We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay at The Independent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Independent to your Saves list
The Independent
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust) (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“another great stay at The Independent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a wonderful stay, again, at The Independent in Philadelphia, while visiting the Philadelphia Flower Show and Barnes Museum this weekend. We especially appreciated the flexibility of the management in letting us shorten our trip due to an impending snow storm. Even though the booking was dependent on a two night stay, they honored our wish to leave a day early to get home before the storm, and allowed us to keep our same ‘special’ rate with parking. Nick, the afternoon/eve front desk person could not have been nicer and more accommodating. We even got an upgraded room which was lovely. We would definitely stay again at this very nice and well located hotel with excellent front desk service.

Room Tip: our room on the 4th floor was nice, quiet and nicely dark at night with the shades drawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear JeanneVirginia,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you got the chance to check out the Flower Show and the Barnes Museum, two of Philadelphia's best attractions. I am also pleased that you found the front desk staff to be courteous and helpful in assisting you with your reservation modification. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    211
    46
    27
    5
See reviews for
132
276
53
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Delightful boutique hotel in the heart of Philadelphia - reasonably priced, excellent service, great central location. And big props to Nick on the front desk, he couldn't have made us more welcome or been more helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take a suite, best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear lostinpurgatory,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am glad to hear you were pleased with the customer service provided by Nick, and I will be sure to pass you comments along to him. Our unbeatable prices and central location are what keep guests coming back to see us each time they are in Philadelphia, and I am glad you satisfied with your stay. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Independent Hotel is exactly what I am looking for in a hotel. Free wifi, complementary breakfast, and ERIK PARKER, the most friendly and lovely receptionist EVER. AAA discounts, also. This place is basically THE place I want to stay every time. VERY SAFE and WARM environment. It's sometimes the little things in life, and this is a place where the little things are taken seriously and the big things...well they are implicit. Large rooms and very quiet for an urban environment. (Also, in-room spa treatments!).

GREAT EXPERIENCE, always coming back here whenever I travel to Philadelphia.

Erik Parker really was the most lovely and conscientious individual. Thank you!!!!!

Room Tip: higher floors have less street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear ClaireKing315,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear about the excellent experience you had with meeting our front desk agent Erik. He is known for his cheery and approachable manner, and he has already talked about how happy he was to meet you as well! I am also glad that you enjoyed our guest amenities, competitive rates, and comfortable guest rooms.We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I travel to Philadelphia every two weeks for business and I've stayed at many of the downtown hotels. The Independent has become my absolute favorite. It is such a charming escape within a busy downtown core. It's close to everything, has a lovely breakfast that's brought to your room. The staff is wonderful and helpful. The rooms are clean - they are all a different, and all have soaring high ceilings. The wifi is very reliable! It is always a great escape and I'm so glad that I found it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Jennifer B,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted that you have fallen in love with our hotel, and I am so appreciative of your kind remarks regarding our guest rooms, friendly staff, and convenient location. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towanda, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed early January and the hotel was not real busy at that time. Upon arrival our queen room was upgraded to a king at no extra charge. We went to the wine and cheese tasting and were the only ones there at that time. We tasted several wines and cheeses and then went to noni's for dinner which was excellent. They have the best Italian sausages and meats. Unfortunately we were called back home in the morning with a family emergency and were not able to spend a second night. The hotel refunded our prepaid room with no problems. The only thing we didn't like was the parking. We were not sure which parking lot the hotel used and there was no where on the street to park. They should just direct you to the parking garage about a block or so up the street, which happened to be the one they use. We finally pulled in there about our 10 th time around the blocks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Ricky W,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very pleased that you not only enjoyed the hotel but also the restaurants in the immediate area. Little Nonna's is easily one of the city's best new restaurants, and we love being located right next to it! I am sorry you had trouble with finding our parking garage, and on your next stay we would be happy to assist you in getting there without any issues. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at The Independent for Valentine's Day on a weekend trip to Philadelphia. We were both impressed with the understated elegance of the hotel, which is nestled on a busy street near Center City. It is very near all the action, close to theaters, restaurants, shopping, historical sites, and the Metro. The staff were incredibly friendly and hospitable, which made it hard to stay just one night!

The queen room was well-appointed with hardwood floors, high ceilings, and large windows. The bathroom did not have a bathtub, which was disappointing, but everything was clean and modern. The bed was a bit soft for my taste, and the street is quite noisy on a Friday night, but overall it's a wonderful little place to stay if you're going to be "out and about" in the city anyway.

Overnight parking was expensive and, if you choose to self-park in the garage, limited and exposed to the elements. This would be fine in the spring, but there was significant snow covering parking lines and piled in spots, which really made parking a headache. The garage IS very close to the hotel, though, so that is a plus.

If I visit Philadelphia in the future, I will definitely consider staying here again. It is worlds better than any hotel chain you can think of.

Room Tip: Rooms off Locust and on a higher floor would be quieter. Corner suites have a few windows, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear quackel,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so glad that you had a wonderful stay during Valentine's Day. We love being located so close to Philadelphia's great shops and restaurants, and I am pleased to hear you were able to explore our exciting neighborhood. However, I am sorry to hear you had some trouble with parking. On your next visit to The Independent, we would be happy to assist you with parking in a different parking lot which we are also associated with. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I needed to stay at a hotel in downtown that was reasonable and I am glad I picked this one. They have complimentary wine and cheese in the evening which is excellent. Walking distance to stores and various restaurants. The bed was as if I was sleeping on a cloud. And the staff was very professional and accommodating. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear xty20783,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wine & cheese reception, our convenient location, and our extremely comfortable mattresses. I am also delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Independent 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.