We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Choice Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Riverside, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Decent Choice Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on business the first week of October. It is very close to the Convention Center, Reading Terminal Market, City Hall and the Market East subway terminal.
We've stayed at other Loews properties and this hotel isn't quite as luxurious as the others we've stayed at. Given this was once an office building, the transformation to hotel is impressive.
Check in was quick and courteous. The room layout was a bit odd. The furnishings are modern. The room was clean, simple and had everything you'd need. Our view from the 10th floor was okay, nothing special. The room was a bit noisy due to the traffic on the street. The elevators were effective, not having to wait long. The housekeeping staff were quick and did a great job. The bed was a bit firm for us, but that is just our preference. It would have been nice to have a fridge that we could use. It had a honor fridge which was somewhat useless. The room had a coffee maker. Ice machines are located on very other floor...of course not on ours. Staff was pleasant and willing to help.
The location is central to everything downtown. We used the subway from the airport. The Market East station is just across the street. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant or use room service.
Would we stay here again? Possibly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are glad our team members helped to make your experience memorable. Unfortunately, we cannot block out the city noise but have rooms starting on the sixth floor to try and help. For meetings, public transportation, the convention center and other restaurants are definitely in close proximity. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    636
    204
    99
    86
See reviews for
364
553
116
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I must tell you of the most incredible experience that I had while staying at the Loews Hotel in Philadelphia.
Once I landed in Philadelphia, I came down with the flu. The first day was so severe (nausea/vomiting, fever/chills, abdominal pain/cramping), I went back to my hotel room by mid-morning to lie down. At 10:30 am, Shakia Pleasanti, my housekeeper knocked on my door and asked if she could clean my room. I told her that it wasn’t necessary and that I was feeling ill and went back to bed. She said she wanted to change my towels and tidy the room up a bit…so I let her in. I fell asleep until ~3:30 pm when I heard another knock on my door only to find a gentleman standing in front of me with a food tray. On the tray was a bowl of chicken noodle soup, plus a cup of hot chamomile tea with lemon and honey (see attached photo). On the tray was this note from the housekeeper (see attached photo). I cried…for it was the sweetest thing that anyone could have done for me in that moment in time.

It’s amazing to me how thoughtful and kind some people can be. Life is sweet and it’s the people in it that make all the difference in the world! This random act of kindness will forever be in my heart. I will always be grateful to her and will remember my time in Philadelphia…especially at the Lowe’s Hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are sorry to hear you came down with the flu, but it looks like the team took great care of you. We want all of our guests to feel like they are part of the “phamily”. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was welcomed by the doorman, by my name. I was greeted warmly by the front desk. When I worked out at the very nice facility, one of the trainers, graciously provided some advice. The conceige was attentive and accurate with local information. Room service was fast and friendly.

I wish I could have stayed longer. What a great property!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We want all of our guests to feel like you are at your home away from home and part of the “phamily”. We truly have amazing team memebers. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this fantastic hotel for two nights to attend a family wedding. We were immediately greeted by staff who were pleasant and could not do enough for us. Check in was quick and the room was modern looking and very clean. We had a great view and were located close to a wonderful market place and restaurants. The hotel had a great restaurant/bar where the family was able to meet and relax. I can't say enough about the staff especially Kevin, one of the bellman, who was very pleasant and made our stay there fun. Our only complaint was the cost of the hotel parking which we were unaware as the sign is barely visible upon your arrival into the garage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our team members really help make the experience which adds to the beauty of this historic building. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a nice hotel located right in the heart of every thing. If you are looking for nightlife this hotel is close to bars, theaters and restaurants.

Only complaint not sure if only in my room. The air condition vent is located right across from the bed. There is a cold draft blowing right on you the entire time. Other than that the hotel is great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights after taking the Amtrak train from NYC. Hotel is only a couple of stops from 30th Station on the local metro. Found the room to be very clean and comfortable. There is free wi-fi in the lobby and a well organized fitness center and lap pool. The hotel is centrally located - close to Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. South Street is only a few minutes away by bus. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Beautifully maintained and updated art deco hotel. My room was spacious and beautifully decorated with a fabulous view of the city. Incredibly comfortable beds with upscale linens. Everything was clean and spotless. Hotel staff and Parking Attendants were friendly and very helpful. Also enjoyed the concierge floor continental breakfast included with my room charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, TravelClick, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.