We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location and Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Logan Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the Four Seasons in Philadelphia in March 2013 and was quite impressed by the hotel. Very well located in the commercial center of the city, a number of tourist locations are nearby such as the Museum of Art. Major businesses like the Comcast Center and Liberty Towers are less than a 5 minute walk away. Must also highly commend the staff, very friendly and professional, they go out of their way to help. In short, a great place to stay, especially anyone coming on a business trip to Philly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristiaD, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Shubhang_23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are so pleased to know you were left with a positive experience and impression of our centery city Philadelphia hotel! Our staff and our location are two of our best assets and we're happy you enjoyed both.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Christia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    232
    106
    33
    21
See reviews for
228
250
46
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I read alot of reviews about this hotel and i was confused, some are good some are bad mainly about the outdated rooms.

Rooms are very good, the only outdated observation i noticed are the bathroom and the safe box that has a key!

I am a fan of FS whenever availble in the twon i travel to, and i can tell the best service i got in any FS hotel was here in Philly.

Very welcoming, helpful basiclly you feel at home.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristiaD, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear SAZ040,

Thank you for your kind review! What a wonderful compliment to share that the best service you've had was at our Four Seasons. We are looking forward to doing some renovations later this year on our rooms, so hopefully you will have a chance to come back and stay with us to see them.

All the best,
Christia Donohue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from a 1-night weekend trip to Philadelphia, and have stayed at the Four Seasons before. We have lived in Philadelphia previously, so are pretty familiar with the area and with the other lodging options available.

Weekend rates for the FS are pricey but very much in line with the other 'top-tier' hotels in the area such as the Ritz-Carlton and the Rittenhouse. The location is right off the Ben Franklin Parkway, with very easy access to both Center City shopping/dining as well as the Art Museum District as Philadelphia is a very walkable town. It would be a longer walk to the historical Old City, but the neighborhood of the above hotels is much more convenient as well as less noisy on the weekends than staying closer to Old City.

As many posters have noted, the hotel is in need of renovation, and this is certainly true. They have kept up fairly well, but the hotel is quite dated, more so in the actual guest rooms and the room floors than in the public spaces, which are still quite elegant (and FS is not really known for cutting-edge design anyway). The rooms are spotless but the bathrooms, especially, are in dire need of updating. No separate shower stall, and the tub has quite old fixtures, with a curtain that flares out with the water pressure and doesn't adhere to the tub wall, with all sorts of concerns during a shower that water is going to get all over the bathroom floor. No separate WC, single sink, in general a bathroom that is not keeping with any luxury brand. Room soundproofing is an issue as well-- even on the 6th floor there was a fair amount of vibratory noise coming from somewhere on the ground level on Sunday morning that was quite distracting, although the amount of street traffic itself on Sunday morning is fairly nonexistent.

Valet parking is quite pricey at almost $50/day, but this (unfortunately) is also keeping in line with the other top properties in the city. I honestly don't remember if wifi was included, as 4g coverage was quite good, at least on our floor.

The reason(s) why I would stay at this hotel over any other in Philadelphia would be:

1) Location-- easy walking distance to most major sites, but situated a tad further away to be more calming than staying right on Rittenhouse square.

2) Price-- weekend rates are still a good 'value' for a luxury property in a major urban area.

3) Most importantly, Philadelphia suffers from a total lack of a top-tier luxury hotel. The Ritz-Carlton has room issues/space issues as well, and the Rittenhouse is also of need of a major reno. All have decided, most likely for cost reasons in this economy, to postpone refurbishment for as long as they can, so there is _no_ alternative to the FS in the city that can deliver a better luxury product even at a higher price. So, for the time being, consider the FS to be the best of not-so-great options.

Service is comparable to other FS properties, no complaints at all. Concierge was friendly and helpful, valet prompt. Did not eat at the restaurants this trip but can state from prior experience that the Sunday brunch is pricey but very, very, delicious and high quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Traveljunkie2005,

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us. As several posters have mentioned, the hotel is in need of renovation and please know that we do have one scheduled for later this year. Four Seasons is known for its amazing personalized service and I was pleased to hear that you received this.

Please contact me in the future to make reservations in Philadelphia or at any Four Seasons property. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Michael Nenner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had a wonderful experience at the Four Seasons! I stayed here for one night on a business trip. I was impressed by the spaciousness of the rooms and fantastic hotel staff. I would certainly recommend it to fellow business travelers. The bed was comfortable, and the view was spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Luke5214,

Thank you for the great compliments and we think our staff is great too. The view of the fountain is quite a site to be seen and is fantastic during the summer.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Michael Nenner
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed after a late flight from London, room was very well equipped and a very, very comfortable bed felt more like a spa hotel than a city centre one. Only stayed one night and left early before breakfast, but for a great nights sleep I would recomend. Have previously stayed in the Philly Sheraton, Four Seasons is the next price point up, but in my view, worth the extra cost

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear LondonDinky,

Next time you stay in Philly, add on another night to stay and enjoy the view and the Spa.

Thank you and call me directly for assistance,

Michael Nenner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband is a physician in Philadelphia , (we live in NJ) We make it a tradition to stay in the city for the Flower Show Gala preview party each year. Last year we stayed at The Ritz and gave it 5 stars! The 4 Seasons was a disappointment . My husband checked in before me as he came from the Hospital. We booked via the Amex Platinum card program. With that program comes automatic upgrades if available. Upon check- in the staff tried to 'sell' him an upgrade even though we were already in one of the lovely suites. They then began to try to sell him spa services instead of just providing spa info in our room. No-one offered to take his bag to the 8th floor. Upon arriving in the room, which was lovely, but in need of some upgrades, carpets worn in hall etc.. he noticed the heat in the room was either too hot or too chilly. I arrived and noticed there was fruit on the table. Which we enjoyed. We dressed for the gala and prior to leaving the maid asked if we wanted the turn down service. We travel to fine hotels around the globe and we always accept that! Upon our return after the gala, we noticed the maid had turned down the bed, but the food / fruit/ waters etc dirty plates on the table were never removed. Also unlike other 5 star hotels, no mints left on the pillow. Not that I need that,. but its nice to see. That night we dined in the dining room. The food was good, not outstanding. We have come often for the large sunday brunch with our family which is amazing! So dinner was a little disappointing, That night it was hard to sleep having to get out of bed and try to adjust the heat, since too chilly or way to hot, no happy medium. The shower was fantastic. Very strong pressure..divine! We noticed our in room dining menu was already marked off from a previous guest, there was no do not disturb sign. Breakfast that morning was good, but we had to wait for them to set a table- even though there were only a handful of people in the dining room. The staff downstairs were not overly helpful, the maids in the hall we passed were always polite and friendly. We will continue to attend sunday brunch for nice occasions, but next hotel stay or referring a hotel to out of town guests or visiting physicians, we will recommend The Ritz. This 4 season is not on par to others globally. Needs work!

Room Tip: The suites are very pretty. Fountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Lauren B,

Our apologizes for the lapse in service you received during your stay. I will speak with my team here and use your feedback as a training tool to improve these shortfalls in service.

Please contact me in the future to make reservations at the hotel, so I can insure that our team will exceed your expectations.

Regards,

Michael Nenner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

One overnight but well worth it. Stunning views of Logan Square and outstanding service from everyone on the hotel staff. We had a business meeting on site that included breakfast and lunch. Both meals were well prepared, fresh and offered enough variety to satisfy any palate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristiaD, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear TheSodFather,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We work hard to cater to our business travelers needs and are so happy you enjoyed your meetings with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Christia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1 Logan Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A deluxe property with wonderful views of Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Philadelphia
Four Seasons Philadelphia
Philadelphia Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.