We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. A nice location, literally five minutes away from the reading terminal market (a must if visiting philly, in love with this place!). The room was a bit small for my liking, had a deluxe room but the bathroom was huge and super duper clean! Check in (and check out) service was fast and smooth, staff was friendly. They served hot apple cider at the lobby, complimentary of course, which was really helpful during thr frigid winter weather. Walking distance from the major tourist attractions. So all in all, a very good stay. Got the promotion rate which was a bonus point. Highly recommended place to stay for your philly visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation and taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor survey. We are elated that you stayed with us. It sounds like you enjoyed the hotel, the location, and Solefood Restaurant. If you loved our complimentary apple cider you will definitely enjoy our thirst quenching complimentary flavored lemonade that we serve in the lobby during the summer season. Thank you again and we look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    626
    200
    98
    85
See reviews for
356
542
115
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 and were extremely disappointed. We expected more from Loews. Even the first impression when you enter the beautifully decorated Deco lobby is that your stay will be top notch. It ends there. The rest of the hotel is in severe need of a face lift and proper maintenance. The hotel otherwise looks tired. Even the rooms were not properly maintained. Our bathroom had a broken sink faucet and toilet paper dispenser. Even the toilet didn't properly flush. I can understand that one thing can be broken but 3 things and all in 1 room? What a shame because the hotel could be spectacular. On the upside, it was in a great location, across from the Convention Center and down the street from the Reading Market. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Richard Staub at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your experience. Loews Philadelphia Hotel values your business and we strive to meet and exceed all of our guest’s expectations. I am so sorry that your stay at our hotel was not the best to say the least. The issues that you mentioned are not the Loews standard and we will be sharing your experience with our Director of Engineering. We are in the process of undergoing a fourteen million dollar room renovation and should be completed by the end of the 2nd quarter of 2013. We do hope you will come back to see our enhancements. Again my sincere apologies to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Family weekend in Philly worked out well. Self parking across the street, all the employees happy and helpful, room was clean, cool, comfortable. Hotel building is historic, walking distance to almost everything, great price. Exercise Spa/Pool more than you would need. Reading Market across the street!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and thank you for spending your family weekend with us at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay; from our happy helpful staff to our great prices and great location. We look forward to your visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed there a weekend, nice small room ,but a great view to the skyline of PHilly, central location, near convention center, near the famous market, fabulous food at solefood restaurant, Just a Great Weekend, thank you Loews Philadelphia

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent post. Our Luxury class rooms are the favorite of many of our guest. We are excited to announce that we have begun our fourteen million room renovations and should be completed by the end of the second quarter. Please visit us again to see our new enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Across from the train station for easy access to the city. Rooms are nice size and clean. Internet access is charged per day which is high. Staff is very friendly. Center city location has many nearby restaurants. Walking distanct to Reading Terminal Market. I stayed for business and would return again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Loews Philadelphia. We are pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful and our location, in the heart of the city. We hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent 6 nights here. The peole who work really excel in the way the treat you. The only thing was that my toilet clog twice, but they service it really fast. They are renovating but you can hardly notice the noise or people working. Overall great experience

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Loews Philadelphia. I am very pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations in our service. Please allow me to apologize for your toilet not working properly. I have made our Director of Engineering aware of your post to ensure that the problem has been fixed. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your visit in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hotel and rooms where very nice. A few little problems like no ice on my floor, I had to go up or down one floor to get it, which I expect at a lesser chain, not a high end place like Loews. Great location across form the Pennsylvania Convention Center and just a block from the Reading Terminal Market.

On the downside, there was no doorman or bellman to great me. The front desk was not well staffed on my arrival and the bar never seemed to have enough staff to handle the after work crowd.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room... a little extra space, better natural light and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Staub, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We very much appreciate your recent stay at Loews Philadelphia Hotel and your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and our location. As a property on the historical register we make every effort to maintain many of the buildings original design and décor. Unfortunately, the soda and ice machines have been placed on every other floor due to the configuration of the building. I will also be reviewing your comment of our lack of staff with our leadership team. We hope you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.