We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good, a little quirky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Independent to your Saves list
The Independent
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust) (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Arlington, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very good, a little quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Very nice accommodations and very convenient. And quiet especially considering the lively area it is in.

In our case, the room we got did not have functioning AC and it was very hot out. Eventually, after some effort, the staff went out of its way to get us to a room with functioning AC. (In fact we were upgraded.)

The quirky side: one member of the staff seemed a little confused by the AC situation but was quite friendly. Another staff member really took charge and made sure we were taken care of. We also thought it was rather humorous that there was no soap because "the shipment hadn't come in". Hmmm. Couldn't they have gotten some soap from somewhere??

Anyway, overall a good place to stay in Philly with quite nice rooms for the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    201
    46
    27
    4
See reviews for
129
269
52
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
state college, pa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

This hotel has many things going for it, including a competitive price for hotels in its class. I will definitely stay there again.
(1) The location is excellent if you have business with any of the medical centers nearby and very good if you want to take a stroll through Society Hill, South Street, and various 1776-related sites.
(2) The rooms are in great shape, very spacious and well-furnished (e.g., couch, fridge, and microwave). I didn't have the cramped-in feeling that often comes with a hotel room.
(3) The reception desk is on the second floor, and access to the other floors requires a room key. Thus, the floors would seem secure. I only interacted with one member of the staff at check-in. He was very friendly, welcoming, and informative.
(4) Parking is in a lot about a block away (don't use the lot directly across Locust Street). It costs $15 with in-out privileges.

In short, I liked it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed one night a the Independent on a leisure trip to Philadelphia after seeing a Travelzoo special and reading some of the reviews here. We booked a King Suite which, we come to fine out, is the only King Suite at the hotel.

The hotel is well located within Philadelphia - an easy walk to lots of sights including Avenue of the Arts, Independence Hall, Reading Terminal Market and is located in the a very gay-friendly area of the city. You arrive to a plain facade and an elevator lobby which takes you to the main lobby on the second floor. When we arrived there were some sketchy folks outside the hotel asking for money and being generally disturbing. That's the only time we encountered that during out stay.

The suite itself was very nice - the size of a big-city studio apartment. Well decorated, large bed, fireplace, flat screen television and comfortable bathroom. Overall, a good place to relax and unwind. The downsides - air conditioning is remarkably loud (slept with bathroom door closed, where the sound was coming from) but never cooled the room to our desired temperature. VERY loud. There's a night club on the first floor and the bass penetrates the floors. Do NOT, under any circumstances, book a room on the second floor - avoid at all costs.

The breakfast consists of yogurt, pre-packages muffins, cereal and juice but I did like that it was delivered to the room - a nice touch.

Took advantage of the free gym passes which was also a nice bonus.

I was really looking forward to our stay here and I would stay again, but would book and insist on a room on a high-floor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I want to like this place, heck I want to love it, but they have too many infrastructure problems. We arrived at about 4pm and our rooms were ready but they were both swelteringly hot - in the mid to upper 90s.

For one of the rooms the cooling system was eventually found to be broken, but only after we waited in the room for nearly an hour. The other one simply had the AC turned off. We cane back at around 7pm and my room (the "working" room) was only cooled down to 88 degrees. I had to beg to be moved - they wanted me to wait for a while more (after 2 hours the temp had only come down about 4 degrees.) But they finally agreed to move me to room 206.

The new room was nice tho a little dark. One of the giant window curtains was broken but I managed to shut it by wedging a plant against it. The room itself was very clean. The bathroom was nice with a stall shower, which I think is a good idea. The soap is really nice. The internet is free and it works. The floors are hardwood which is really nice and adds to the cleanliness, unfortunately, the area rug is thick and interferes with the desk chair, but it's not a big problem.

The Queen size bed is large a little high and comfortable. However, it is arranged an an angle meaning there is no night table or light on one side. I moved the floor lamp over and used my suitcase to hold my book and phone. The other night table has a comically large itunes player clock attached to it, so there is only a very small space for anything else. Luckily mine did not go off at 6am like it did for my traveling partner, who never figured out how to set the thing.

There is some sort of large engine, motor or compressor behind the bathroom of room 206, keeping the bathroom door shut mostly shuts it out.


However, there is a nightclub downstairs (below the rooms at the other end of the 2nd floor) I did not hear the club itself, but the crowd spilled out onto the street and continued to party from about 1:30am to about 4am both nights. The windows are only single pane, so what Fodors said about not hearing the street noise is not true for this room. On the 2nd night, a guest above me was blasting the disco beat starting at about 11:30pm. I tried calling the front desk but there was no answer.

The offer a truly forgettable breakfast. The yogurt has aspartame, the muffin is vending machine quality. I think they shouldn't even bother and use the savings for additional insulation.

I got very little sleep during my visit. I would say I was a bit crabby to the staff by the last day. They were nice enough, but the basics of the building is making it hard.





The moved the guest in the broken room and we went out for an hour

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Great reception staff and location. Bed was too soft.... Shower needs a curtain.
Room was clean and being on the 5th floor, it was very quiet. Took advantage of pass to 12th Street Gym - great facility.
Hotel is definitely a repeat destination.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Stayed here on a New Year's Eve with my husband. Though we weren't in the room for long, it was great! Nice comfy bed, great decor, great location.
GOOD coffee and breakfast the next morning....we needed it! ;-)

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This is a very nice hotel where the staff are both friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and had a refrigerator, desk and flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Independent 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.