We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old building and a great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Independent to your Saves list
The Independent
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust) (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% off Parking
Ranked #14 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful old building and a great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I far prefer a charming old building to a modern confection and this pair of 19th-century commercial structures joined to create a boutique hotel in the center of old Philadelphia fit the bill perfectly. From the hardwood floors and the exposed brick wall in the bathroom, to the soaring ceilings and Palladian window, my room was an old architecture lover's dream.

The furnishings were just fine for a quick business trip, and the staff was great from making reservations through checking in to giving advice when heading out to explore. The front desk is truly a desk. And after a long train trip and a pair of subways to reach the hotel, it was a treat to just sit across the desk from the person checking me in. So civilized.

There's no hotel restaurant or fitness center in a property this size, so they have a free pass to a nearby gym, and a generous breakfast basket delivered to your door first thing in the morning -- way better than most hotel fitness rooms and breakfast buffets.

Bottom line: I paid less and was much happier than if I'd stayed at one of the big chain properties not far away.

Room Tip: Room 207 (and I think 307 also) has a great bedroom/bathroom layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear kennedy4c,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so glad you found our staff to be very helpful, from the moment you called to make your reservation to the day you checked out. Our front desk agents take pride in going the extra mile to make sure guests are at ease upon their arrival and for the duration of their stay. I am also pleased to hear you admired the Georgian Revival architecture of our building, which housed a printing press in the 1920's. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    223
    50
    27
    6
See reviews for
138
290
54
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I chose this hotel for our quick visit to Philadelphia, partly because it's not a chain hotel, partly because it's centrally located, and partly because of the other reviews here on Trip Advisor. I generally stay in mid-range chain hotels, and I can confirm that this place was a wonderful change from the ordinary. We arrived in the evening, and were able to park in the loading zone right in front of the hotel. We went up to the 2nd floor where the main lobby is (the first floor is just an entranceway for some kind of restaurant that was undergoing renovation and the elevator). We were greeted warmly, and invited to free wine and cheese, which is available in the lobby every evening. We brought our luggage up to our room (on the 4th floor - the only room on this floor), which was beautiful. Everything about the decor, furniture, linens, towels, even the bathroom soaps was above average. The stand-up shower (no tub) even had two shower heads. Not sure why, but it felt great. Another feature I liked: breakfast delivered to your room, at the time you choose, for free! Yes, it's just continental breakfast (yogurt, croissant, fruit, juice, etc), but it was very good food, and very nice to just fill out an order the night before and leave it hanging on your door knob. When I opened the door in the morning, a lovely basket filled with our breakfast was waiting for us. We could lounge in bed or on the couch in our room, in our pajamas, drinking coffee and eating breakfast on our schedule, not rushing down to a continental breakfast in the lobby that's over by 8am. Tip: We used a coupon here on Trip Advisor for free parking, which is just one block down and across the street. There is an open lot (with in and out privileges) and a garage (no in and out during your stay).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Kristen D,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that you found all aspects of your stay with us to exceed your expectations. Our hand-delivered breakfast is popular with guests, and I am glad to hear that you appreciated having your breakfast within the comfort of your own guest room. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I wanted something cute for my first time in Philly and we picked the perfect place. Walking distance to lots of sights, corky stores, and awesome bakeries and everything. The people we great, adorable breakfast at your door! I couldn't ask for anything more! If I ever visit Philly again, I will definitely be here!

Room Tip: I ask for a room with a cute view and I got a view of the city, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Yasmin W,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that you were not only satisfied with our staff and guest amenities, but also the surrounding area. Midtown Village is a vibrant, charming neighborhood, and we love to be right in the center of it all! We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

From the continental breakfast to the wine and cheese happy hour this is a really nice hotel with friendly staff. All main city attractions and the convention are within an easy walk of the hotel and subway entrance is outside the door. the room was excellent with a great bed. Would definitely stay here if I come to "Philley" again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Paul T,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It is wonderful that you enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer, such as our wine and cheese reception and our complimentary breakfast. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our stay. There were small issues (trouble connecting to wifi, bathroom light didn't work properly) but the front desk staff were as helpful and nice as could be and quickly resolved the problems. Our room was clean and comfortable and the shower was excellent. The included breakfast was delivered to our room on time and was very plentiful and good. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee and tea and afternoon wine and cheese. Best of all, the location is fantastic! We were able to see the major sights of Philly on foot and if you're not a walker, the subway is right at the front door of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Irina 111,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear how pleased you were with your stay. We love being able to offer our guests so many complimentary amenities, and I am glad you were able to take advantage of them during your time with us. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is really a nice hotel - the rooms are clean and beautifully furnished (we loved the hardwood floor!) and the staff is very friendly and gives the place a nice atmosphere. We especially enjoyed the huge painting of the city hall tower in the lobby. Plus, its location is superb! Almost directly on Broad St. and most sights are only an easy stroll away. Moreover it's located directly in front of a subway stop!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear JON216,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so glad you were satisfied with how convenient our location is for sightseeing in Philly, our friendly staff, and our carefully detailed guest rooms. I am also pleased to hear you appreciated the 30 foot mural of Independence Hall in our lobby, which was painted and installed by local artist Kim Senior. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Independent Hotel was as elegant as I expected, the queen room was tastefully decorated and wonderfully spacious, the Inn in it self had great character. I loved checking in and getting a glass of Wine to help ease the day stresses. Lots of wonderful restaurants close by so once you park the car you don't have to move it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Carmen A,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with all aspects of the hotel, from your guest room to the wine and cheese reception. I am also glad that you were able to check out some of the great restaurants that Midtown Village is known for. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#15 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Independent 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.