We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect size, amazing collection of exotic cars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simeone Foundation Museum

Simeone Foundation Museum
6825-31 Norwitch Drive, Philadelphia, PA 19153
215) 365-7233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect size, amazing collection of exotic cars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Years ago I saw a few of these cars race, and have wanted to visit this fairly recently opened, off the beaten track museum. Spent more than two hours in the open, well conceived space, yet only two other visitors attended, and they stayed less than an hour. I spent some time learning from the chief mechanic there, who gives presentations now and then on car care, and he was very generous with his time and knowledge.

Once a month during good weather three of the antique sports cars are out back of the museum to show off their stuff, and impressive (or not) sound of their power train. All the cars are in good running condition, no small feat considering the number and rare nature of these cars.

The graceful lines, color and overall presentation of these cars make this as much of a museum of sculpture as it is of historic cars, the earliest of which is from about 1907. You don't have to be a gear head to appreciate the museum, (though it helps), as long as you like sculptural art.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Museum for car geeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I really enjoy this museum. It is well laid out. The only issue that I had is that it cost $12 per adult and you can walk the whole museum in less than 1/2 hour

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“It's Like Disney For Cars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our second visit to the Simeone Foundation Museum. Our first visit wowed us with the extensive collection of Dr. Simeone. The cars are situated in little galleries with backdrops and clear, concise plaques in front of each one that states why the car makes a significant contribution to the museum. My husband runs a car blog and knows a lot about these kinds of vehicles. Mostly race cars from the early 1900s to present. I am not nearly as enthralled with cars, but found this place quite interesting. The Le Mans section was impressive! We went on a very hot demonstration day. Best of Italy car show was inside and demos were outside. My only complaint....no AC. I understand that it would cost a fortune, but it was over 100 degrees outside. It's the only improvement we would make. Admission was reasonable. We hear they have Phili Groupon deals. It was nice to go the first time when it was crowded to see everything. THEN go on a demo day. Just know you might be parking and walking always on demo day. But they do sell light fare and refreshments. Car themed gift shop too. Very well done. Nothing else on the east coast can compare!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I am not into race cars, but I even like this place. Gorgeous old cars - this doctor must be one of the country's richest! WOW

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an hour or so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great laid back museum featuring numerous extremely rare race cars. Each car is explained and not over restored.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simeone Foundation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Simeone Foundation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simeone Foundation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.