We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, excellent breakfast,be careful about choice of room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Penn's View Hotel to your Saves list
Penn's View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
scotland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“nice hotel, excellent breakfast,be careful about choice of room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights pre-booked. First room we were allocated was very dark, being in the modern block built between the two original buildings, window looking straight onto walls and other bedroom windows. However, when I asked about this we were moved to a really nice room, side-on to the highway nearby, but well insulated for noise.
Lovely traditional hotel, rooms and public areas nicely decorated. Excellent breakfast included in the price, vast choice of hot and cold items. Staff all nice, although bartender during "happy hour" could have been more friendly- possibly because I had a beer rather than sampling the massive range of wines. Didn't have dinner in the hotel, but restaurant is clearly fine dining and seemed very popular. Parking next door. Hotel is very well located for sight-seeing and near a large variety of bars/restaurants nearby. Good value overall.

Room Tip: make sure you have a choice of room if you're prone to feeling boxed-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    190
    46
    10
    9
See reviews for
57
291
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This really is a great place to stay. Staff is very friendly. Room, especially the bathroom, was very clean. Great bed. Awesome location. Would love to stay again in the future. You get a lot for your dollar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here because it was close to the ferry which brought us to the S.Bank Center for a concert ...and..we wanted to walk to some historic sites, and have Market Street (next door) for restaurant choices. Penn's View Hotel was perfect for these reasons. The hotel was very "quaint", historic, clean, and comfortable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very charming hotel. Room was adequate size. They have a nice continental breakfast. You can make your own waffles, eggs, toast,...besides the fruit and pastries. Excellent restaurant in the hotel as well. This facility is at the corner of Front St. and Market., Directly across the road is the Delaware River. Walk out the front door and you are within easy walking distance of a majority of the historic sites as well as many good restaurants and bars. We would stay at this hotel the next time we go back to Philly.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a private balcony. We were on the 5th floor. Heard no road noise. The elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you want to walk around the historic district of Philadelphia. At first I was concerned by how close the hotel is to the highway, but the room was very quiet. Take advantage of the "happy hour" special in the restaurant. The wine selection is truly amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was returning to my hometown of Phildelphia to attend a reunion of one of the branches of my family. I decided to check TripAdvisor for listings of hotels to see which were the closest to the reunion site. The hall was in a residential area of the city so I looked downtown. I chose the Penn's View Hotel because it was the closest to Interstate 95, the Riverfront, Penn's Landing and Olde City Philadelphia. I was not disappointed.

I came into the city from the south using I-95 and the Penn's View was easy to find. The hotel faces the Delaware River. There is a private parking lot next door not affiliated with the hotel that was miore than convenient and charged $23 a day (in and out); a good fee for the center of a big city. In just a few steps I was in the small lobby and checked in quickly. I took the slooooow elevator to the 2nd floor.

The room was adequate in size with a high ceiling, very clean and had an outstanding air conditioner. It came with cable TV and Wi-Fi but the staff said some devices could not fully connect with the Wi-fi and that this was being checked for correction. The closet was small but contained an iron and ironing board, a luggage rack, plenty of hangers and a terrycloth bathrobe. There was a desk and a small table in the room. I noticed a French door by the windows and found that you have access to a small 2 ft. by 4 ft. balcony. Most views are not great but on nice evenings you have access to the night air. The bathroom was covered with tile and marble. The basic toiletries were provided. Mine was a standard queen-sized room and did not have a refrigerator.

I did not eat dinner at the restaurant which had an impressive menu. I did, however, take advantage of a wine tasting on Friday. Rieslings were the subject and there was a discount given when tasting the 'flight' of 8 rieslings from Europe and the USA. A wine expert helped all tasters along the way and pleasantly provided useful information without too much embellishment. Cheese, vegetables and breads were provided along with dips and butter. This is a good way to get conversations going among people who may not know each other. The bar is certified by the Guiness Book of World Records as having the largest winekeeper in the world: 120 bottles of wine attached to nitrogen bottles which backfill each bottle as a glass is poured, thus preserving the remaining wine. The bar is furnished in dark wood and is great for an end of day cocktail, wine or beer.

The hotel is extremely quiet even in proximity to a major highway and streets. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Last of all, a substantial continental breakfast is available to all guests each morning. Check out was at Noon.

I would stay at this hotel again and I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

All in all, our experience at Penn's View Hotel was pleasurable. The hotel was beautiful, clean and most of all reflective of the history that Philadelphia possesses.

One of the major issues that I had was that parking was not included. Maybe I have my own ignorance to blame for not thinking to check; however, with various other policies plastered all over our reservation, I was very disappointed to not have been notified in advance that hotel parking was an additional $23 per day. After notifying the representative that we were not aware of the additional fee and inquired about other parking options in the area, she quickly shrugged us off as if it was not her concern. To make matters worse, later that afternoon, we had found out ourselves that, literally, across the street there had been free overnight parking.

Though I understand it is not the responsibility of the hotel to provide parking, I do believe they do owe it to their patrons to inform them prior to arriving at the hotel. Additionally, when a customer brings a concern to the hotel's attention, it is all their responsibility to tend to the issue in a professional and helpful manner - not shove the customer off in attempts to collect additional revenue in parking fees.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvh215, General Manager at Penn's View Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We apologize for the confusion. Guest who are parking ususally tell us in advance - we will make sure we ask in the advance in the future. The parking lot is adjacent to us and is the most easily accessible. We do not tell people to park on the street, possible some spots are "free" on Sundays, but if you park there and don't go back before 8am the next day you will get a ticket and possibly towed.

Below is taken directly from our website under "Maps & Directions"

Parking
The parking lot adjacent to the hotel is operated by Patriot Parking. The current cost is $23.00* per day. Additional rates may apply if your car is parked longer after check out. Patriot Parking accepts credit cards.
Penn's View Hotel does not own or operate the parking lot. If you wish to use another lot, there are various parking lots in Old City close to the hotel. There is metered street parking, but it is enforced daily and the cost of a ticket is more than the parking lots.
There is a loading zone for all hotel guests in front of the building. Guests are welcome to check in, drop off luggage, and park their cars after the check in process.
*Rates are subject to change.

Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn's View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.