We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over in Philadelphia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Penn's View Hotel to your Saves list
Penn's View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
An Old City Romance
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stop over in Philadelphia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The only problem we encountered was when our taxi could not find the hotel! However, after meeting up with friends we went out and enjoyed Philadelphia. The hotel is a small, family run establishment and is nice and cosy. Our previous and following hotels were in the Hilton chain. This was not one of those but it was clean and comfortable. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and this created a feeling of security and homeliness. The hotel is located close to an eight-lane highway but with the windows closed and a very efficient air conditioning system there is no problem. The restaurant is something else. Here we had probably the best meal during our State-side visit. The wine-list is listed in the Guinness Book of Records. It is worth staying here for that alone! The breakfast is a continuation of this feast and the decor of the room quite interesting. A great location for probably the most historic city in the US.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    195
    47
    12
    9
See reviews for
59
304
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pbarr1281
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the Penn's View on 9/19/12. First the good. Very cool looking, old , large room. Great location for hitting old area of town.

But... The noise level at night is not acceptable. I had someone Irish dancing in the room above starting at 3 am. When I called the front desk, the dancing stopped and it went down to just one person walking around for the rest of the night. I could hear every step because the floors are creaky. On top of that, the road noise coning from the freeway was way beyond anything I've expericenced. When I checked in, I asked if it would be better to be in the back of the hotel. The desk person said that the windows were double paned and very quiet, but if it was too loud, she would "try" to find something in back. Problem was, I didn't notice it until I was awake from 3-7 am. Nothing helped. Too bad, I like the overall location (minus the highway).

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have mixed feelings about my experience at Penn's View Hotel.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful in storing our luggage when we arrived around noon, before our room was ready. The hotel is in location convenient to the SEPTA subway and bus lines on Market Street, historical sites and neighborhood restuarants. Complimentary breakfast and the "Philadelphia Inquirer" in the morning (but no delivery Saturday) were appreciated.

Our "standard queen room" was overpriced for given its condition. A rusty chrome ring was around an old showerhead overlooking a small bathtub. The queen-sized bed mattress was a bit soft. The rug on the floor looked dirty and worn out; ditto for the hallway carpet on the 5th floor. There was no refigerator. The elevator is slow. I-95 traffic noise could be heard, but it did not keep us from sleeping.

The room was clean and there were luggage racks for two suitcases. Lighting near the bed was good.

Room Tip: Ask for the room rate for each individual day, not the daily average. Ask if the rates quoted includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvh215, General Manager at Penn's View Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are sorry to hear about you disappointing stay. We are addressing the issues you pointed out in your review. The shower head will be replaced, along with the rug. The rugs in the hallway are scheduled to be deep cleaned . We do have refrigerators upon request if there is a need for one.

We are by a highway and in downtown Philadelphia - our location is what makes us who we are. We do have rooms(interior & higher) that don't have any street noise.

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of details within your review. We look forward to a return visit if you decide to return to Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Hotel:
This charming little hotel feels more like a B&B than a hotel - which I like. If I have to go somewhere for work, then I want to take time to explore what I can of the city. Being a single, female traveler I am always concerned with safety but with my eye on fun! The hotel has some drawbacks: AC that wont stay on "fan and cool" at the same time. You have to choose one or the other. If you like sleeping with a fan - this one won't stay on all the time but will kick on and off which disrupts my sleep. And the phone buzzed a couple of times during the night - not ring, but buzzed. Neither of these two things would stop me from going back, but wanted you to be aware of them.
In the moring you get a free breakfast complete with liberty bells on your waffles. The staff is very nice! Over all thumbs up on this little gem.

The part of town:
Old city is such a great little spot of town. So many quite little shops and restaurants - this part of town is a perfect place to stay while exploring Old City and the rest of Philly. I am a foody - so having interesting, original restaurants near by is a must!! This place has that.

Penn's View is is as close as you can get to all these great places.

Room Tip: Must have an interior room - the road out front is very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Penn's View Hotel in Philadelphia for one night in August 2012.
The location is convenient, easily accessible from the railway station by subway.
The staff was extremely helpful and gave us lots of information about the city.
The room was large, with a king bed, clean and quiet, with all the necessary amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Penn's View Hotel over the past weekend. We've stayed there once before and were just as satisfied as last time. This hotel has everything one needs -- comfortable rooms, reasonable prices and, above all, a fabulous location. It also offers a continental breakfast, although there are many great restaurants in the area that we prefer for a heartier meal. I also recommend the parking lot next door. At $23/day, it's a good value and convenient. They even allow you to leave your car there until 3pm the day of check out. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Have stayed here a number of times and has always been great. Staff is excellent, rooms are clean. They are all different and have different features. We have never had a bad room. The location is excellent. Safe area and easy walking distance to historical area. Close to many great restaurants. Breakfast is nice (and free) self serve light with fresh fruit, cereals, pastries etc. Great a/c. Would stay again. Made a great base and a pleasant return. Comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Room 408. Had a superior queen, very restful decor. Comfortable bed. Neat old features, funky origi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn's View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.