We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and a Beautiful Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP Drop and Roll
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and a Beautiful Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at the Lowes Philadelphia Hotel for my best friend's wedding for Memorial Day weekend 2012. We stayed in the double bedded room on a high floor. The view was amazing, and the accomodations were comfortable. The views for the wedding were spectacular, and my friends were wed as the sun was setting. I definately reccomend this hotel to anyone. I would like to make a leisure trip soon to tour the area. The location of the hotel is perfect for tourists.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Loews Philadelphia hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and the celebration of your friend’s wedding. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    608
    193
    97
    85
See reviews for
346
525
114
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Beautifully renovated hotel in a historic building. Very tasteful decor.
Pros: extremely friendly and courteous staff; concierge was especially pleasant and helpful. We were given free internet for our one-night stay. I very much appreciated that we could keep our car parked there after checkout (until 5PM) - that way we could checkout, put our bags in the car (or could have left them with the bellman in the lobby) and grab lunch, shop, etc, without having to find another parking place. Room was spacious and very nicely decorated. Very clean - no complaints at all.
Cons: very minor - but - the vending machine on the 16th floor must have been broken as the cold water I thought I was buying came out hot to the touch; more annoying was the fact that when I called the front desk to report it, they did not offer to replace the water with a cold bottle. Also, I didn't like being woken up by yipping dogs in the hall; if they want to accommodate guests with pets, they should keep them together on the same floor(s) and not near rooms without pets. And although we booked under the Philly parking special room deal (parking included in the room rate), there was a line item for parking (on top of the room rate that included parking) on my bill at checkout; the front desk easily took care of it with no hassle other than the short wait in line.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from rooms with pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on your recent experience and apologize for issues that arose during your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our “extremely friendly and courteous staff”. We look forward you your next visit with us here at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkinson, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The proximity of this hotel to the Philadelphia Convention Center cannot be beat. The room was spacious and clean, and hotel services excellent. The only complaint I would make is that access to the Internet should be included in a hotel with these nightly rates.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We appreciate your time to complete a review of the Loews Philadelphia Hotel and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our “spacious” accommodations and “excellent hotel services”. Please take a minute to visit loewshotels.com/youfirst to review our frequent guest program and the many benefits it affords our most loyal guests including complimentary internet. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My best friend and I stayed at the Loews on the 4th of July. We checked in around 2:00 pm and it was very quick. We were on the 27th floor. Our room was all the way at the end of the hall. When we entered the room what a view. There were windows on both sides of the wall, you could see the whole city. Needless to say I was pretty impressed. We did some shopping in Center City and returned to the hotel hungry. The Concierge had a recommendation for pizza and even called to make sure they were delivering on the holiday. We rented a movie in our room and towards the middle it kept skipping. We called the front desk, and they gave us some trouble shooting tips, and when that did not work they told us they would take it off the bill. All in all nothing bad to say about the Loews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for the recent review you posted. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit here at the Loews Philadelphia hotel and the amazing views of the city. We will be sure to share your comments with our Concierge and hope you enjoyed your pizza. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were stunned when they upgraded us to the Presidential suite. All we really wanted was a room that had a working air conditioner. We booked here for one night because the hotel is in the historic PSFS building – the first true skyscraper in Philadelphia, and so the views towards city hall and the sunset are pretty remarkable. We had requested a grand luxury room because they are all corner rooms on high floors. When we checked in, our room on the 26th floor did indeed have great views both south and west, but it was struggling to keep cool. We closed the curtains and went to visit the Fabric Workshop – expecting things to improve. When we returned two hours later, we were met by two things: an even warmer room and a rancid fruit-cheese plate addressed to a guest not in our party or in our room. When we requested a room change, we got a technician, who pretty much confirmed, as he rattled around in the air-conditioner, that things were not going to improve. A second request brought both the removal of the cheese plate and the news that there were no other rooms to be had (!) to which we responded that we were more than happy to check-out and move to the Four Seasons as we did not intend to pay several hundred dollars for a bad nights sleep. Next thing we knew, we were in the so-called Presidential suite on the 31st floor! Now this suite is pretty grand, with a dining room, living room, guest bath, master bath with a shower big enough for five and a bath tub big enough for three. The view is north, west AND east, no complaints there – we basically slept with William Penn in our room! That said (and thank you management I really do appreciate the grand gesture and I do believe you were full-up that weekend) I wish I could report that the rest of our stay was presidential and perfect….Sadly, both of the flat screen TVs malfunctioned, and after an attempted repair by that same technician at 9:30 pm, the cable box fell out of the wall. Two technicians were still futzing with it at 10:30 when we finally asked them to leave us alone. Which seemed to surprise them??!! Add to that: the door to the master bath has no latch and you can hear EVERYTHING from the room next door. I hope the White House travel desk is reading this….

Room Tip: HIgh rooms facing West have the best views - avoid the presidential suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We greatly appreciate the feedback and apologize that you had less than satisfactory service during your stay. We are reviewing your comments with our management team to ensure that your experience does not happen again. Please feel free to contact me with additional feedback and to discuss your concerns. Thank you again for your visit and your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We are local Philly residents but occasionally stay in town on date nights. We've stayed at the Loews on many occasions and each time it was great. The rooms are clean, quiet. The staff is always pleasant and courteous. Valet parking is convenient and you don't have to wait forever for your car upon check out (just give a call down to the valet guys a few minutes before check out so they can have the car ready). Overall, we recommend the Loews. Good value, too, especially if you watch Travelzoo or Groupons!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Lobby is Very Nice. "Sole Food" the lobby bar/ restaurant is among the nicest I have ever seen. Valet parking is expensive but easy in-and-out. Great location next to Reading Terminal. Rooms Fair but could be cleaner/improved. Overall a Nice Stay. Pool very Dingy/Small

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your post! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel and found our Solefood restaurant and Lounge "among the nicest I have ever seen". We hope your travels bring you back to Philly and our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.