We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District to your Saves list
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Columbia
1 review
“Great location, not so great room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The water in the sink wouldn't get hot unless the shower was running, the shades wouldn't close, the telephone in the room didn't work and in the morning the cleaning staff was very noisy in the hallway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for writing to us. I've made note of your comments and will direct our engineering staff to initiate repairs. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations. Wyndham has just begun operating this hotel and we are working quickly to ensure every spacious room is in excellent condition for our guests. We know we have one of the best locations in the city and our staff is excited about being with Wyndham, one of America's most renowned service organizations. Our goal is to become one of Philadelphia's finest. We hope that you will come back and evaluate our progress towards that end. Thank you again for your business and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    449
    252
    119
    43
See reviews for
363
223
54
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My children and I stayed here for spring break.
The negatives were the hotel needs to be refurbished and updated. The positives were the location and helpful staff. The hotel is located within walking distance to the major sites in the old city district. We had to switch rooms because our room lock was not working, but they comped us breakfast to compensate for our inconvenience.
If you want a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to the major historical sites then this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you and your family for spending spring break at the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District Hotel. You are so right about our location - right in the middle of America's most historic area. Easy walking distance to just about everything and great value, too. Thank you for underscoring those attributes. While we are not perfect, I'm pleased to know that we recovered from your lock issue - with breakfast. By the way, we will soon be doing a renovation of guest rooms, public and meeting room space and our restaurant and bar. Please come back and see us again. Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff was fair, at best. Not very helpful and rather lazy was the impression I got. The hotel was busy due to the New Year's celebrations, and the staff seemed unprepared for the number of people they would be forced to interact with.

The parking is in a garage attached to the hotel, and it comes at a pretty penny. Here is the catch...you get no parking priveleges because you are a hotel guest. Imagine my dismay when I had worked a 12 hour day on New Year's Eve and returned to the hotel to be told the garage was full?? With public parking, nonetheless! Excuse me?

The rooms were small and dank, and the entire property smells like it needs a good scrubbing. Actually, cleaning house from the ground up -- structure and staff-- would do wonders for this location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As you may know, the hotel at which you spent New Year's is now a Wyndham. With a great location plus renovation of all our rooms, public and meeting space and restaurant, and our commitment to unsurpassed service, we believe the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District Hotel will soon be one of Philadelphia's finest. Please come back and check out our progress. In meantime, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We traveled to Philadelphia for a medical procedure for our daughter at Shriners. This hotel is in a good location and also the restaurant is great. We loved the variety on the menu and they have fabulous choices for children (including grilled chicken and veggies). The restaurant is casual so you can go in with children and feel comfortable doing so. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed. The staff were all quite friendly. Especially, Brandon in reservations, and also, Connie in the restaurant. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your exxperience with us. First, we wish your daughter a speedy recovery. We're so pleased that we at the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District Hotel were able to provide you a comfortable 'home' during this ordeal. This hotel has a wonderful staff focused on providing exceptional guest service - and exemplified by associates like Brandon and Connie. Thank you for taking time to recognize them. Again, all the best to you and your daughter ... and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.