We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed the central location of the hotel. All the touristy things were within the walking distance of the hotel. However, the only downside was that there is no free parking provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    479
    263
    122
    43
See reviews for
381
244
58
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Girard, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Wyndham following a conference in New Jersey. It was an ideal location right around the corner to all the major attractions. The hotel is maybe two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. Right behind the hotel is Christ Church Cemetery where Ben Franklin is buried. The hotel itself was affordable and very clean. We stayed two nights and loved the location and helpful staff. They recommended a local restaurant called the Four Fathers which was terrific. I most definitely would stay here again. You don't have to move the car at all and can see everything!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj, usa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District Hotel one night. Hotel is very conveniently located 3 minutes walk to Historic sites of the Old City. The room was big and clean, the hotel staff was friendly. Car parking garage is next to the hotel. When we will visit Philadelphia again, we will stay in this hotel again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I would agree that we are in a great location for exploring the historical area of Philadelphia. It's a wonderful part of town. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location! My stay was for business with a few hours for pleasure. I booked a package with the hotel that included parking and continental breakfast. Upon check-in, everything was in order the only real negative about the room was the lack of thermostat. The stand alone heater/ac was working but not well tuned and an older analog model. There was either hot/cool air blowing vigorously or nothing. During the fall season a quick blast of the heat took the chill out of the room, but I was nervous when I couldn't get the unit to immediately turn off. With some maneuvering I was able to get the unit under control. Sleeping with the heavy fan blowing was a daunting idea as I am susceptible to sore throats when sleeping with too much air blown on me, luckily, it wasn't cold enough for me to have to keep the heat on at night. The rest of the room was satisfactory with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The baseboards in the bathroom were a bit dated and dirty and there was a misfolded blanket of some sort in the closet, else all was in order. My main complaint was with the hotel restaurant. I arrived late and ended up having dinner at the hotel. The food was not very good. The soup (vegetable) was quite nice but the overpriced fried green tomato sandwich did not have any fried green tomatoes and was dipped in what seems to be an entire stick of melted butter. It was so heavy and greasy I was afraid to eat more than a few bites. I was discounted on the food, but it was subpar. The continental breakfast was also meager. Not only were there limited options, the waitstaff was quick to let me know after I picked up a hot item from the bar (actually some room temperature potatoes) that an additional charge of $5.50 would apply for any hot items. I thought this was very misleading as there was not sign differentiating the hot and cold items from being included as a continental breakfast. Also the waitstaff were not very attentive, except when telling me the cold potatoes I didn't eat would cost me extra money. All in all, better management of the restaurant (service and kitchen) would make this an amazing hotel! For now, eat out. Chinatown is close by, only a few blocks up Arch Street and there are some options on Market street too (Reading Terminal for lunch!). I was billed for additional parking fee on my fast check out and had to go to the desk to remedy, peruse the bill for additional charges.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you letting us know where we fell short. You made some very good points about the dining area and I will address that with both the service and culinary staff. I'm sorry it didn't meet your or my expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaxfl
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel twice, once under the Holiday Inn brand and now as a Wyndham property. Location, location, location makes this a great place for home base when in Philly. The hotel has undergone cosmetic updates with the chain switch. Decor is nicely understated, but room 416 needs plaster in ceiling fixed and tile grout in shower needs a little brightening. But it was not anything I couldn't tolerate. Beds okay for comfort because nothing will match my bed at home.

Wifi was much better this second trip and chicken wings in the bar lounge were good for a late night snack, drinks were so-so. But service was just fine in all areas. Would stay here again, the location is safe and feels like home.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing 4th St. 4th floor or higher, fire station adjacent to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the heads up with room 416. I'll have the maintenance department address it immediately. Thank you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.