We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's quieter at the airport” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #47 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Seymour, Tennessee, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's quieter at the airport”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The fire dept. on the corner,jack hammers on the side and the union out front of the place. What could be better?... maybe a room inside the mint,while it's running of coures. Staff was very nice and the location was great for seeing the sights, but if you want to sleep forget it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments. As you might know we are in the middle of a renovation and the local trade unions are not happy that the General Contractor chose non union labor. They are breaking noise ordinances but we've been unsuccessful in getting those that enforce those ordinances to do anything. I do apologize. I also must say it is quite a coincidence that at the same time as the protest someone decided to begin a construction project adjacent to our building in to all hours of the evening. I guess that's what they call solidarity. Again thank you for your comments and I hope that you give us another try once this project is complete.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    510
    281
    131
    44
See reviews for
401
255
64
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branford
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Front desk staff were very accommodating. Bathroom was dirty. Room was small. There was a HUGE protest out front with the sound of a baby screaming coming through speakers all morning. It was very disconcerting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. The union protestors out front are there because they are upset that our General Contractor chose not to hire union labor for our renovation. It is quite disconcerting. There is no excuse for the cleanliness issue and you can be sure that will be addressed. Thank you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

For the $249 I paid per night I expected a much more updated room. I felt the rooms to be small and outdated. However the staff was so friendly and accommodating. There is a cemetery located right behind the hotel, so if that bothers you make a note.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of renovating all of our guestrooms as well as the public space so I'm sure on your next visit you'll be quite impressed. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Perfect location, glad to see they are going to be redecorating in Sept.
My stay was related to jury duty, and the check in clerk told me I had a special parking price and complementary breakfast, besides the federal government rate. Two items the person I booked with did not tell me. I have and will recommend this hotel to others going to Philly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope that jury duty wasn't too stressful. I hope next time you visit you have the opportunity to enjoy not only the hotel but also the surrounding area. It's a great part of town. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was surprised that there was no fridge in the room, but it was nice being right in the historic district, a block or two from the best sights. The staff was extremely helpful. We heard every fire truck and ambulance that went out at night as our room was overlooking the fire department. However, that is not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I hope you enjoyed your stay regardless of the fire truck noise. Our deluxe rooms do have microwave's and fridges. I'm sorry no one mentioned that to you. Just ask next time you make a reservation. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.