We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, firendly, and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #36 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean, firendly, and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a work conference and the experience was tremendous from check in to check out. I was immediately greeted by a friendly valet when I pulled up to the hotel, and I was under no time pressure to unload my bags. I proceeded to the main desk to check in (I arrived at least 3.5 hours before check-in) and was greeted again by one of the friendliest staff members you could meet. My information was taken promptly and my king room was ready despite my early arrival time. I arrived at my room and immediately noticed how clean it was. There was no dust or hair in the corners of the bathroom, no dust or mildew on the vents, and everything was in perfect order. My room was on the second floor away from the elevators and was very quiet. I was never disturbed or awakened by noise from the street, hallway, or adjacent rooms. The bed was VERY comfortable as well as the pillows (something I hadn't noticed before). The bathroom was perhaps a little undersized, but the cleanliness more than made up for the size. The only minor complaints I have about my stay are the ability of the A/C unit to cool the room down enough and the internet speed. I asked the front desk to check into the A/C and my second and third nights were more comfortable, but the thermostat only goes as low as 65- I prefer 60. The internet speed was adequate for most business applications, but was not suffieicnet for streaming video. This was not a big concern for my trip.

The conference facilities, meals, and snacks were wonderful. The food was hot or cold as appropriate and the food staff was on top of their game. I never had to wait for more food and the drinks were replenished as needed. Tables were attended to promptly and my napkins were even folded before I got back to my seat. That never happened during business trips to other locations.

This hotel is located near many of the Philly historic sites and great restaurants. I would recommend this hotel for business trips as well as family vacations. My overall experience was absolutely fantastic and I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend this Sheraton to family and friends.

Room Tip: I always ask for rooms away from the elevators for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We appreciate your time and feedback of our property. We have passed along your feedback to the appropriate departments. We just finished our hotel renovations with great improvements to the guest rooms, bathrooms and a great new restaurant, TASTE. We look forward to your return trip to Philadelphia and to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    182
    65
    19
    9
See reviews for
108
93
22
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just returned from a fun weekend with my husband. We live in suburban Philadelphia and try to take advantage of Philly when we find ourselves without kids. This hotel has been nicely redone and it was a great stay. We parked our car and walked everywhere all weekend. The staff was really nice, the club room was well appointed and the lobby was a great meeting area. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your most recent visit to the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for all of your kind comments and happy to see you taking advantage of Philadelphia when you get the chance. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope when you do another weekend get away to Philly, you chose the Sheraton Society Hill again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights while discovering the historic old town of Philadelphia by foot. Leave your car safely parked ( for $35 per night) and find everything you need to know about Philadelphia at the Visitor's Center. The hotel is very clean , safe, friendly and helpful. Crispy fresh linens on the beds and soft towels in the bathroom. A great night's sleep and refreshing shower mean a lot to me, especially after being a tourist all day. The restaurant is adequate with a comfortable bar and lite meals. Room service was served with a smile, exactly on time and was perfectly cooked. A great location base for discovering Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Society Hill on your most recent trip to Philadelphia. We thank you for your wonderful comments and appreciate you taking the time to review our website. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your and hope the next time you are in Philadelphia you return to the Sheraton Society Hill. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

It is evident that the property has gone through some rather extensive renovations within the past year, both the public spaces and the rooms. The plumbing and HVAC worked well and there were HD television channels (but the TVs are small). The rooms are clean. However, I was unable to get comfortable with the bed, got lost somewhere between the combination of the linens being too hard, the bed being too soft, the covers being too heavy, and the firmness of the two types of pillows. And there are no in-room refrigerators. The club lounge on the 3rd floor was small and had limited food offerings (only hot item for breakfast – grits), but the soft drink beverage selection was ample; to be sure, the limited alcoholic beverages are free during the weekday nights only. The property location is great for access to restaurants/bars, independent movies, Penn’s Landing, and the historic district.

My big objection to the property management is that no one seemed to know the details about the rooms (which room types have bigger bathrooms, which suites are the biggest, what exactly was redone during the rooms renovation etc). It did not help that there is no egress floor plan on the backside of the room entry door to consult for the layout of the property. Between the phone calls prior to arriving on-site and the attempts to clarify at the front desk (at every shift), the responses were universally “we do not know, we do not go into the rooms” and “they are about the same” and “its all renovated”, in addition to lots of conflicting information furnished about room availability and room type comparisons. During my stay, I moved from a standard club room with two beds to a junior suite king club room, only to find out that the bathroom in the junior suite is significantly smaller than the standard room (though the standard room had absolutely no counter space at the single sink). So if you are one who cares about what kind of room type you are in and/or about SPG platinum upgrades, then be prepared for some frustration.

Room Tip: take what the front desk informs you about the room types and details with a grain of salt
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking time to notice our renovations and appreciate your comments and feedback. We take all guests comments with the utmost attention and care to review our services and improve in any way possible. We do apologizes for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and hope that if you ever find yourself staying in Philadelphia again you choose the Sheraton Society Hill. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for visiting the historical sites in Philadelphia. Th rooms were recently renovated and were beautiful. There are tons of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. The area around the hotel was much more quiet than in the Center City area where we spent a night at the Doubletree. I would definitely pick this area over the other areas in the city. Cabs were plentiful and you could go anywhere else in the city for under $10.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking time to notice and appreciate the renovations. We are glad that you enjoyed your journey here with us and appreciate the time to review our hotel. We hope the next time you are in Philadelphia you will stay with the Sheraton Society Hill again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

From beginning to end of our family vacation stay at the Sheraton the staff was friendly, efficient, and went above and beyond to make our stay special. I highly recommend this hotel! It's newly renovated rooms were beautiful.
Perfect location for anything in the city! Also has great restaurants, bars and attractions in walking distance.

Room Tip: They have rooms nearby the indoor pool. If you have kids, I recommend getting a room nearby the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you very much for staying at the Sheraton Society Hill on your visit to Philadelphia. We are so happy to hear that the whole family had a great time. We enjoy reading colorful reviews where guest compliment our staff. We are here to provide a terrific experience for you and your family. We hope the next time you come to Philadelphia you chose to stay with the Sheraton Society Hill again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a busy transient Hotel in a good location yet the rooms are antiquated and the whole place needs a little ''uplifting'' because it has potential.Why let this establishment worsen if it is busy and has some comfortable beds in a good location? l haven't a clue and seek some help understanding this and every time l come have a problem either waiting to park or pick up my car.Good luck to those daring enough but for my money , l'll go to the Westin , Park Hyatt , Ritz , Loew's or Four Season's and pay a little extra.

Room Tip: None and run
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We just completed a full renovation, including Guest Rooms & Bathrooms, along with Guest Hallways, all Public Space, including a great new restaurant, TASTE. We are sadden that you did not enjoy our recent renovations. Each day, we strive to aesthetically please our guest to give them the comforts of home as we understand that travel is hard and difficult. We thank you for your stay and hope that if you do come to Philadelphia again and give another opportunity to the Sheraton Society Hill Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.