We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Historic Philadelphia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #51 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Manchester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Great location in Historic Philadelphia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Ok, first the "pros" of this hotel: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! It's within an easy walk to everything in the historic district and Penn's Landing. The staff was very friendly and parking was convenient and free with a two night stay. We felt very safe walking everywhere. The hotel and our room were clean and the rooftop pool was very nice (we went and looked at it, but didn't take advantage of it.) The towels were awesome. The price was the most reasonable in the area. The air conditioning could be controlled by a thermostat, not turning the knob on the unit. Now, a few minor "issues": when I booked online, the site said the room had a refrigerator and microwave, it didn't. Our view was okay, if you looked straight out, but, if you looked down, there were air conditioners and an obstructed view of the Christ Church burial ground. Check in and Check out were very slow. The bed linens were tricky, you had to use the comforter, because the sheet came back up and tucked into it on top. The toilet paper felt like sandpaper. The tissue box on the first day had about 5 tissues left in it. Breakfast was not included and was extremely expensive, so we got donuts at the 7 Eleven and ate in the room. The channels on the TV were extremely limited (we had Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network, but no Disney). Overall, there's nothing wrong with this hotel, but it doesn't have a lot of the amenities you come to expect in a hotel nowadays.

Room Tip: 8th floor is convenient to pool, but there's more hall traffic. The "premium" rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    394
    226
    108
    40
See reviews for
305
193
52
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights and this hotel couldn't have been in a better location. All main historic sites are within a few blocks. It was clean and modern inside. They were renovating the outside front entrance but the disruptions were minimal. Got a great deal through Travelzoo that included parking, which sealed the deal for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for the great rating! I agree that our location is the best as we are just in the middle of the historical attractions, restaurants and the Visitors Center is just around the corner. Thank you for your patience on the ongoing front entrance renovation. We can't wait for it to be completed as it would look really nice and modern.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The union protestors ourside yell obscenities at the women walking to their cars and the construction workers remodeling the parking garage leave their coffee cups on the hood of my car. The front desk cared about neither.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Here on business, have been pleasantly surprised with all aspects of this hotel. PERFECT location to experience all that Old City Philadelphia has to offer. Very clean room, exceptional staff-very friendly, and great value for the money!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear TripAdvisor Guest.

Thank you for your great review and rating! I totally agree with you about our location - we are right in the middle of everything that the Old City has to offer. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are so lucky to have exceptionally friendly and hardworking staff.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here two nights while visiting the historic district.....Independence Hall,Benjamin Franklin's printing press, the Philadelphia mint, etc. It was a busy weekend with many tourists. Everything was in walking distance. ...actually the Visitor's Center was around the corner? We went on a twilight tour with a volunteer guide one night at 6 pm. The hotel had a friendly staff, clean rooms and a rooftop pool. The only problems were the high price for parking and no breakfast and that the two rooms I booked were not adjacent.

Room Tip: We had breakfast at Starbucks which was one block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your great review! I agree with you that we have the best location and is walking distance to the Visitors Center which is just around the corner next to some of the historical attractions.. I have shared with the team your kind words about the staff and the clean rooms. Our Parking rate is comparable to that of the neighboring hotels, however, you may get a promotional package which includes parking and even breakfast. You may visit our website www.wyndham.com to check on the packages. Thank you.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We took our grandchildren to Philadelphia to see the Liberty Bell and other sights. The hotel is within walking distance. Our room was clean and comfortable and I had an offer for free parking which was an added bonus. The children especially enjoyed the pool on the roof of the hotel. The only negative was that the breakfast buffet was somewhat stale. Breakfast was not included in the cost of the hotel..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ms. Kathleen H.,

Thank you for the perfect rating! We are so happy that you had a great stay and I'm glad you had spent some time at the Rooftop Pool. Yes, like you said, everything is at walking distance from the historical attractions, restaurants and shopping. I have shared to our Director of Food and Beverage about your comments on the breakfast buffet. Looking forward to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.