We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Penn's View Hotel to your Saves list
Penn's View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
An Old City Romance
Ranked #14 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A charming hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Before arriving at Penn's View (by shuttle), we dropped people off at several large, Center City hotels, all very predictable. How nice to arrive at this small-ish, nicely decorated haven next to the Delaware river, where our room on the 5th floor had a fireplace, a jacuzzi, and plenty of quiet comfort. Be advised that Penn's View is also situated next to I-95, but the double-paned windows and thick walls make you forget that unfortunate proximity. The staff is attentive and obliging, the restaurant is deliciously indulgent, and the speciality cocktails definitely worth sampling. Location: easy walking distance to all kinds of restaurants & to the wonderful SEPTA buses at 5th & Market (easy ride to museums), which is also the hub for Independence Park. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to Philly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    200
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
61
319
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearfield Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was a weekend get away to see the Titantic exibit at the Franklin Institute. We were going to stay closer to the Institute and looked at places within walking distance but decided on Penn's View and were glad we did. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. We had to take a taxi to the Franklin Institute and the staff had one waiting for us when we arrived in the lobby. The rooms were very clean and spacious with great amenities. The location was great we were in walking distance to Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and every thing "Old City" has to offer. They also have a great continental breakfast with hot and cold items and fresh baked goods. Over all this is a great place to stay and really don't have any negative comments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location. In the heart of old city which is vibrant until 2am. Subway right outside. Or walk down market street into town in a few minutes. Around the corner from Elphreths alley and less than 10 mins walk on the flat to Independence Park. Overall location is spot on.
Amenities are great. Comfy room, hot shower, opening balcony door, iron, hair dryer, nice toiletries. Coffee on tap in take out cups all day in reception foc. Daily newspaper foc. Ice machines. Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit, eggs, waffles you cook yourself. Good coffee and OJ. We really enjoyed our breakfasts. The staff were all lovely. Not one let the team down. If I have to say anything bad about this place. The freeway could be considered noisy. We did not find it so but then we love the sound of the city. I would suggest you pack a pair of ear plugs if this is a problem for you because it's certainly not a reason to avoid coming here.

Room Tip: 502 has a good view on market street but not Benjamin Frankin bridge. Great view of the queue at Fra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

GREAT boutique hotel in a terrific location in old town Philadelphia. Room was very comfortable, and little to no highway noise, even though I-95 is a couple hundred yards away. Staff were very attentive to our needs. The morning continental breakfast was one of the best I have had in all my hotel stays. Location to oldtown Phili is perfect for tourist and busness person alike.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Check in was prompt, informative and courteous.
I was really impressed with the unique, quaint rooms. Big, fluffy towels, a comfortable bed and a free breakfast didn't hurt, either.
On seeing the proximity of our hotel to the interstate, I was worried about noise, however we slept incredibly well. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruit, waffles, juice, coffee, yogurt and all on linen tablecloths.
I did partake in the happy hour offered by their bar. The wine list was extensive and the two wines I tried were great to excellent. Service was a bit spotty, but they were quite busy and tried to rectify the situation when I advised I had been waiting fifteen minutes for service.
The location of the hotel was perfect. Easy to get to on transit, and close to a lot of great restaurants on 2nd street (I recommend Sassafrass and the Khyber Pass).
It was a great stay, a cool room, quiet, no issues in a good location with a highly rated wine bar on the premises. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Penn's View Hotel. Great location for walking the historic sites.
Our room was located on the 5th floor with a large veranda with a birds eye view of the
Ben Franklin Bridge. Very little freeway noise even with the window open at night.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic!! Fresh fruit, do it yourself waffles, scones, muffins and juice.
Room was very clean and nicely furnished. Hint-for fabulous ice cream, just across the street on Market Street is Franklin Fountain. We waited in line for 30 minutes two nights in a row. Worth it!!
We had a very early flight upon leaving-the front desk called for a taxi at 4:00am and it pulled uup
two minutes later. Love Philadelphia!! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We loved the Penns View for many reasons. Great location, 1/2 block to subway, great historical area and it had the charm we were looking for. Quaint and clean place. Great free breakfast too. The only downfall is it can be a bit loud with the freeway nearby, but we would stay there next time we go and we will go to Philly again! We loved it, clean, easy to grt around and lots to do and see. Yes, the cheese steaks were amazing!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn's View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.