We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tourist trap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
“tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

great for tourist, right in the middle of everything and the charges and prices show it. parking, continental breakfast really cheasy BUT expensive, rooms need updated.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    107
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
70
68
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is amazing. Right next to the mint and just about everything else. Pool was open but a bit chilly even thought there was a nice view from roof. Parking is way too expensive at $36 a night but you can go in and out.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Russell

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I would agree that we are in the perfect location. It's a great part of town. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Philly is a great city and this is the second time iv stayed at Wyndham. The staff is really helpful and it was not problem when we decided to stay another night. Great location right of Market.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Eric,

Thank you for your feedback and great review. We truly appreciate it and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was in a great location if you are visiting for the history part of town. Everything was right outside our door.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Keith,

Thank you for your feedback and great review. I would agree that we are in the perfect location for not only sightseeing but also some great dining and shopping. It's a wonderful part of town. Thanks again and we hope to see you back very soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything was fine, till we forgot an expensive jacket, and 2 shirts in our rooms closet, run around with the hotel's lost and found, room keeping management, they said nothing in lost and found, what would anybody think, what happened to our stuff? It's obvious that someone in house keeping took it, asked to be called back whatever the outcome was, still waiting, if the right thing would of been done, I would of got a call the day of we left the room, still in philly, now house keeping manager on the difensive no call, will call on Monday to speak to general manager, not good personnel working there sad to say, thought this was a reputable hotel, will write to corporate.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Fernanda,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a good stay. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered in trying to locate your lost items. I will contact housekeeping immediately and try to get to the bottom of this. Because this was an anonymous post I'm unable to find your room reservation. Please feel free to contact me any time if you would like to discuss this further. Again, my apologies.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived Monday, May 11 in midafternoon, checked out morning of May 13. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Especially appreciated information on Phlash bus, which we took to Barnes Foundation museum and Reading Terminal market. Room was comfortable.Breakfast was so-so and WAY overpriced, Standard Bacon and eggs was about $16, including extra cost for coffee. Perhaps the hotel wants to push the buffet, but I prefer menu options. Waiter in the restaurant was extremely nice and efficient. Wish I remembered his name,

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again this summer. Thanks again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#46 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.