We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Hotel at Independence Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Hotel at Independence Park to your Saves list
Omni Hotel at Independence Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed this past weekend and was warned in advance that the spa and pool were under construction but the gym was still usable. The gym seems like it was a little neglected (no towls, no way to clean off machines) during the construction but it was a nice gym. The rooms are large and comfortable and it's a great location. The valet guys were nice although they forgot that we had called down for our car making us a little late when we were leaving. Having stayed at the newly renovated Kimpton next door in November and the Omni in January, I'd go back to the Kimpton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    318
    91
    48
    17
See reviews for
364
296
50
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sister Bay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

this is my first review ever/ the hotel from the start was great / from the friendly greeting to the spacious and pin neat rooms/ to the lobby bartender who make a great margarita and is a wealth of knowledge as to both dining and attactions/ i don't think i asked one question that someone didn't have acopmplete and accurate answer/ kudus to the staff/ jpk sister bay wi

Room Tip: if you can get a room on chestnut st the view would be better/ also higher up in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed a lot of special treatment from a hospitality manager named Christine. I have to say that after letting them know about an event for which I was in town with a younger family member, they made us feel very familiar and warm.

The pool and work out facilities are under construction and you will not see that listed anywhere, so if you expect to use those facilities - ask if its open.

Otherwise, the room had a great view of the birthplace of our nation but the noise does carry up from the street below. The bed is very comfy and the room was very dark and generally quiet.

You will not be disappointed with the location, the service and the overall upkeep of the room if you stay here. A fine value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

from the moment of arrival to departure, we felt special. the location is fantastic! walking distance to all things 'historical'. it is only 2 blocks from the liberty bell exhibit. nor is it a far walk from the famous restaurant row aka south street.
this hotel has definitely been added to the 'do it again' list. i enjoyed all the perks of being a select guest member for sure. i think my stay would have been just as enjoyable had i not as i have stayed at their jacksonville property as well years ago.
this visit i enjoyed a corner room with the most vibrant view. it almost felt 360. i could see penn's landing and more. the bed was so comfy. after walking around for hours i really needed a soft landing! lol i appreciated having the bose clock/radio. there was a bit of staining in the bathroom tub. however that didn't take away from the experience. plus i don't know how they did this: heated towels (maybe it was the steam)! it was heavenly!!! go stay you'll enjoy. the brunch was very tasty with many stations offering hot and cold dishes including complimentary specialty beverages. the staff was extremely friendly and helpful . it felt very genuine. you wont regret your time here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My sister from Scotland and I had 3 wondefull days in Phili and the Omni was fabulous!! enjoyed the Pool, and the evening drinks and dinner at the lobby bar were just what we wanted after a busy day. The Bartender/waiter remembered our drinks and preferences from one night to the next and even poured us a drick after he had closed and cleaned up after we came back late from the Theater. Room was on the corner of the hotel and with 3 huge windows had great light and views, right next to the Liberty bell, Hall and blocks from visitors center.....really super location!! helpfull staff and comfortable beds. and Taxis at the door!

Room Tip: go up to minimize traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked through a very affordable package deal - and boy was this a value! Hotel is nice, clean, and service is great. Valet especially. Perfect location, although we had dinner on the other side of the city. The pool and gym, although small, are tidy and very comfortable. Only complaint is that breakfast is far too expensive, though this is generally to be expected from a hotel restaurant. Next time we will be sure to try the spa. I would reccomend, even for someone paying full price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay through Priceline and received a pretty good deal. Of course, we were expecting a little less and were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and fantastic staff. Our entire stay was incredibly enjoyable and I highly reccomend this Omni location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Omni Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Hotel at Independence Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.