We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice four star quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice four star quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is very nice for the price. The rooms are reasonable in size. There is no mini bar or complementary bottles of water. However, they do have room service which was very prompt in the morning. The staff is also very friendly. I am a repeat guest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your post and for being a loyal guest of Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Our friendly staff is the best in the industry. Our apologies, that your room was missing a minibar. All of our guest rooms have been upgraded with a mini bar refreshment center for your use. We do hope you will visit us soon and make sure you take advantage of our complimentary lemonade and infused water in the hotel’s lobby.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    662
    210
    101
    89
See reviews for
380
566
119
731
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while touring Philadelphia. There were two adults and two children in our party. This hotel was ideally located at 12th and Market, about 6 blocks from the Independence Hall tourist area, 8 or 9 blocks from the Franklin Institute in the Museum District, and right across from the Reading Terminal Market and Convention Center. All areas were easily walkable. We drove to the hotel and, with valet parking costing $46/ night, we ended up booking a concierge room package that included parking, a wonderful continental breakfast, an outstanding view, and free WiFi. WiFi in the rooms are priced $13-$15 in non-concierge rooms. With the parking, continental breakfast and free WiFi, we thought we got a good deal.
Our breakfast hostess, Kim, was outstandingly! All staff, including the parking staff, were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room, despite two double beds, was very spacious and clean. The room had a Keurig coffee maker with a small selection of coffees and tea. We left a note for the maid to ask if there was hot chocolate k-cups available for the children. When we came back, we found the room now stocked with our request and a nice note asking if there was anything else they could do for us.
We only had one minor glitch as we were checking out. I always check over the bill and found we had been charged for WiFi and something about the mini bar (which we didn't use.). I pointed this out to the front desk clerk and the charges were immediately taken off, and an apology was given.
I definitely would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are pleased that you felt “pampered” and were satisfied with your overall stay; from our location in the city to our friendly and helpful staff. Kim is indeed outstanding and we will be sharing your comments with her. I would also like to apologize for the minor glitch with some of the charges on your bill. But I am happy to hear that we were able to rectify the situation immediate. Thank you and do visit us soon.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am travelling a lot for business (100 nights per year) and stayed at the Loews Hotel in Philadephia. The hospitality, great service and excellent food is exceptional. It is far superior than the other top hotels in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: upper, corner floor have a spectacular city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for rating us the “Best Hotel in Philadelphia” We are so thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and found our service to be great and our food exceptional. We can't wait to see you again soon.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Loews Hotel for a sorority conference. The place is fabulous. Staff is friendly, professional and helpful. The place is spotless!!! I mean from the front door to your room. It's nice to stay at a hotel where it's extremely clean. I wouldn't know about parking because I caught the Megabus to Philly. Catching a taxi was easy and affordable. You must eat at Warmdaddys Restaurant!!! Great food and entertainment. The room has a flat screen tv. Up to date amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for all the great recommendations and for taking time out of your day to write a Trip Advisor review for us! If you loved Warmdaddy’s; please visit Solefood Restaurant on your next visit to see Joanna Pascale and her live Jazz band on Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel was average. There was evidence of refurbishment but it didn't appear that much happened lately. The room was ok. Good location relative to City Hall and Convention Center. Staff was unfailingly polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your post about your experience at Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We just completed a fourteen million dollar room renovation and do hope you will visit us again to see the second phase of our renovation; where we be enhancing our lobby and restaurant with a more vibrant and uniquely local atmosphere.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hotel was incredibly friendly. Great Staff, great room, fun amenities and really great location. The only issue again was parking, it was extremely expensive, and non-negotiable. It was run as a separate business, and that staff wasn't so great. It's a city hotel, so expect to pay parking anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. Three “Greats” in a row! That’s what we like to see. We are pleased that you found everything to be “Great”. We agree our parking charges are due to our location in the city. Our apologies, that your experience with valet was not so great. We will be reviewing your comment with our valet management team to make sure our guest have a pleasant experience from beginning to end.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a convention and was highly disappointed by how dated and musty the hotel felt. The lobby and common areas are dingy and have a greasy chemical smell that is not at all pleasant to return to. Lots of dents everywhere - on the metal elevator doors, the ice box, you name it. The tv in my room did not face the bed... It was on the left side of the bed and you had to turn sideways to watch it. Weird! Never seen a room so poorly designed before. The only upside was the central location, but there are other options in the vicinity. My recommendation would be to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your post. Our apologies that you were disappointed with your stay. Please know we take your comments very seriously and will be sharing them with our Director of Engineering. We have just completed a fourteen million dollar room renovation and will be starting the second phase of our renovation in November 2013. The renovation will consist of remodeling the lobby and Solefood Restaurant. We do hope you will give us another chance to see a more vibrant and uniquely local atmosphere. If you would like to discuss further please reach out to me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.