We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP Drop and Roll
Ranked #14 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location to explore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Loews Philadelphia last month and were really pleased with our choice. Our large room on the 28th floor and had a fabulous view of the whole city. The bed was big and comfortable and the coffee machine and toiletries were of a high quality. We ate in Sole Food on our first evening (too jetlagged to go further afield), had a lovely meal and it wasn't as expensive as we anticipated. We also ate breakfast in the hotel each morning and had a pre-dinner cocktail in the bar each night, all tasty. The location was perfect for us, we walked all over the city and found the hotel very central.
The only negative was the the in-room safe didn't work and it wasn't fixed, even though I reported it twice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel, we were so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our Solefood Restaurant. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    610
    193
    97
    85
See reviews for
347
526
114
664
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was excited to stay at a Loews Hotel given its great reputation. How sorry was I then to see a worn down, tired looking, smelly hotel? Very. Whilst the staff was amiable enough it couldn't make up for the worn down carpet in the room, lack of cleanliness of room (my room the recycle bin hadn't been changed and I stepped on two discarded toothpicks). Room smelled like someone had smoked in it so that was off putting. Didn't have time for gym or restaurant but had cocktails in the bat and those were tasty. A bit of humor with the bar menu too. If you order popcorn shrimp you get popcorn and shrimp a la bonefish grill style. Fun surprise or maybe those were the watermelon mojitos clouding my judgment? Anyways, if you have to stay here for a work conference, one night won't kill ya but don't expect 5 star quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We appreciate you taking your time to post a review from your recent visit with us. We sincerely value your feedback and I am sorry you stay was not up to your expectations. I will review your comments with our operations team and am pleased to inform you of our planned renovations beginning the fourth quarter of this year. We do hope you will give us another visit when the “redo” is complete. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel has a great location next to the convention center and the train station. The entry and lobby are fine but a little tight when walking through. If there are crowds it can get stuffy checking in or getting to the front desk. No real lobby lounging area perhaps 3 chairs. Floors are dirty with visible trash in the carpet. The rooms are fine and seem reasonably clean. Bathroom is large and nice except sink and shower allow water to spill onto floor. The hotel overall is a nice place it is less than I would expect from a Lowes. The lobby bar/restaurant was nice and wide open at times very lively and other times very lonely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your post. We value your comments and will review them with our Director of Housekeeping. We are very pleased to announce our complete guest room renovations beginning in December of this year. We do hope you will give us a second look when your travels bring you back to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel should be a top class hotel. It has a great location in Center City and the staff was great for Philadelphia. The rooms are spacious with great amenities such as conditioner you can actually use and a Keurig coffee maker. TV was up to date and had many channels. The restaurant Sole Food is very good and I spent many evenings there. There was never a bad dish! The fitness center is well equipped; if not well lite. A downer was that it did not open until 6am. Pretty late for those that have 7am meetings. They have some newer and much different (read: harder!) elliptical machines of which only one worked correctly. Lots of machines and weights. The downer about this hotel was that the bedding needs to be replaced and it needs to be maintained. The beds are not of the quality that hotels in this class strive for and the pillows were just a lost cause. Had six on the bed and it might as well been none. They were thin and hard. The building itself needed the floors poilished, the carpet cleaned and general maintenance on the furniture and walls in the hallways and rooms. Easy fixes to get this hotel where it rightfully needs to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear summitsvs
Thank you for posting your review on your recent visit with us, we truly value our customer’s opinions. I am sorry the bedding was not up to your expectations. We are pleased to inform you that we are planning an expansive guest room renovation beginning in December of this year. We do hope you will return after renovations are complete towards the end of March as we would enjoy hearing your thoughts on our “new” look. Thank you again for choosing the Loews Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Two words - corner room. Splurge and request a corner room.Walls of windows, views for miles, a bedroom or office in the sky.We did not want to leave the room. Hotel is in a historic bank building. Check out happy hour downstairs at Sole Food, stay for dinner. The chowder is amazing. Thanks Brian for the birthday drink, the wine was so good we ordered another. Close to Independence Hall, Liberty Bell and Ben Franklin's gravesite. Gastronomical epicurean warehouse Reading Terminal Market is a must for lunch. Loved the apple cider and pomegranate water in the lobby free for guests. All this and I forgot to give my Loews loyalty number, imagine if I had.

Room Tip: High floor, corner if possible, rooms are all nice with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear whatIKnow,
We just love reading reviews like your, thank you so much for the posting. We also loved your room description of a “bedroom or office in the sky.” Do you mind if we use it? Please contact You First Customer Service at 1-877-LOEWS-14 or youfirst@loewshotels.com to receive credit for you stay. Thank you again and we look forward to a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Loews Philadelphia was a wonderful choice for my recent convention attendance. The staff was so professional yet friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for quiet rooms, convenient convention location and a feeling of being cared for.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Over the weekend was in town for a college football game and quick sightseeing jaunt. On our first ever trip to Philly my bride and I got a good package price on the Loews through Expedia. Besides the price I selected it because it was central to downtown and close to both the the historic Independence Square area and the fabulous Reading Terminal Market, a shopper's and diner's delight. It was so cheap easy to catch the train from the airport directly to the Market East Station just across the street from the hotel. With the Broad Street subway line it was also incredibly simple to reach Lincoln Financial field and the sports and entertainment district for the game day events. Never had to grab a cab. We could easilty walk or catch transit to everything we wanted to do.

The bonus on this trip was that the hotel is built in a historic old bank building which has been updated but preserves the old style, vault and elevators for display. Very cool to see and read about its past. Other pluses: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lounge and restaurant, Sole Food, was a hopping center of activity. Also, the spa and fitness center were a cut above the standard offering.

All in all, the Loews made a great base camp for a Philadelphia weekend visit. I would recommend it for the traveler seeking comfort and value.

Room Tip: With higher floor rooms you can avoid the noise and still have a view. Inner rooms don't have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation and for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel for your first trip to Philadelphia. We are so happy that you and your bride found the hotel’s location so convenient for your visit. And even more pleased you found our staff so very friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.