We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #50 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Write a Review

751 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    300
    190
    90
    29
See reviews for
228
151
37
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I (both senior citizens) were impressed by many things at the Wyndham: the extremely friendly staff, the extreme comfort of the beds, the clean, modern rooms and size of the double queen room, the room cleaning staff (who left us a note with a smiley face: "thanks a million for keeping your room so clean")--- when did that ever happen to guests??, the indoor garage being next door to the hotel, thus very handy and rates being reduced by $5 a door perhaps for being a hotel guest. The interior of the hotel was clean and very generous sized. There also was a cab stand next to the hotel. I don't remember if there was onsite dining, but we were in town to eat with relatives elsewhere. so we didn't check carefully for that. And the hotel staff welcomed this review when I praised the hotel to the cashier! As an aside, in past reviews the hotel's renovations were inconvenient; they now are finished. And the price was a steal, given we were in central Philadelphia, I believe.

Room Tip: The double queen room we had was very good-sized. We have NOTHING to criticize!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Milton G.

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. They really are a great team. The interior renovations have been completed and the place looks incredible. The final phase is now under way on our exterior and when that is complete you won't recognize the building. We can't wait. By the way we do have an on site Restaurant Bar that serves great libations and comfort food. It's just off the elevators in the main lobby. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were in Philadelphia for a convention. The hotel is under renovation the inside is complete but they are still working on the outside. The hotel is nice and the staff is incredible very knowledgeable. If your interested in seeing the history of Philadelphia this is the place to stay, you can walk to most of the historical sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Edie757,

Thank you so much for your comments. They are truly appreciated. As I say to most of our guests that comment on our location, you are correct. It's a great area for not only sightseeing but also dining and shopping. In addition, thank you for your kind words about the staff. I'll be sure to share this with them. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is remodeling, and I was not informed of that when I reserved the room. My family and I were surprised by the exterior appearance. I asked the for a different credit card to be charged for the total expenses than the one I reserved the room with. Again, this did not happen, so I was incredibly surprised and annoyed when I see that the wrong card has been charged. The second day we returned to the room after a long day, and our room had not been cleaned. That was unfortunate, but a really kind member of the housekeeping staff came and cleaned everything right up. The location of the hotel is fantastic. The subway and bus are around the corner and Ben Franklin's grave is less than a block away. The staff was ok - some friendlier than others. And my final issue, one morning I wanted a bagel for breakfast. My husband went down t the hotel restaurant to purchase one for me. It took nearly 30 minutes, and we had to return it because the "cream cheese" was inedible. When he returned it, the kitchen staff was not impressed or apologetic. Anyway - Wyndham met our needs, but we were not impressed either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Saba,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I'm sorry that you were unaware of our exterior renovation project. It is the last phase and when it's complete you won't recognize the place. I'm not sure why the issue occurred with charging the wrong credit card but I will be sure to research it to see what happened. I'm glad the housekeeper acted swiftly in getting your room clean. I'm not sure what time you returned to your room but all rooms are typically complete by 4pm. I'm sorry yours was not. I will share your issue with your bagel with the culinary team. By no means should it have taken that long and there is no reason why your cream cheese wasn't fresh. My sincere apologies for that as well. Thank you again Saba we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff and management were very helpful and went out of there way to ensure my daughter and I were comfortable and informed about the local food and tourist attractions. Be sure to say hi to the manager Suzette when you visit, she is personable and really cares about her customers.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your comments. We truly appreciate them and I'm glad you and your daughter enjoyed your visit. Suzette is a gem and I'll be sure to share this with her. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Holiday Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Holiday Inn
Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.