We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - pleasant hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
U.S.A.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great location - pleasant hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is clean and service is very good. Room is large and comfortable but the bathroom is small albeit usable. Water was hot and towels thick. Room contains usable refrigerator and microwave. Bed's comfort was so-so. Noise not a problem. Did not use Hotel restaurant but their are several restaurants in the area. Best of all the location is very good with close access to the historical sites. In fact hotel is around the corner from Ben Franklin's tomb and across the street from the Mint and Quaker Meeting House.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    95
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
56
59
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Except for the location of the hotel, which is in the historic district, eve rusting else is very ordinary.
Beds and rooms are large. But bathroom is just average. There's no bell service, the breakfast is totally ordinary and the staff is very cold and non friendly.
We had to wait for 10 mins for checking in. And for the kind of tariff they charge you feel very disappointed with this hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Region, NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nicest staff possible. GREAT locations. Rooms and public areas bright, white and airy. 3.5 out of 5. Will definitely go back. 9 year old daughter found white stain (!) on pillowcase, tons of dust and a Kindle paperwhite that somebody had lost 3 weeks earlier. That reflects badly on housekeeping. I contacted owner of Kindle. She had called the hotel TWICE about the Kindle and they said it was NOT in the room. That is NOT good. But on the whole NOT a bad hotel. The restaurant "Coin's" was OK. But they gave us, unsolicited, a $65(+) dinner for FREE because of the confusion and commotion on Saturday night. SMILE. And it wasn't even us who had the issues. It was the 3 ladies at the table next to us. Yes, they did deliver our meal to them by mistake -- after they had sat for 90 minutes for their meal. I have a more detailed 'review' on my personal blog. Google. It should come up IF you are interested.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I must say I'm embarrassed at the comments you made in regards to the Kindle and the restaurant. We most definitely dropped the ball and I will address it with my team. My sincere apologies. Thank you again and we hope to see you back sometime in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for a conference at this hotel. It has an excellent central location to many attractions in Philli. Service at the desk was superb and people were friendly. The room I was in was renovated with nice updates. Air condition was subpar as it was setup at 65 degrees and running yet room was hot. Did not let the hotel know as temperature outside was in 60s, and instead just turned off. I would have also liked to enjoy the view outside however the windows were very dirty and could not see much. Beds were good and comfortable. So stay for the location and enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for any issue you experienced with the AC Unit. If I new what room you occupied I'd be able to address that issue. Unfortunately I'm not able to research that being that these posts are usually anonymous. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again this summer.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My stay was short but wonderful. The staff was so accomodating and they were right there whenever I had a question. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to have you back. Thanks again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel under the holiday Inn brand, the remodeling and facelift to the building were extensive.
Still a prime location, and I enjoy the area.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kenneth,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the location as well as the extensive changes we made during our renovation. It's a completely different hotel than it was a few years ago. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had booked a walking tour of the historic district which started around the corner from this hotel. It is modern and somewhat bland but did everything we wanted. Our room was spacious and overlooked the graveyard so was quiet! The first evening there was a wine tasting event which was a nice introduction to some of the staff. We took breakfast next morning which was OK albeit the service a bit slow. Walking distance from Chinatown for dinner, and 15 mins walking distance to downtown

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guy,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our wine hour. It's been very successful since we started the program. I would agree that we are in a great location. As you mentioned it's an easy walk to Chinatown and Center City as well as many historic sites in the area. It's the perfect part of town. Thank you again and we hope to see you back sometime soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.