We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philly Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #51 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Philly Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the GREAT location of this hotel, its cleanliness, and recently updated furnishings. The one downside was the front of the building was being updated and this made for congested drop off and pick up especially during peak times. Also, the address of the hotel is Arch Street, but he front of the hotel sits on 4th Street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Eric,

Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate you putting up with the exterior portion of the renovation. It does make the arrival experience a bit confusing at times. This should be complete in a few weeks and then it will be quite simple and beautiful. We can't wait. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    382
    224
    106
    40
See reviews for
291
192
51
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for business in June 2014. Tried to check in at 3 PM but was told to come back because check in is at 4 PM. Came back a little after 4 and the room was not ready. The front desk had my cell number and I was told that I would get a call as soon as a room was ready. I waited in the lobby along with many others trying to check in. Around 5:45PM I went back to the desk to check in and a room was ready. I never did receive that call. I did get a voucher for breakfast. I do not know what was going on, but no one should have to wait that long for a room that was booked and already paid for.
The room was clean, but the previous occupants used the coffee maker and the filters were still in the machine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Diane,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback. I do apologize for the delay you experienced in getting into your room. You should have been notified by telephone that your room was ready. I'll be sure to address that with the team. Again my apologies. Thank you again and we hope that on your next visit to Philly you give us another try.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I had never been to Philly before. And looking at hotels sometimes is nuts. We finally chose the WYNDHAM and hoped it was good. It was GREAT!!!!!!!!! From the moment we arrived, everyone was so helpful and knowledgeable about the surroundings! From the front desk to the bellman. We highly recommend this hotels. Once we parked the car we didn't need to use it until we checked out. That's a vacation!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kim,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback. I would agree that we are in a great location. Once you park your car you can walk almost anywhere in town. It's the perfect area to spend your vacation. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, IA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was nice, but I wasn't wowed the way I would have liked to be. The man who checked me in didn't give me any information about how the hotel was laid out, nor did he give me the breakfast vouchers that were part of my room deal. The pool on the roof was cool, especially for my kids. The signage on the 7th floor (I can't speak for other floors) could have been improved. There is construction at the front of the building which makes it hard to pull up to check in. I'm sure the end result will be good, but in the mean time, the hotel should notify guests of the best way to approach the hotel for check in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Katie,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that the desk agent did not explain the hotels amenities and layout or give you your breakfast coupons. That's standard procedure so I'm not sure why he missed that. I will address that with the Front Desk Manager. The one part of the interior renovation that is not complete is the signage package. When that is complete I'm sure it will address the issue you encountered. As for the construction outside it has made for a confusing arrival experience. We just have a few more weeks to go and then it will be quite simple. I do apologize for the confusion. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.