We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing works--Nothing works--nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Houston Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing works--Nothing works--nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived just before 2PM with a confirmed King Bed room
Told the room was not available and asked to sit in the lobby and "wait a few minutes"...
2 hours later had to wait in a long line to get my room and told that my Kind Room was still not ready but they had upgraded me to an Junior Suite.
Arrived to the room and not only was it not an upgrade --it was a queen room for handicapped patrons
Called down, put on hold 5 min, called back down, put on hold for 5 min
Finally went down and had to wait 20 min for assistance
given a new room --arrived (last room in hotel)
No remote for the TV--asked 3 people (employees)who told me to call down to the front desk
Remote delivered but it didn't work
Engineer returned 4 times before i got the TV working (30 min)
This place does not work and they don't care that it doesn't.
Avoid this place like POISON

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    87
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
49
52
6
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the Wyndham for a night before flying back to Los Angeles. The hotel is nice. Rooms were clean and spacious. The bathrooms are small and not as nice as the room.
We went t the restaurant Coins for breakfast the next morning. Mediocre at best. POOR service. We had to get our own menus and finally ask someone to help us. Buffet food was fair with fake looking eggs. I ordered off the menu and didn't get much better food. Skip the $10.00-16.00 breakfast and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing 5th street, very noisy from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed one night after traveling for 17 hours from over seas. I had a great check in and check out experience. The rooms were also very clean. However I was appalled at the how rude the women who sat and watched the halls were. I am assuming these women are sitting there for safety as well as to make sure no one is acting up in the rooms. However as I came down the hall with my two large suitcases the lady would not move her chair to the side. I am an average sized female with two 70 lbs bags and this woman would not move to the side of the hall so I could pass. I could not believe the laziness of the employee. Also if these individuals are up there for safety and to assure quietness in the hotel maybe they should not be bundled up in blankets and pre occupied with reading their books. It was the laziness that made me think that if this is the standard that Wyndham hirers their is an issue.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Megan,

Thank you for your feedback. I want to assure you that the person in the hallway you encountered was not an employee of this hotel. I'm currently investigating the issue but my guess is that it was a chaperone for one of the groups in house during your stay. I hope to find out more about this soon. My apologies for her lack of hospitality.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for our trip to historic areas. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Carole,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NJ
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

So easy to walk to all the historic sites. It's all location as others have said. Liked the interactive map to show where to go. Staff very friendly. Parking garage next door. Rooms facing Arch Street are noisy.

Room Tip: Better to face 4th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Philly.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enjoyed stay there.. Only one problem. walls are very thin, or neighbors were very loud. But room was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for your noisy neighbors. Some people just don't have any consideration for others. Thank you again and we hope to see you back very soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#44 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.