We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Save Saved
You added The Independent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independent
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust) (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
new york
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for one night to go to a Basketball Game. Was not sure what to expect as you don't actually walk in to a lobby. You need to take an elevator up to the 2nd floor to check in. Check in was fantastic. Our room was two queens and it was huge. Hardwood floor, high ceilings, large bathroom and very clean. The only thing that would have made the room better was if there was better lighting in the room. The breakfast brought to your room is fantastic. I think what makes this hotel even better is the service. I have stayed in a lot of hotels but Eric & Dan really have incredible customer service. No question was too much, they were there to help!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small boutique hotel that takes care of its customers.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear giolo,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very pleased to hear that you found the service of our staff to be outstanding, and also that you were thoroughly happy with the layout and cleanliness of your guest room. Perfection is exactly what we are going for! We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    176
    42
    26
    2
See reviews for
120
242
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed for an entire week and quickly came to feel completely at home. Everyone who works at the Independent--literally everyone--is thoroughly professional, unfailingly helpful and generous, and informative. Can't say enough about their commitment to guests. A very different, far friendlier experience than one finds at a large hotel chain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Andrew B,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted that our staff made you feel completely at home during your stay, and that they were able to accommodate all of your requests professionally and efficiently. I agree that they are what help distinguish us from chain hotels. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Thanksgiving week, Tuesday through Friday. The staff was so accommodating. We were on a floor with just one room. It was spacious and clean with a large bathroom. I would have loved to have had a bathtub too but the shower was super with a double shower head. The cool surprise was continental breakfast delivered in a basket to our door each morning and a Kuerig Coffee maker in the room. The lobby was lovely though it could use some new furniture. It looked a bit worn and was in contrast with the detailed attention to the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear bleeniegreen,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us during Thanksgiving. I am glad you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast delivery, and also that you were pleased with the set-up and cleanliness of your guest room. I appreciate your input regarding our lobby, and you will be happy to know that we are about to undergo a lobby renovation, which absolutely includes new furniture! We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

stayed here only one night- but wish I could have stayed more. Loved the location- was able to walk everywhere. Nice staff- they made sure everything was taken care of. Free wine and cheese happy hour! Awesome. Comfortable beds. Easy, convenient parking lot across the street. Hard wood floors. It was just an overall great experience. Much better than staying in some huge, bland, chain hotel. Highly recommend! Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear jenny g,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that all aspects of your stay were excellent, from the comfort of your bed to your interaction with friendly and efficient front desk staff. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for one night in Jan and would gladly stay again. Plenty to do within walking distance and the front desk staff was more than helpful. Parking across the street adds convenience, and the rooms were extremely clean and boasted huge comfortable beds.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear GutUpAndGo,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that you found the location of our property perfect for walking to all the entertainment and popular attractions that lure visitors to Philadelphia. I am also glad that our front desk staff was able to assist you with all your needs, and that you found the bed in your guest room to be very comfortable. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Decent hotel, got free parking with a voucher, breakfast is served in bed, rooms were clean and staff was friendly. Room was very large but some noise could be heard from clubs down the road.

Still good value for money!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear travelmate 182,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your guest room, our friendly staff, and our complimentary breakfast. However, I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with noise in the nearby area. If you choose to stay with us again, please contact me directly and I will make sure to assign you to a quieter room. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked this hotel to be in the city center and was not disappointed. It is a walking distance from everything. The room was nice, clean and warm (we were visiting during Christmas) and breakfast at your door is a nice touch, especially when you plan to run out early in the morning to go sightseeing. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and pleasant to deal with. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a simple lodging with no frills and on a budget. If your re looking for any extra amenities you will not find them here, and if you are used to classier hotels, this place is not for you. The room was large but with a minimum amount of furniture – one chair and a small desk. The breakfast was modest but conveniently at your door when you asked for it. The parking was a block away but at a very reasonable rate. You get a great deal for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Isabella_M_NewYork,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during Christmas in Philadelphia. It is great that you found our hotel to be a great value, as our competitive rates are often what keeps guests coming back. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Independent 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.