We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Penn's View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penn's View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Offer 10% Off
Ranked #20 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Dover, DE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the Hotel on Thursday, July 17th. We attended a concert in Camden and used the walk-on ferry at Penns Landing. Hotel is within walking distance. There is parking right next door ($23 for 24 hrs). Very close to waterfront and Market Street restaurants & bars. Room was a little small but had everything we needed. The hotel had an "old-school" feel to it (actual brass room keys, hard wood floors, etc). Could not beat the hotel and location for the price. We will stay there again. Thank you Penns View!!

Room Tip: Rooms with Jacuzzi's are only $20 more than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    169
    40
    9
    10
See reviews for
47
252
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Penn's Landing for five nights in July, 2014 and had a very satisfactory stay. The hotel is small and charming, and the location is great. You are within walking distance of many of the popular sights and the subway station is about a block away. We had one of the smaller rooms, but it was pretty and adequate for what we needed, very clean, and the bed was super comfortable. One of the best things about this hotel is the staff. To a person, they were warm, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is pretty basic, but you can boil eggs and there is a waffle maker. My only suggestion would be to vary the fruit and bread dishes...after five days it got a little monotonous. We did not really have a problem with street noise, but after a full day of sightseeing, it would have taken a lot to bother our sleep. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a person who has to have a bathtub, be sure and request a room with a tub. some of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great evening restaurant and bar with some great food and wines. Friendly helpful staff.
Breakfast restaurant is a little basic but ok. Pity that the attention shown in the evening is not show in the morning.
That said the old hotel is showing its age. Room and bathroom are tired looking but clean. Reception area is small though receptionist was very helpful. Moving your bags about the hotel is difficult as corridors are tight. Location great for wandering around the old part of town or accessing the river front but facing a major highway is a downer.
In short try the bar and restaurant maybe stay elsewhere until they do a little updating.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at Penns View for 3 nights.It was a fantastic location!! We walked everywhere without a problem. The hotel is very old and kept the charm and theme of historic Philadelphia. The beds were comfortable and the bath and shower were perfect.
The hotel has a fabulous Italian restaurant and wine bar that's won many awards. The breakfast that was included was more than ample with waffles, eggs, fruit and pastry. The price for our stay was more than reasonable.Just loved this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was planning on taking a trip to Philadelphia to see some of the historic sites like Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell etc... I stumbled upon Penn's View which is in the Old Town area. I thought this would be perfect, and in walking distance of a lot of these sites.

This boutique hotel looked fabulous and I knew my wife would be thrilled. I paid the extra money and booked the premium king which has a guaranteed view of the river. When we entered the old town it seemed more run down than I expected. I know some cities put a lot of effort into keeping historical areas clean. Compared to Gettysburg and Boston this town/area seemed dirty and a bit run down. This is not however the Hotels fault. There is parking right beside the hotel but you have to pay for it. I was a little upset that the hotel did not offer free parking, however the parking was a little cheaper than some of the other areas. Walking into the hotel the manager came out and carried my wife's luggage in which was very nice. The employee at the desk let us check in a little early and was also very nice.

The Hotel itself was very beautiful inside and to get to our room we had to go up the elevator down a few steps and up a few steps which was kind of neat. The room was nice looking and the room had a nice Victorian look to it. The room didn't have a refrigerator or microwave but I do think that might have taken away from the elegance of the room so this was ok with me. The bath room was nice and had a whirl pool bathtub which was a great touch. The bed was comfortable and the brick walls were beautiful. The view was not as good as I expected.

The wine bar was beautiful but extremely overpriced. I expected this however because the cost to keep so many wines on tap must be enormous. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. The room was very elegant and nice. The breakfast itself was very good and had many things to select from. This was a great experience and I would definitely come back however I do not feel the Premium King was worth it and we would opt for a normal room next time.

Room Tip: As nice as it sound to have a view of the river I didn't think it was worth it for the extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for several nights recently for a business trip. What a charming hotel. It felt like I was staying in Italy. It's a very old building that was renovated into a hotel. The rooms are decorated with old world charm. Very comfortable beds, wonderful jacuzzi tub in a well appointed bathroom, the softest towels I have ever felt. The continental breakfast is fabulous and the restaurant is great for dinner. They have a great bar with the greatest wine selection on tap. It is also in a great location, right in the old city within walking distance of all the historic sights and Penn's Landing. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back don't have a view but are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova, Italia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we really enjoyed our time here! the room and the forniture are in a fashinating old style! the service was great and so was the breakfast! it is not really central but, in philly, everything is walkable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#41 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn's View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.