We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay – Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Penn's View Hotel to your Saves list
Penn's View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay – Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Working at a museum obviously customer service is a priority for me and I look for the same when I go out, and it’s obvious that excellent customer service is a high priority for management at Penn’s View.
We were in town for the commissioning of my fiancé’s ship so I wanted to stay somewhere close to the pier, when I called to get information before booking they were very helpful in giving me advice of location, transportation, etc at that point I decided I wanted to stay there.
I did my booking thru Expedia and when I checked in everything went very smooth, we got a nice little room that you could see Market street, remember that it is an older building so don’t expect a luxurious/modern building, but it is still a very accommodating hotel. Room was very clean, towels very white and soft and I really cant say enough about Antonio (manager) he is just such a lovely person.
Breakfast is just so much fun since you get to make your own waffles and boil your eggs, that was a must in the morning for me ! Overall if we go back to Philly I would definitely stay at this location again.

Thank you Penn’s View for making our stay so lovely .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    190
    46
    10
    9
See reviews for
57
291
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Wonderful boutique (Luxe) hotel at the foot of Market Street. Our room was perfect (407) and extremely quiet. Breakfast is included and is presented in the main dining room. First time I have ever been able to make my own soft boiled eggs which went well with the waffles, fresh fruit and scones. I, too, am glad that there were no TVs in the room. We had lunch (twice) and dinner once in Panorama Ristorante and it was just perfect. Parking is convenient and, considering it is Philadelphia, was reasonable. $23 for 24 hours with unlimited in/out access. Conveniently located with a short walk to Penns Landin where we attended the commissioning of the USS Somerset. Plenty of places within walking distance in Old City for drinks, munchies, etc.. Antonio, the desk manager, could not have been more courteous or helpful. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (307, 407) and the "suites" are nice, at the end of the hall overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Absolutely loved this little gem! Food at the Panorama Restaurant was delicious, Worlds biggest wine bar, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff, beautiful rooms, Priced right, great views of Market street and the waterfront.

Room Tip: Room facing the river was nice but the south side towards Market had a balcony and great view too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was pleased with this quaint, historic hotel. It met all our needs and was the perfect location for being tourists for a weekend. We had no specific plans - many sights were within easy walking distance - the historic area, South street, and Penn's landing where we got to tour the USS Somerset which was in port for commissioning. Our room 502 was charming with a tiny balcony with a nice view. We loved the breakfast room (which we were happy to see had no TVs) - it had beautiful murals and white table clothes. The breakfast consisted of fruit, scones, cereal, make-your-own waffles and eggs, coffee, juice, etc. The parking was easy access next to the hotel and $23 for 24 hours. We also got a reasonable rate on the hotel. I will definitely stay here the next time I'm in Philly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

It's been a little while since we visited, but we have not forgotten about all the good things at the Penn's View Hotel. Location is always important when I travel and this hotel is perfect if you are visiting to see the historical sights. So many are within easy walking distance, we never needed our car. Took a taxi a couple of times. Fast and fairly priced. Good public transportation just outside the door. Room was spacious and quiet. The bar inside the hotel alone is worth the trip. I give special thanks to Front Office Manager Antonio for going out of his way to ensure our visit was comfortable. Thanks

Room Tip: Hotel is a consolidation of old buildings, so there are probably few similar rooms. Check with hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Location is very easy walking distance from Independence Hall, Betsy Ross House, Old City, Penn's Landing, and Constitution Center. Right above the blue line subway if you need to go City Hall, 30th Street Station or West Philadelphia. We were there for business, and it was a 5-10 minute cab ride to City Hall or Rittenhouse Square.

Hotel itself is decent - rooms are large and sort of fussily furnished and a bit out of date - my room was too hot the entire time and I eventually had to turn off the heat when it was below freezing outside. Hotel breakfast is continental and just OK (waffle maker, fresh fruit) but with some quirks (you have to hard boil your own eggs, all the cereal was gluten-free). Service was only OK - we arrived during a blizzard and no one helped with our bags, but staff was good about directions, and the woman who handled breakfast was friendly and helpful. No minibar (if that's something you care about).

Room Tip: Not sure if any have a nice view, but my room had a majestic view of dumpsters. Not the end of the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in November. The staff were very helpful and the hotel was very clean.
There was a range of options available for breakfast and helpful staff on hand to provide assistance.
The hotel itself is in a very good location. We arrived by bus and we're able to walk to the hotel. We managed to walk to most sites and actually only used the subway to get to the Wells Fargo centre as this is too far to walk to.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn's View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.