We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Food & Bev Credit
Ranked #16 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Low expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

For a 4 star hotel I was expecting so much more. The location was great being right on Market street and across the street from the Reading Terminal.

The rooms on the other hand were really mediocre. Even though we clearly identified that we needed a early check in we didn't receive our room to the regular check in time. Once we finally got our room. It was only a queen size room that surely wouldn't accommodate three adults.

We contacted the front desk and talked to the manager to get a double bed room. When my party started to settle in for the night our sleep was rudely interrupted from 1am to 8am in the morning. Once again I called the front desk to inform them of the disturbance. After 30 minutes they sent someone upstairs to inform our neighbors to be quite. One hour later the noise intensified.

Upon our check out we contacted the manager again and told them that we were highly unsatisfied with our stay. They discounted our stay, but I will make sure that I will not stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We sorry to hear about your poor experience from check in, to the noise keeping you awake. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay further. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    749
    520
    167
    86
    73
See reviews for
268
441
100
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Exceptional room - clean, spacious, and well appointed. Lobby is bit off-setting but overall service is very good. Gym and two lane pool are impressive is accessing a workout facility is important. Restaurant on the top - 33rd floor - well priced and pleasant view.

Room Tip: numerous quality hotels in the immediate area but value for dollar - great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay with us, our guest rooms, and sky lounge. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed at the Loews for five nights for a conference in October. The building has a great deco style and my room was clean, modern, and attractive with a great view. The hotel had all the amenities I needed at a great price (full disclosure, we had a conference rate, but it was very reasonable for the quality of the hotel).

It had a nice restaurant/bar that was great for a night cap and it is located super close to lots of the city's best restaurants and attractions. It didn't rise to exceptional for me, but was a great choice for a reasonable/convenient stay on a business trip, and I would also recommend it for leisure travelers looking to be close to Philly's main sights with some of the comforts of a high end hotel but without the price tag.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a successful conference. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I recently stayed 2 nights here with my wife and 4 year old daughter, as a quick holiday weekend getaway (from NYC). Compared to NY, the price was a steal. Booked a "Grand Luxury" room on the 30th floor for less than a standard room at a Holiday Inn in the NYC Metro area costs. The room was fairly large, well appointed, with great views of the city. While we were out and about much of the time, the service at the hotel (concierge, front desk, and dining) was all very good. The front desk even ran downstairs to the staff area to warm up my daughters milk one morning (no microwave in the room). The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the city. The local shopping and even admission to the local museums was much cheaper than NY; although the overnight parking was a bit expensive, compared to everything else. There is not much street parking at all around the hotel so you pay a premium.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with your family and had our staff really show you the Philly style. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York city
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Philly was great and this hotel in the famous PSFS building is a nice retreat. GREAT service, great views, great restaurants near by. The building is a classic, early international style modernist structure. The spa and pool were nice too.

Room Tip: Tell them you want the large room that is pictured on this site! (mid to high floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend getaway. We are just starting our signature retail items that signify the PSFS and the hotel. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I work in hospitality so I understand the basic hiccups that are almost inevitable for any hotel. So I won't nit pick even though I had like 4 issues during my stay.

No big complaints. I was comfortable and the location was ideal for getting around.

The hotel isn't spectacular--- but is currently under some construction ( I think only on the exterior if i'm positive)

My room was decent. I would stay again my only real pointers would be that the management brush up on employee service. The service could be a tad bit fine tuned.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased to host someone in the industry. Our lobby and restaurant enhancements are just a week away from being complete. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We live only 20 or so miles outside of Philadelphia, but several times a year we will spend the weekend in the City for a special event. This time it was Valentine's day and the Philly Auto Show.

The Lowes staff remains top notch and the location is awesome for attending events at the Convention Center or anywhere in center City. Our king bed room was great and the price was vary reasonable. The room was spotless when we arrived and we had no issues at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are glad to be your home away from home. Let us know when you come back and maybe we can do something special for you guys. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.