We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location of this hotel was great! My experience at this...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #51 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Write a Review

963 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    389
    225
    107
    40
See reviews for
301
193
51
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel was awesome! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel could not have a better location. I was able to walk anywhere and if something was too far away, the subway was only a block down the street. There are a number of good restaurants and cafes to get breakfast (not included in the stay) and the area is fairly safe. Very close to the grave of Benjamin Franklin and Independence Park. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. You're right in saying that we have a great location for site seeing as well as shopping and dining out. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel was an excellent choice. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay there again.
Very family oriented

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We always love to hear when our guests had a great visit. We look forward to having you back sometime in the near future. Thanks again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and the location was excellent very close
to all of the attractions.minutes walk to the famous Reading Market & China town.A block away from the Liberty bell,Betsy Ross house,Benjamin Franklin's grave site,Independence hall & Constitution hall also the US mint.I noticed that the hotel is going on some renovation and upgrade.I ask and was told that the hotel was recently acquired from a local owned hotel and seen the display in the lobby about their planned upgrades in curtains and furnitures.overall I had a good stay...staff were courteous and polite.the lobby needs a lot of work...needs new carpet,fresh coat of lively paints....looks dull upon walking in...the staff were excellent....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We will be undergoing an extensive renovation starting in August and you won't recognize the place when it is complete. We are all very excited about it. We look forward to you visiting us again when the renovation is done. Thank you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We wanted someplace centrally located in order to be able to walk or take public transportation due to the lack of available parking in Philadelphia (it is practically non-existent). After arriving in Philadelphia, we discovered that this was by far the best location, other than a bed and breakfast to walk around old city. The room rate was very reasonable; the staff was friendly and very helpful when planning local sites and food establishments to visit. We were able to avoid the regular tourist traps and see some wonderful historic sites and eat at local food places that were outstanding. One of which was The Tavern, a must see and dine in spot! The room was spacious and clean; we had ordered a refrigerator and microwave ahead of time and they were already in the room when we arrived and the air had been turned up so that the room was cool and comfortable the minute we walked in (This usually doesn't happen for us in other places we've stayed; ex. Hilton, Hyatt). We generally have to wait for the appliances and the room is humid and musty at first. All amenities were supplied in the bathroom and refreshed daily. The roof top pool was amazing (and warm), too! It also had towels supplied on site, so that you didn’t have to drag your room towels with you. They have an attached parking garage, which made traveling by car when necessary, easy. The cost was $24.00; however this was for a twenty-four hour period and we were able to come and go as we pleased with no additional costs. Some of the places we looked into were as much as $35.00 and you were charged for leaving and re-entering. Parking garages around the city were very expensive, but unnecessary because we were able to leave our car at the hotel and ride the train, subway and bus/trolley system which was very efficient and fast. They had a nice dine-in area if you didn't want to go out or wanted a beverage when you got back in from site-seeing. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. We plan on going back in August and will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 700 is one floor below the pool and directly across from the stairwell leading to the pool. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments and we are very glad you had a great stay. We would agree that this is one of the best locations in the city. Very convenient to the many historic sites as well as some great shopping and restaurants. The roof top pool is not only a great place to take a dip it also has some great views of the city. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back in August.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.