We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a wonderful time..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night's a Charm
Ranked #18 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I had a wonderful time..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife &i were staying at another fancy hotel I won't mention any names...it wasn't nice as it seems on the Internet ....but arrivinng @ Loews was one of the best experience I ever had as far as Respect goes...ok i drive up the the front and there are four or five guys out there egarly waiting too help me..this young man by name of Anthony Miller escorts me in the hotel while showing me the bar area and explaing to me the hours of operation and room service,,,takes to me the front desk. Introduce me to livelle...ok...these guy talk to each other I didn't have to say ANYTHING THEY ANTHONY & LIVELLE took over..then livelle goes and gets me doggie things for me dog...OMG...ok look I have stayed @ some really nice hotels but. Never ever like this...then.......ANTHONY INTRDUCE ME to the bell hop who took me to my room open my door put up my stuff while explaing to me the operation the the hotel AGAIN....I KNOW THIS MIGHT NOT SOUND LIKE MUCH TO SOME PEOPLE but!!! TOTAL PROFESSINAL....I'm never staying at another hotel in Philly But this one..I'm telling all my friends &family and I have a big mouth....I stayed at the Loews in Miami and your service is still the best hand s down...Thank you so very much we really need it that that day in particular...we had a bad few days of personal stuff and that services WAS IMPECCABLE......THANK YOU AGAIN....AND THE MANAGER WAS VERY NICE....I LOVED HE GUCCI GLASSES....GO GIRL....

SINCERELY MR.P.AKERS....

Room Tip: Loews hotels corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you found our staff so engaging, helpful, and professional. We are also please that every one addressed you by name and introduced you to the next person you were to encounter. We will make sure that we pass your comments on to our entire staff especially Anthony, Livelle, and Tashna. Tashna will be happy to hear that you liked her Gucci glasses. We can’t wait for you to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    638
    484
    155
    84
    71
See reviews for
237
407
92
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Loew's Philadelphia is in a perfect location to see and taste what Philly has to offer. Right across from Reading Terminal Market and near a heap of historic sights as well as central to many of the great places to eat this town now has. Parking is up to $45 overnight which was a third of the cost of our stay. The room was clean and well appointed. We chose a luxury king which had us in a corner room with a southerly vista over the city. It was very nice. The building is an original vintage skyscraper but well preserved and cozy.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and upgrade to a larger corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are so pleased you appreciate our great city and the perfect location of the hotel for seeing the sights. We are disappointed to see that our parking fees were a third of the cost of your stay. However, we have reviewed these concerns with the appropriate managers to insure that we are within the pricing structure of our competitive set of hotels. We do hope the pricing does not deter you from choosing Loews Philadelphia Hotels for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Location, staff, ambiance, room, restaurant, and customer service.....this place is tops! We came to this hotel after an unhappy experience at another hotel and we were highly satisfied and glad we chose Loews Hotel. The customer service was truly impeccable and they genuinely care that you are happy and enjoy your stay. This hotel is a must and offers some wonderful historical facts.....it use to be a bank long long ago. I definately would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the recent review you posted. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit here at the Loews Philadelphia hotel and the amazing views of the city. We are happy that you gave us the opportunity to turn your frown upside down. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. A nice location, literally five minutes away from the reading terminal market (a must if visiting philly, in love with this place!). The room was a bit small for my liking, had a deluxe room but the bathroom was huge and super duper clean! Check in (and check out) service was fast and smooth, staff was friendly. They served hot apple cider at the lobby, complimentary of course, which was really helpful during thr frigid winter weather. Walking distance from the major tourist attractions. So all in all, a very good stay. Got the promotion rate which was a bonus point. Highly recommended place to stay for your philly visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation and taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor survey. We are elated that you stayed with us. It sounds like you enjoyed the hotel, the location, and Solefood Restaurant. If you loved our complimentary apple cider you will definitely enjoy our thirst quenching complimentary flavored lemonade that we serve in the lobby during the summer season. Thank you again and we look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 and were extremely disappointed. We expected more from Loews. Even the first impression when you enter the beautifully decorated Deco lobby is that your stay will be top notch. It ends there. The rest of the hotel is in severe need of a face lift and proper maintenance. The hotel otherwise looks tired. Even the rooms were not properly maintained. Our bathroom had a broken sink faucet and toilet paper dispenser. Even the toilet didn't properly flush. I can understand that one thing can be broken but 3 things and all in 1 room? What a shame because the hotel could be spectacular. On the upside, it was in a great location, across from the Convention Center and down the street from the Reading Market. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Richard Staub at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your experience. Loews Philadelphia Hotel values your business and we strive to meet and exceed all of our guest’s expectations. I am so sorry that your stay at our hotel was not the best to say the least. The issues that you mentioned are not the Loews standard and we will be sharing your experience with our Director of Engineering. We are in the process of undergoing a fourteen million dollar room renovation and should be completed by the end of the 2nd quarter of 2013. We do hope you will come back to see our enhancements. Again my sincere apologies to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Family weekend in Philly worked out well. Self parking across the street, all the employees happy and helpful, room was clean, cool, comfortable. Hotel building is historic, walking distance to almost everything, great price. Exercise Spa/Pool more than you would need. Reading Market across the street!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and thank you for spending your family weekend with us at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay; from our happy helpful staff to our great prices and great location. We look forward to your visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed there a weekend, nice small room ,but a great view to the skyline of PHilly, central location, near convention center, near the famous market, fabulous food at solefood restaurant, Just a Great Weekend, thank you Loews Philadelphia

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent post. Our Luxury class rooms are the favorite of many of our guest. We are excited to announce that we have begun our fourteen million room renovations and should be completed by the end of the second quarter. Please visit us again to see our new enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Also Known As:
Loews Philadelphia
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia
Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.