We always strive to provide our guest with the best of service, and we feel as if we have let our guests down when they leave unhappy. We do you hope you return to the Sheraton Society Hill in the near future to experience the service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Was at the hotel for a conference in Mid October 2012. The front desk, room service, housecleaning staff were all great. Workout facility was good, open 24 hours with key access. I thought this hotel was a good value. My only ding - - light bulbs burned out in one of the lamps next to the bed in my room. I worked in hotels earlier in my career. This can be quite frustrating, although I was able to work around this issue. Due to the value conference rate I did not ding the rating, however, if I was paying rack rate, I would have definitely expected more. At $200 plus per night, I expect the room to be perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the light bulbs blowing out and then not being replaced during your stay. We always look to provide our guests with exceptional service. We do hope that in the near future you choose to stay with the Sheraton Society Hill again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Got in late at night a one day conference the next day Front desk extremely helpful in arranging late night carry out to satisfy my vegetarian appetite. Room modern, comfortable. Gave me a late checkout to accommodate my flight out. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and we thank you for your kind words. We look forward in hosting you in your future stays. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a mini vacation in Philly and spent the night in the conveniently located Sheraton Society Hill. The room was updated, with a very comfortable bed and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Request room either on the top floor not on the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable time in Philadelphia and at our hotel for only a short time. We do hope you return to Philadelphia and the Sheraton Society Hill so you can experience everything we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a full day of negotiations, close of business... I checked into The Sheraton Society Hill and suddenly felt relaxed. I was upgraded to the Club Level and was presently surprised. Complimentary wine and beer, small appetizers and a nice bright room(Monday-Thursday Comp beer and wine). The valet were excellent. Front desk was pleasant. My room was very clean, the amenities decent. You are within walking distance to Society Hill and Old City. The buildings are low, kept nice and many are very historical. Cobblestone streets too. Some quaint restaurants. You are in your own historical world.
So if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle go here.

Room Tip: Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are very pleased to learn that you had a nice relaxing and enjoyable stay. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and do hope that in the near future you choose to stay with the Sheraton Society Hill again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
City Center East
Omni Hotel at Independence Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center East
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#13 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#41 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.