We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Elegant, First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Penn's View Hotel to your Saves list
Penn's View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming, Elegant, First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here with my large family for Spring Break. Great hotel. Elegant and historic. Breakfast was great. The staff was tremendous - most especially Antonio who took care of our every need, and even offered to make himself available on his day off. Great views of the Ben Franklin Bridge, and awesome location in the Old City. Easy walk to the main tourist attractions. Loved it, and wouldn't stay anywhere else on future trips to Philly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    190
    46
    10
    9
See reviews for
57
291
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We caught up with friends in Philadelphia for the weekend and wanted a hotel that was reasonable and close to the historic attractions. Penn's View met those expectations. The location was close to the river and easy walking distance to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. Even as tourists well over age 50, we found the walk to the Reading Terminal very easy. The hotel was clean and charming. The rooms were cozy and small, however, and I would not recommend it for children. Breakfast was included and I would describe it as very average. It was very crowded at times. Parking is adjacent to the hotel and very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

stayed here after making a last minute reservation. we got a free upgrade to a large room with a queen bed, giant tub, and small balcony. extremely nice and helpful concierge. breakfast was also much better than standard fare. location was amazing as we were able to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We took a family trip to Philadelphia (all adults), and we found this hotel to be in an easy to find, safe location. When we travel, we typically look for places that have an included breakfast. We find that it helps get us up and going before sightseeing, etc. their included breakfast was nice. The liberty bell pancakes were a cute touch. We also had a rental car, and wanted a location that had easy parking access, which this hotel does.

Pros: Included breakfast
Very nice staff
Convenient to historic sites
Convenient to freeway
Walking distance to many sites/shops/eateries
The nation's oldest residential street, the charming "Elfreth's Alley" is around the Corner
The old building has it's own charm
Spacious rooms. (Ours had a little kitchenette, a living room area with a couch, small table
and a separate bedroom with a door out to a landing. The landing was surrounded
by the brick building, so, kind of odd, but nice for a bit of fresh air).
The restaurant food was good, and widely known for having the largest number of wines on
tap.
If you are going here to experience history, it feels a bit like stepping back in time.

Potential Cons:
Our room style reminded me of a grandmother's home. I know this is in keeping with the
old world style of the hotel, but isn't particularly my style.
It's not centrally located on the main street, it sits at the very end, by Penn's landing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have stayed here about 5 times in the last two years. Friendly service, excellent location to walk to Old City spots. Each room has it's own character. Reasonable upgrade cost for rooms with fireplace, sitting area or outside deck/patio. I also hosted a small business conference and used their meeting room and it worked out well. Both for business or personal stay, the Panorama Restaurant is in the hotel and offers great food and the largest selection of wine on tap you will find. Over 125 bottles available by glass or in flights. Center City and Rittenhouse Sq are about 15-20 minute walk across Historic District. 5 Minute walk to Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Betsy Ross House, etc. or Penns Landing and South Street. Easy cab ride to the Stadiums

Room Tip: Upgrade to room with fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Philadelphia for the first time. After reading over several reviews we choose Penn's View Hotel for our accomadations. I was definately happy with our choice. The location is perfect for visiting historical sites in the Independence Mall area. The subway stop is also nearby. The hotel was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Every staff member we met went over and above to be helpful. The restaurant was fabulous and the breakfast (included with stay) was delicious. The waffles with strawberries and whipped cream were my favorite! I would highly recommend Penn's View for your stay in the city of brotherly love. :)

Room Tip: we upgraded to the fireplace with river view, very nice room
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wow-Just amazing. The staff are personally interested in you and your stay. Owners even greeted me one day. The morning breakfast was nice touch-classic music, fresh fruit, waffles. For dinner I had lobster ravoli and you'll love the wines-has 120 on tap (world record) and incredible wine room below. As others have said, the hotel itself reminds you of being in England. Wood floors, brick walls, cobble stones outside, and beautiful bathroom. Room comes complete with robe and metal key...remember keys not cards? Comfy bed. You're within walking distance of Liberty Bell, Independence hall, etc. If you're holding a meeting, contact Nick Dominijanni, he'll take good care of you.

Room Tip: There are larger rooms with Jacuzzi tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn's View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.