We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service at a great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Penn's View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penn's View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Offer 10% Off
Ranked #20 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5 star service at a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a charming hotel in a fantastic location, offering truly world class service. The wine bar is fabulous with over 100 wines by the glass. The restaurant food is divine and offered in a beautiful ambience. Our room was very good, but by far what made it a memorable stay was the service. From check in to check out 5 days later everyone was interested in us, passionate about all aspects of the hotel, and willing to do anything possible to make our stay amazing. Thank you to the entore team. You made our Philly weekend memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    167
    39
    9
    10
See reviews for
46
249
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed there one Saturday night in October, 2012. Room 400, looking straight at the highway (and the Camden skyline). You could hear the traffic noise only if you were real quiet and listened real hard. Our room had double windows (not a storm window over a real window, but a real window inside another real window) and heavy curtains. Noise was not an issue in the least. Honestly, I've been in a couple dozen hotels that were a lot noisier than this one.

The hotel itself is right at Penn's Landing on the Delaware River, within walking distance of all the historical attractions and lots of places to eat and drink. It is understated, attractive, and well-maintained inside and out. Our room had a queen, a gas fireplace, and a jacuzzi. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't try the restaurant.

With tax, it came to $204. A good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in seperate rooms at Penn View for 3 nights. His room was large and cozy with a fire place, small balcony and bathtub. My room was very small and had none of the same amenities. I booked mine through a promotion on Expedia and he booked his through the Penn View website I believe. If I could redo my visit, I would ensure I got a room like his even if I had to pay more. The hotel location is great and I highly recommend staying in the Old City area. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Just a heads up to anyone who is driving and relying on iPhone GPS to navigate to the hotel, you will be taken to a location that is several blocks over but on the same street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great customer service from the night audit attendant, Tom. Great location easy to get anywhere from hotel. Nice and cozy rooms. Gives you a sense of historic pride knowing the history of the area and hotel. I would recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is exactly what we were looking for in Philadelphia. Not an anonymous chain, but a very charming hotel.
Check in staff was so friendly, they spent 10mins showing us the map, where to go and what to see.
The room was huge, elegantly furbished, with marble bathroom, very clean.
I understood the hotel was nice, but it was actually much more than my expectations.
We tried also the wine bar, nice atmosphere, with wines from everywhere in the world.
Breakfast was very good too.
I would say: book without any doubt!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Located in the Old City section, this hotel allows easy walking access to Independence Hall and other historic buildings in the national park and immediate area. We frequently walked about the area during the early evening hours and always felt safe. There are numerous restaurants and bars in the area. (Cuba Libre is good for small appetites; Continental Restaurant serves great salads and drinks; and City Tavern offers colonial-style food and ambience.) We had a room on the third floor with a small balcony (more for decoration than use) facing the freeway. As the windows were sound-proof, freeway noise was never a problem in the three nights we spent there. We slept soundly. The bed was very comfortable. We liked the fact that the room contained two chairs as well as a desk. A television was provided, but we never turned it on. The breakfasts were good and filling. We enjoyed the waffles, hard boiled eggs, pastries, fresh fruit, and good coffee. Thank goodness there was an elevator, as the stairs are a bit narrow, really not suitable for one carrying suitcases. An Italian restaurant (Restaurant Panorama) and wine bar is adjacent to the hotel. The food and wine was excellent. The nearby Old City Coffee is also good place for coffee and espresso.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I can't rave enough about this hotel. Located in the heart of Penn's Landing, just a block from a wide array of restaurants and bars (Old City), this charming little hotel was worth every penny (and we got it for only $150 during one of Philadelphia's busiest weekends) and more! The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was big with exposed brick (adding to the whole historic Philadelphia feel), and the complimentary wi-fi and breakfast were great. The reviews are true--this place is simply great. There is a paid parking lot next door ($23), which is still a lot less than most hotels in the area charge for parking (most are $39-$45).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn's View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.