We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

In Philly for a couple of days. Stayed with family at Loews. Nice. Comfortable. Big rooms. Clean. great staff. Nice restaurant/bar. Great access to all things, Philly--including Reading Market, the Bell, etc.. Also--hit 13th Street for restaurants. Really cool part of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrolleyDodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. And for the “In the Know” tip about the great restaurants in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great stay. Excellent service. Kind and friendly to all of my offspring --- teens and dogs! Not easy. As dogs are ...... Well, dogs. And teens are .... Well, teens. Both - pampered and tolerated. Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia for your recent visit. We are so pleased that you and the dogs and the teens felt so pampered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Loews for a wedding. We had stayed here many years ago and was not impressed, so I was very skeptical, but since this was where the wedding was being held we opted to take a room here. This stay was very nice and changed my opinion of this hotel. Parking in the garage was easy and quick. Because of the location, you really dont need to move it once you park. Check-in was easy and we were on our way to our room. We had a high floor (23) and a nice view of the city. The room was a nice size and so was the bathroom. The room was very clean! The bed was soft and comfortable. There wasnt many down sides to Our stay, just a few: the windows were so dirty (outside) that it was difficult to see out, the water pressure could have been better and the in room water was $5.50 a bottle!
Overall this is a really nice hotel in a very good location in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for posting your review, we are happy to hear your opinion has changed. We hope to see you back with us in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was the first hotel my girlfriend and I stayed that that all of the employees greeted you and told you to have a nice day even if they were just stepping out of an elevator. It was also the first hotel that the bell hop gave a small tour of the hotel while bringing us up to our room. I was extremely satisfied with our stay. However after checking out the menu prices at Sole Food the prices were exorbitant which is why we didn't eat there. If we did come back we would definitely stay here again. The price is a little high though. One of the most expensive hotels we've stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia and for this great review. We take great pride in our employees and their attention to the needs of our guests. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a good business hotel. If I were visiting Philadelphia with my own money I wouldn't shell out the $200/night for this location. You are in walking distance to many attractions, and I never felt unsafe, I just expected a cleaner downtown from a major US city.

The staff at Loews was very polite and professional. The rooms were nice, the bed was comfortable. Free K-cups in room was very nice. I was put off by the $5/bottle Fiji water next to the coffee maker; I don't like the idea of being charged for something in my room. Nice city views from the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voytko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so pleased you found our staff so polite and professional and we appreciate your time in completing this review. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our management team. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I read the reviews and I must say YES the hotel is in need of a little face lift. However, it has great bones! The lay out of the hotel is funky and fun. The lighting reminds me of the "W" without the pretense. Hey I am a soccer mom I don't see myself as one of the "cool kids". the staff is really nice. Kim in the concierge room was homey and very helpful. The bellman/doorman made me smile even after a 3 hour delay and a grumbly stomach. The check in was quick and painless. The elevators were fast. The hotel restaurant "sole" was fast, hot and yummy. My favorite part was the host who politely told another guest that "I'll be right with you" when she marched up and demanded his attention while I was standing there waiting to be seated. Hey, it is exciting when a wall flower gets treated well. I have high status at Marriott and Hilton but when in Philly I will be back at Loews. Thank you all for making my business trip away from my family as painless as possible. (bellman/doorman sorry I couldn't remember your name....you know who you are and I am sure your manager does as well!!!!) The "girl" with the smile. I cannot tell you the last time anyone THOUGHT I was a girl.

Room Tip: the views are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccermomKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Wow, thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you found our staff so engaging and helpful. I am pleased to inform you that we will begin a complete renovation of all our guest rooms by mid December of this year. We look forward to your return and impressions of our new room design.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,721 reviews
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#45 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing