We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The personal touch ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Gables Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4520 Chester Avenue, At South 46th St., Philadelphia, PA 19143 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rosate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The personal touch ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everything about The Gables speaks of the care that the owners invest in their B&B - and that extra effort makes the difference. The room was not only comfortable & clean - it felt like staying with a favourite grandmother. Breakfast was different every day, fresh and satisfying - and I'm not a breakfast person usually; just a cup of coffee and I'm on my way ... but at The Gables, it was just too good to miss. A true 'find' !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
18
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Havre, Montana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This B&B is gorgeous, in a home built in 1889 and beautifully restored by the current owners, who are gracious and also prepare a fabulous breakfast. If you want to know more about their work to restore the house, they will tell you about it. It's a wonderful story. The house and all of its rooms are immaculate, and the yard is also beautifully maintained. It's an oasis that makes you think you're in the country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely Victorian B & B. Very clean & welcoming, large comfortable rooms, hot breakfast, & nice staff. Cozy porch! There is a large park a block away and the trolley runs right in front of B & B that takes you downtown to city center.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent four nights at The Gables while attending a conference at the Philadelphia Conference Center. We stayed in the Victorian Room. We loved the house and how it was furnished with antiques, some of which were family heirlooms. I loved all the family photos that were displayed throughout. The lighting in the bathroom was perfect for applying makeup. We were able to see some of the other rooms and they were all splendidly appointed. The breakfast baked goods were delicious. My favorite was the apple walnut muffins. The Trolley stop is at the corner and a convenient way to get to downtown. Thank you Warren, Don, Oscar and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

From the moment I arrived I was charmed. The Gables building itself is gorgeous and very spacious. I was very relieved when I saw it in person. It is actually much more spacious than it looks in the pictures and quite grand. The details in furnishings and decoration are delightful and are everywhere (but it does not feel claustrophobic because the house is HUGE and the décor is so tasteful).

The owners were completely thoughtful. I was going to just eat my own nuts for breakfast because I am so picky but they took the time to discuss my likes and dislikes and made a very gourmet breakfast that was perfect for me: an over-easy egg with tender asparagus and a homemade light sauce…for breakfast!! Seriously, who does that?!

The room I stayed in was very comfortable and quiet; even though it was a full house I didn't hear a peep out of anyone. The guests were very friendly and interesting and I got to know them over breakfast.

The Gables has free WiFi and a printer and fax machine. There is a lovely park about a block away and I jogged around it each morning. I never felt unsafe. There is a public transportation stop right in front of The Gables which I took every day. I never had to wait more than a few minutes. Make sure you spend some time with the owners as they are very kind and knowledgeable about the city.

Room Tip: I stayed right at the top of the first flight of stairs and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We didn't know, but now we do!
In these hectic modern times with IPad, IPhone, computers and other electronic devices that keep you busy, it's good to be in a Victorian atmosphere with soft classical music at breakfast, fantastic silverware, an interior in which everything matches, good food: scrambled eggs, pancakes, french toast, sausages, heavy wheat bread and last but not least: butter you can spread on you bread right away, because it's really nice and soft (instead of hard so that you end up with holes in your bread..........)
Thanks Don and Warren for a wonderful 4 nights stay!!

Room Tip: We slept in Blue Willow, just a little more room than the other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Let me just start the review by saying I can only comment on the accommodations, not the food. I only stayed the one night, and had to leave early, so I can't comment on the breakfast. As a vegan I'm pretty used to just taking my food along with me, anyhow.

I loved the design and architecture of the house and really enjoyed my room. I had a comfortable sleep and thought things were actually surprisingly quiet for the location. I thought the neighborhood was older and a bit rundown, but I didn't feel scared going to and from the b and b.

Overall I thought this was a pleasant experience and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4520 Chester Avenue, At South 46th St., Philadelphia, PA 19143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Victorian B&B, 10 guest rooms, free parking, full breakfast. Amazing collection of Victorian antiques with 21st century amenities such as WiFi, cable tv, phones, computer station, dvd and vcr. Easy public transit. Near universities and hospitals, 12 minutes to center city. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.