We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, spacious, functional rooms, free wi-fi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Hotel at Independence Park

Save Saved
You added Omni Hotel at Independence Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Hotel at Independence Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #13 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant, spacious, functional rooms, free wi-fi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stay here about once a year, when I have a board meeting in the area, and am always pleased with the spacious, well-arranged rooms and the generally pleasant atmosphere. The hotel isn't charming or special. It's just nice: big, clean rooms: pleasant staff; plenty of electrical outlets; decent lighting; free wi-fi. This year I had to get a cab at 4 in the morning, and the front desk reliably arranged one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    291
    82
    41
    17
See reviews for
315
268
46
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you're looking to revisit the 90's, the Omni Independence Park is for you! While the whole look and feel of the hotel is woefully outdated, there are some very good attributes. First of all, the location is fantastic. You overlook Independence Park and the staff is lovely. I was there for a meeting and the catering for the event was quite nice. The fitness center is better than most.

On the other hand, the place is dated and looks like it was rode hard and put away wet. Some paint and new carpet is definitely in order. Oddly, the staff had to come into my room several times during my visit for maintenance or to check on the minibar, which is a bit invasive.

The only big time complaint is the restaurant. Azalea is dreadfully soulless and the food is nondescript.

The place could stand a major refreshment but in general the room and amenities were adequate.

Room Tip: High floors. It can be a noisy neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It's clean, big rooms, the staff were friendly and all-around excellent, it wasn't noisy for being in the middle of the city, and the location rocks! It's close to the historical sites and about a million shops, restaurants and bars. I will be returning for another visit. It is that good!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just had a wonderful 3-day weekend at the Omni in Philadelphia for some family fun with our toddler. It couldn't have been a better experience. From the backpack of little toys for our son when we checked in to their spot-on recommendations for child-friendly (but still quality) local restaurants, the service and experience at the Omni made our weekend really special. The room was spotless and had everything we needed. The staff was wonderful -- Andy is a particular gem. We have not stayed frequently at Omnis before but will now be loyal customers for family travel! It's worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here 4 times and it was always convenient and the staff was very pleasant and eager to help. If yo are staying in the city of Philadelphia and would like to be near all of teh historic places this is the place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Because of a regular spring and fall meeting nearby, my husband and I stay at the Omni. It is a comfortable, warm and friendly place, with large rooms, some overlooking a beautiful park and water views in the distance, framed by the lights of the city at night.

This visit was marred by a bad fall on the sidewalk a bit away from the hotel. The help I got was amazing - first aid, a wheelchair, and an extension of our reservation despite the hotel's being sold out - how they did it I don't know. Whatever I needed - presto, it appeared with enthusiastic attitude.

We ordered dinner in the room - never ate at their restaurant before. It was fabulous! As good as the finest anywhere, complete with excellent wine and fresh roses. Likewise a hot breakfast - with more roses - and Starbucks coffee. (the coffee in the room is Pucks - hot water, really).

Other perks - warm pool and jacuzzi, spa and massage, fruit bowl, free wifi, business center. But the attitude is THE best.


  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I read a ton of the reviews before I went & I have to say I was very happy with my stay there. First off the doorman Named Andy could not have greeted us better, the staff was much more friendly than I expected after reading the reviews, I guess the hotel is reading them as well & making changes. The internet was not slow for me, but I only used for email. the rooms were clean, but the only complaints I have is the shower heads are not the type you can take down & have no water pressure at all. it took me so long to even get my hair wet, nevermind shampooed, and the other people slamming the doors all morning was absurd you can't sleep through it. Other than that nice place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Omni Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Hotel at Independence Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.