We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat from the Wedding - MOB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Penn's View Hotel to your Saves list
Penn's View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Retreat from the Wedding - MOB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Penn's View Hotel is a first class hotel with beautiful furnishings and unique interior layout, a great jacuzzi tub, free and extensive continential breakfast, discounted parking outside the escape door!
You can't ask for a better starting point to enjoy all that Philadelphia has to offer in Olde City.

Room Tip: While we were near the elevator, you couldn't hear anything outside the door. We asked for an ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rightmind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent one night here and were very pleased with our stay. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful, as they even called a cab for us for our evening plans. The room was not large but was comfortable, clean and had character. We were able to park our car right next to the hotel for only $20 for one night. Located right in the Old City District, many historical sites and restaurants are in walking distance. The location felt very safe overall. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and while very pricey, was well worth the money. This hotel definitely made for an enjoyable, special and memorable trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding nearby. The hotel is located in the Old City District and is walkable to many of the historical site as well as fabulous restaurants. There also appears to be a large bar and night scene a few blocks away that is close enough to check out, but not close enough to bother you while at the hotel. The rooms themselves were pleasant, they each appear to have different wallpaper and fixtures giving them a unique feel. Staff was extremely helpful and, considering the price, this is a great place to call home for a few days.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front appear to face a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1racecar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent two nights here, and had one full day to do a self guided tour of historic Philadelphia. We did not need a car while staying here, which was very convenient. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to experience historic downtown. Though we did not wander around at night, we felt that the neighborhood was quite safe.

The hotel itself had historic charm, just like a boutique hotel. Friendly staff, nice old elevator, and clean rooms. Though our Queen room was not that big (more like staying in a bedroom at someone's house) it suited us just fine, since we were not planning to hang out in our room that much anyways. We had a comfortable bed, our own bathroom and tv. What more would you need.

The breakfast was downstairs in the restaurant. It was buffet style, but had enough variety to make everyone happy. I particularly liked how you could boil your own eggs to whatever level you prefer.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Penn's View Hotel for a wedding this past weekend, and it was absolutely lovely. The staff were warm and helpful, the breakfast was great and the rooms were adorable. It had all the charm of an older establishment with none of the inconveniences. The showers were hot and the rooms were clean. We had one of the smaller rooms, and it even had a nice view.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lobbyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

used this hotel a couple of years ago and had a good experience we thouroughlyenjoyed our stay this time as well friiendly staff nice room good food great location you can walk to most attractions from here

Room Tip: higher floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kildavaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

An interesting building, and a quaint hotel. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and comfy, and they provide a good breakfast with eggs you can boil yourself, plus fruit and all the usual baked goods. It is in an excellent position for sightseeing the main points of interest, and near some good restaurants. The only drawback to us was that parking was in a public site next door to the hotel. Convenient enough, and reasonable enough, but it was a very busy car park and at one point when we checked out, although we could leave the car there until 3pm, we also had to leave our car keys in case we ended up blocking somebody else in. We didn't find any traffic noise a problem, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park, a Marriott Hotel
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#5 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing