We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #50 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Write a Review

753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    301
    190
    90
    29
See reviews for
228
151
37
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is in need of a face-lift and make-over. The daily room cleaning was lackluster and when asked for more bottled water I was told that this wasn't done on a daily basis and so for the duration of my 5 night stay I never got more water or clean drinking glasses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay. I'm very disappointed to hear about the lackluster daily room cleaning. We typically do a great job with keeping our guest rooms and public space clean but we obviously did not during your stay. For that I apologize. In regards to the bottled water it is our standard to provide 2 complimentary bottles at check in however we do not replenish on a daily basis. Many of the other hotel brands typically don't offer bottled water complimentary so I do believe we are a step ahead of them. Thank you again and we hope on your next visit to Philly you give us another try.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed there overnight because we attended an in-town wedding. The location of our room was great, and the room's size was a nice surprise. However, the bathroom didn't seem that clean: there was hair on the toilet seat, which didn't appear to have been even wiped down from the prior occupants. The beds seemed a little small (we had a 2-queen room I think - maybe they were fulls), but were pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I was disappointed to see that you had cleanliness issues in your bathroom. We truly pride ourselves in keeping our property clean and we obviously fell short during your visit. I will be sure to share this with our housekeeping department. Thank you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Attended a conference in Philly and stayed in this hotel. Some colleagues stayed in the Loews Hotel. Same price. Far different environment. While the location of the Wyndham was great, the Loews seemed like luxury, the Wyndham like a Quality Inn. Old, worn, rooms not cleaned very well, sort of dark and dingy. Loews, bright, spotless, newly decorated and modern. The lobby made it apparent that you were staying in an above average place. All this for the same $199 per night that the tired old Wyndham was charging. Only thing that saved this place was the Old City location, but still, could have been a whole lot better. Those of us in this Wyndham felt cheated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in being clean, friendly and helpful and I know that in those areas we rival any of our competition. We will be undergoing a multimillion dollar renovation later this year and after that our entire hotel will rival the competitors. Thank you again for your comments.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel just changed to a Wyndham and I think they are still getting things in order. The room was clean, the food was above average for breakfast, and the locations was generally fine to get to downtown. My issue is that they sent someone to our room to "fix a leak" that did not have a uniform that said either "Wyndham" or even the former, "Holiday Inn." It was just a guy in a brown uniform saying he needed to come into my room to work on a leak. I closed the door and called the front desk, who confirmed this was true. I was not happy about them sending an "unmarked person" to my room without calling first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
292JohnK292, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am very surprised that no one called you prior to our Maintenance staff arriving to your room. It is most definitely our policy to always call first. While the Maintenance uniforms do not have a Wyndham logo on them their name tags do. You were right with being cautious and calling downstatirs to confirm before letting him into your room. I will be sure to discuss this with the team.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you back sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Holiday Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Holiday Inn
Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.