We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel-excellent location and outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Save Saved
You added The Independent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Independent
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust) (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel-excellent location and outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I loved this hotel. From the huge room, to the consistently attentive service, to the incredible location (and value), it was a very enjoyable stay. First, the location. The hotel is at 13th st and Locust St, which makes it a 5 minute walk to a multitude of restaurants (along 13th street, and along Locust and Walnut streets; favorites were The Corner restaurant and Caribou-French bistro on Walnut)), as well as a 5-10 minute walk to Rittenhouse square (shops, restaurants, Rittenhouse Park), and a 15 minute to Independence Mall historical area. The desk staff were put to the test by the fact that we had a malfunctioning TV in our room. Nick and Eric tried absolutely everything to accommodate us, including letting us watch TV in other hotel rooms on 2 separate nights! (we would not usually be this obsessed with watching TV, but we are from Boston, and the Marathon bombings occurred the first day we were here). Ultimately, they gave us a generous adjustment on our bill without being asked. Apparently, the plan is to replace all of their cable boxes very soon, but do make sure your TV works before you settle into your room! Julie, another front desk person, was equally accommodating of all of our needs. Clearly, the culture is to truly do everything possible to make the customers' stay enjoyable. A note about the breakfast which is included. Nice is that it is delivered to your room in the morning (you mark a card the night before with choices and a time). However, it is a fairly limited Continental breakfast menu, a boxed breakfast that is DIY (e.g. oatmeal that you need to microwave, yogurts, and the only bread/pastry choice is a croissant). Convenient if your trying to head out in a hurry, but we did end up just eating at Green Eggs cafe down the street, which is scrumptious! Parking was included because we printed out the coupon from the Tripadvisor link. Also liked the decor, the "living room" feel of the lobby. Will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: I don't know if all of the rooms that end in "05" are this large, but ours was huge. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear travelswithteens,

Thank you for choosing the The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear that you had TV issues during your stay, but I am very happy to hear that the issues was resolved to your expectionas. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    182
    42
    26
    2
See reviews for
126
248
47
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Independent is a comfortable, cozy hotel in a very central location. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are a good size, and it's great to get breakfast delivered to your room. I walked everywhere during my three days in Philadelphia (theatres, museums, etc.). This was my second stay at The Independent, and I was just as happy with it as I was the first time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Madeline A,

Thank you for choosing the The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us as much as your first. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Independent is a boutique hotel----it is a restored building. The basics that it has are nice---large rooms, very good staff, decor consistent with the independence area of Philly. It doesn't have: a restaurant, concierge, vending and ice on each floor, no swimming pool, room service, or many staff. Each day I only saw one staff member---at the reception desk and moving around the hotel taking care of everyone's needs. If you're looking for a unique experience, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear drj1436,

Thank you for choosing the The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your standards. We are a limited service boutique hotel. We do, however have privately owned two restaurants on the ground floor that will be opening soon and we do offer complimentary gym/pool passes to the 12th street gym on request.

I am, however, happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and accomidating. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I agree with another poster here-- the hotel is great and service is warm with one unfortunate exception-- the woman who seems to work when folks come in a bit early for check in (early afternoon). She was cold and even a bit bothered. She should not be dealing with guests at an expensive boutique hotel. All other staff members were great, warm, went out of their way to be professional and sweet with my family and me. The room was great, location excellent. All in all, I'd definitely recommend the hotel. Just ignore the first impression.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back of the hotel. Loud on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear EdoB172,

Thank you for choosing the The Independent on your recent visit and for adding a comment on your recent stay.

I am sorry that your first impression of the hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at The Independent while doing tours of UPenn and other colleges. We loved The Independent . . . from the wine and cheese reception, to breakfast being delivered to our room, to the comfy, comfy beds, to the parking lot right across the street, to being in the middle of Philly! The people at reception when we checked in and out were personable, knowledgeable and very helpful. If my daughters chooses to go to college in Philly, The Independent will be our place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin H, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Traveller45607,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Independent. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. If your daughter chooses a college in our area, please feel free to contact us again if you need accomidations. Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We are just pulling out of the city of brotherly love and thrilled with our 3 day visit. We are an active family with 3 sons and we like getting out and about. We also like comfortable, hip lodging when we travel. The Independent Hotel is in the middle of a bustling neighborhood of fantastic restaurants, eclectic shopping, interesting sights and historic buildings. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. The rooms seem twice as big because of the high ceilings. The Independent was a great find and I plan to bring my Utah girlfriends back for a city trip. Because of the value, we were able to book two rooms, one for us and one for our boys rather than nearly the same price for one room in a full service hotel. The extra bonus of the Independent is the staff. Julie, Eric and Colin were over the top accommodating through the entire process of reservation, our visit and final check-out. The Independent Hotel was a surprising find and added to an excellent first visit to Philly!

P.S. There is a great nail salon just around the corner if you need a quick, A+ pedicure. "Bellevue Nails"

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin H, Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Roostbrew,

Wow we can't thank you enough for the great review! I'm glad you found the Independent to fit all of your needs, and were able to explore all the surrounding restaurants and shops nearby. We take pride in the amazing staff members we have here. I will be sure to share this review with Julie and Erik! I'm glad we were all able to go above and beyond to ensure your stay was enjoyable.

I'm glad you found us, and we can't wait for your return trip with you and your Utah girlfriends :)

Please let us know when you plan on coming back at info@theindependenthotel.com and we will be sure to take care of you.

Thanks again for the awesome review.

Safe Travels,
Colin Huff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent two nights while visiting colleges with my daughter and had a wonderful experience. Warm reception at check-in with excellent recommendations for dinner by the staff both evenings. Room was spacious with beautiful hardwood floors, coffee maker with many choices of coffees, mini refrigerator and other helpful anemities. Bed was cozy and room was so quiet we'd never guess we were in a city. Breakfast delivered to the room a perfect way to start the day. Location convenient for walking, metro, etc. Wine and cheese each evening was a great way to meet other guests. Beats a large commercial hotel in ambiance, comfort and the simple feeling of home away from home with the royal treatment thrown in for good measure. Now .... if they could only guarantee admission into Penn we'd be staying there four years strong!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, back of the hotel in an amazingly spacious king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin H, Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for writing about your awesome experience LizNantucket! I'm glad you were able to enjoy all the amenities in the hotel- including the wine and cheese :) It's a great opportunity to meet other guests, and socialize with people from all over the world.

Thanks again for the nice review....I will be sure to work on the Upenn admissions office, so we can have you as our guest for the next 4 years! - Good luck with the college search :)

Sincerely,
Colin Huff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Independent 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.