We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KIWI'S on vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Meal Credit
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“KIWI'S on vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We found Loews to be a great place to stay in Philadelphia, right in the heart of the city within walking distance to most places of interest & shopping (especially the Macy's building just along the street).
The service and in house hospitality was absolutely great, they really know how to look after people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel and your kind words about our service and hospitality. We pride ourselves on our fabulous team members and we are thrilled that they made your stay more enjoyable! We are pleased you enjoyed our central location, walking distance to great shopping, dining, historic sites and more! We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    568
    182
    93
    78
See reviews for
314
492
108
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My experience at Loews had big ups and downs. I loved the refurbished 1930s office building which offers a great location, sense of Philly's history, and large rooms with huge windows and high ceilings. The decor is contemporary and bright and white, which is a nice change from so much dark and dull hotel decor. So why not a 5? As seemed to be a bit of a pattern with fellow conference attendees, I started out in a less than adequate room. It looked fine on the surface but one bed had a couple of long dark hairs in it (same issue an earlier reviewer had - unwashed sheets or just bad laundry services?) and a big mysterious wet spot on the floor. The bed was extremely lumpy and the clean set of sheets they brought to change my bed at midnight were very low quality - thin and rough. The staff who came to my room and at the desk were all absolutely excellent and moved me to an upper floor the next day. I had a beautiful room with a lovely view of the William Tell tower, a great bed, good sheets, and a dry carpet. While I ended up extremely happy with my room, the first situation was a huge hassle as well as rather gross, and should NOT be happening in a hotel of this caliber. I might of passed it off as just a fluke but, despite my pointing out the spot and saying the carpet needed cleaning, they were trying to turn my first room over for another guest as I moved out...

Room Tip: Have a close look when checking in - quality and cleanliness seems to vary.
See more room tips
Green Features: None whatsoever that I could see (no recycling, towel saving etc.) - disappointing.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the architecture of our building and the blend of the historic with the modern amenities. We are so sorry that you had issues with your first guestroom, though I am pleased we were able to provide you a second one with a great view. We strive to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests and I am truly sorry that your first room had issues. I welcome the opportunity to further discuss this matter with you should you want to reach out to me directly. We hope you will give us another chance with a return stay.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I would like to say thanks to a couple of valet attendants, Mike Dewees and Tony. They really know the area well from best Philly cheese steak to what's going on in the city. I would advise anyone staying at the Loews Philadelphia to check with those two for information regarding the city. They knew where everything was at without having to look in a binder as the concierge needed to do.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel and kind words about our valets Mike and Tony. We agree that they are great and we will share your review with them! Mike and Tony are part of our exceptional team who seek to make each guest feel special and to provide a uniquely local experience for those visiting Philadelphia. We are thrilled you enjoyed the best cheesesteak with their help and hope you will come back and visit again soon.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great rooms, service & location, pricing is very fair & we're going back next week! Beautiful city or river views from all rooms, newly renovated, walking distance from everything! Walk 2 blocks to Philly's restaurant row on Sansom or 1 to Walnut or go the other way to Reading Terminal Market or Chinatown,. Days of entertainment steps away!v

Room Tip: Go for best available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our great rooms, our service, location and great pricing. We are looking forward to hosting you again soon and look forward to being your new home away from home!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Loews Philadelphia is a nice hotel with a friendly staff. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and our request for a city view room was accommodated. We had a corner room on the 23rd floor and I'm not sure it was worth the extra price. The view was not that great. We had a clear view of Wm Penn atop city hall but we mostly noticed the air conditioners on the roof of the building next to the hotel. Overall the room was clean but a little dusty. I've noticed this in other loews hotels (Boston and Hollywood) and it's most likely attributed to the black surface area which shows every little speck. The bathroom was average. A comfortable size but nothing luxurious. The bed was very comfortable.
Drinks and light snack at the bar were very good and the bartender very nice.
Breakfast the next morning was disappointing. The waiter was inattentive. The table had not been set with napkins and tableware. I first noticed that I was missing a spoon to stir my coffee. The waiter delivered spoons after I requested them but he failed to notice that we had no utensils at all. I had to ask for those as well. He was also unaware of what the daily pastry selection was and took the easy way out by telling me what the rotating selections are but not what was specifically offered that day. Overall a good stay but as a Philly area resident I have to say that the Loews Philadelphia needs to step it up to be on par with other Loews hotels I've visited.

Room Tip: Upper floor (23rd) almost devoid of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We appreciate your review and your kind words about our staff. I am sorry you were disappointed with your view and your experience in our restaurant. I welcome the opportunity to further discuss these issues with you, should you wish to contact me directly. Our goal is to make every guest experience at the Loews Philadelphia a memorable one and it seems from your review that we failed to do so. I hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit in the future.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I visited the Loews for a conference. It is very well located, closed to the convention center and walking distance from plenty of restaurants and attractions. The lobby is nicely decorated, and my room was spacious and pleasant. The gym is very good as well. There is not much to fault to the facilities, particularly at the conference price. However, I found the service lacking. First, they could not locate my reservation at check in, and luckily they were able to find me a nice room . It turns out that the original reservation was there initially and I had been charged for no show (which they did remove at check out). The concierge booked an airport pick up that did not show up. The front desk called me at 10.30 pm one night (and woke me up) to mention something minor. The wifi was a disaster, very slow and unstable. It made it very difficult to work, which is a problem during a business trip. And, finally, the service at the restaurant is sorely lacking. Although the quality of the breakfast food is decent, it should not take 45 minutes to have a simple breakfast. Every request seemed to require several attempts for it to be fulfilled (however minor). The hotel staff were not unpleasant, but they definitely need a better organization to provide a reasonable level of service, particularly for those trying to get some work done.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location, newly renovated spaced and our fitness center. I apologize for any issues you had at check in. We strive to make every stay a memorable one and I am sorry that we did not accomplish that during your visit. I hope you will afford us another opportunity with a return visit. Should you wish to discuss any of the issues you had while on site, please contact me directly.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Loews Philadelphia Hotel is one of my favorite hotels in Philadelphia. I love the location, and the simple sophistication of the property. The attentive staff and the hotel’s YouFirst loyalty program’s perks also make this a top choice for me. The updated rooms still feature a comfortable bed, and a very clean and hip style. The remodeled lobby and new bar/restaurant are both really stylish. The bar/restaurant offers some great cocktails and food items. In my opinion, the hotel was getting dated, but very happy that the property has successfully executed these renovations; making the property competitive in price, quality and service to the newer boutique hotels being built in the city. Give this hotel a try, you won’t be disappointed. Tip if you valet park your call: Sometimes the valet parking at the hotel gets backed up on weekends, I definitely would suggest calling down for your car about 30 minutes prior to your schedule check-out/departure.

Room Tip: Corner rooms usually have beautiful views of the city, because of their wrap-around windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel and for your glowing review. We are thrilled to be one of your favorite hotels in Philadelphia and we are so happy you enjoy our location, our attentive and friendly team members and our newly renovated guestrooms and lobby. We are happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy our new restaurant Bank & Bourbon and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.