We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great location and amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My daughter chose the Wyndham based on price and location. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and basic which is exactly what we were looking for. Unfortunately for me, my daughter’s flight got delayed and I found myself in the main lobby trying to figure out what to do or where to go.
Simon at front desk was very kind and accommodating and managed to provide a lot of information on the local landmarks and restaurants.
Overall, great hotel and service and If I ever go back to Philadelphia I would definitely stay at the Wyndham again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
42
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family enjoyed a weekend stay at this hotel last weekend. The location couldn't be better for visiting the Liberty Bell, Constitution Hall and the burial grounds of Benjamin Franklin. There aren't a lot of restaurants close by but can be reached within a 10 minute walk. I would definitely recommend this spot for families with preteens and teens.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet, upper floor room for our light sleeper children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back very soon. Thanks again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This property is in the heart of everything historic that you can walk to. Wonderfully, friendly awesome front desk staff. I met the guest services manager in the lobby who was saying good morning to all guests and greeting all who were checking in. She was wonderfully friendly and helpful.
The hotel room was comfortable and clean. The hotel was totally redone and was pleasant. The firehouse was near the hotel. I did hear it one night. But you are in the heart of a large city, I kind of expect that. So the hotel rooms are not sound proof.
My overall rating is very good. I would stay here again. It is a great location. Easy parking.
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from the firehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Victoria,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Suzette, our Guest Service Manager is a gem. She makes it a point each day to be out in the lobby getting to know her guests. She's truly a great hospitality ambassador. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Would have declared this place a keeper but having paid for a premium room and finding a burnt out hallway sconce in the room, a freakin's huge toe nail clipping, no fridge, cracked sink and a bathroom drain that no one could unclog after two requests for service. Only one bellman on duty during checkout, left us hauling our bags downstairs because the luggage trolleys for the exclusive use of the said bellman. Front desk is all smiles but not functional beyond check in and check out. On the positive side, it's a great location, our maid was very helpful, and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It's obvious from reading your comments that we missed the boat during your visit. It's embarrassing and truly unacceptable. Trust me when I say it will be shared with the team. My sincere apologies. Thank you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Found this place on Groupon and it was everything we needed! A nice place in Historic Philadelphia. For a city the room was very spacious, and the bed was so very comfortable. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Evan,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and got a good nights rest. Thanks again and we hope to see you back real soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was clean and in nice condition, although there were bottles from previous guests left under the bed...the staff was excellent though! Sean at the front desk was kind, helpful and responsive! Wish all hotel staff were like him!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for your comments and great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I'll be sure to share this with Sean. He is a gem. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, walked to Elfreth Alley, Christ Church,Quaker cemetery, independence hall, Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross Home. Ate at La Scala's rest. Night lights on building was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and great review. We truly appreciate it and look forward to your next visit. Thanks again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#42 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.