We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful room, awesome staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Save Saved
You added The Independent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independent
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust) (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, beautiful room, awesome staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A wonderful hotel, perfect location for a city-break. Near all the shops and local attractions. Walking distances from restaurants, shopping, Liberty bell and other Philly tourist sites. Gorgeous room with Kitchenette which was great (fridge, tea/coffemaking facilities) and a microwave. Superfriendly staff who couldnt do enough for us. Spacious room, big bathroom. Fab hotel.

Room Tip: #503 was gorgeous. You can experience some noise from the bar on the corner however (we were there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    177
    42
    26
    2
See reviews for
120
243
47
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice personnel, pretty room, good bathroom, centrally located. A very comfortable place to stay. One suggestion: the TVs in room are oddly place (facing the windows!). I would -- and have certainly recommended the Independent to others. The personnel were more than helpful -- when the TV refused to switch on -- TV's are weird at the Independent, facing the windows of the room -- 2 of their personnel came to help out and fix the TV

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The rooms are modern, very comfortable and I love the high ceilings. The bathroom was very spacious with great lighting. Very good value for the price. It is very walkable to many attractions downtown. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I love this little hotel and its location in the Gayborhood which is filled with wonderful restaurants. This is a gem in the city. It's clean and the rooms are large. Also this hotel has great prices. I would recommend this for business or pleasure. There is a parking lot right across from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Suburbs, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I'm feeling lucky this week ... in early September I was looking for a hotel in mid-December and it seemed that all of my favorite Philadelphia stays were booked. After searching and searching, I found The Independent, only a bit over a block away from the Academy of Music. Apparently, I'd missed that it was Army-Navy weekend but, luckily this little gem of a hotel had one last room available. And, it's now my 'go-to' hotel for Philadelphia weekends.

Let's start with the most important info ... it's amazingly clean and in a very safe neighborhood. The room had hardwood or hardwood laminate flooring (I couldn't tell the difference)I LOVED not having filthy hotel carpeting under foot. The bathroom was minimalist and modern. The room was clean, large, and well appointed with 2 bureaus, a very comfortable king size bed, a pull out couch,a full size desk/chair flat screen TV and a small kitchenette (mini-microwave, small refrigerator, and Keurig coffee maker) with Neuman organic coffee pods.

The neighborhood is very active and very safe -- as mentioned, before, it's just a bit off of the Avenue of the Arts which is filled with name brand restaurants and Philly's best theaters. The side streets in this area also have a wealth of great restaurants and small bars. Attached to The Independent's 1st floor mini-lobby (the desk is on the second floor) is a great little bar and restaurant -- excellent food, reasonably priced drinks and great staff. But, I mention it here because it is so darned convenient to the hotel ... go to a show, come back for dinner and drinks, and be just a few steps to your hotel room. ( If you care, the corner of 13th and Locust is known as the heart of the gayborhood ... so same gender couples are fairly common.)

The staff in the hotel is just charming. They know their jobs and do them with competence and humor. Although a small boutique hotel, there is someone on duty 24 x 7. And, although hard to explain how they do it architecturally, each floor has an area that is open to the desk area so you feel connected without being bothered by noise.

Now for the goodies ...
- For the duration of your stay, you have a guest membership to the 12th street gym (with pool) just around the corner
- The lobby of the hotel has excellent coffee and three great tea selections 24 hrs/day. Additionally, during our stay, was an iced bin containing free soda and bottled water
- A small free continental breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning. You may choose a piece of fruit, a juice, yogurt, cereal and/or croissant. Not spectacular, but enough to take off the edge till you make your way to the Reading Terminal for one of their amazing breakfasts.

To get into the hotel, you enter on the street level and take a key to the 2nd floor for check-in. You are provided with a key card which is required to reach the guest room floors and to get into the hotel after 10 PM.

The only even slightly negative thing that I can say about the hotel is that the shower is a bit small. It's an inset shower and of sufficient size ... just the only thing that's not 'quite' the same standard as the rest of the room and the hotel.

That said ... I almost didn't write this review ... this is MY new hotel in the city and I don't want any competition for a room. Be well and enjoy. : )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary, the hotel was beautiful! When you check in the man at the deck was as personable as can be. When we walked into the room, it felt like home. Not too fancy just right!Loved the high ceilings. We had a great night walking around the city, dinner at Capitol Grill. It was December 4 and it was 55 degrees. All in all just a great night. We had to leave very early in the morning. A few hours later I receive a call from the manager that the house keeper found our IPAD. I can't explain how elated that she turned it in. It's the holiday's and we would have been devastated. Just goes to show you there are still great people in this world!!! Words can't explain how grateful we were. Thank you for making our Anniversary perfect. This hotel was an awesome find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Were here only one night but easily could imagine staying a week. From the warm, friendly and very helpful greeting when we arrived, we knew it would be a good stay. Arriving via Amtrak, we got to the hotel before 11:00 a.m. and check-in was smooth and friendly. [Reception is on the second floor, reached via a small elevator.] The friendly reception staff welcomed us to the hotel, offered coffee, soft drinks and bathroom, gave us an orientation, stored our luggage,etc.

Later that afternoon, we returned to find our bags were already in our rooms and the rooms themselves were a nice surprise: clean, comfortable, high ceilings, exposed brickwork, large comfortable bed, small desk, TV, refrigerator, coffee maker, free internet and a large bathroom (shower, no tub). For $139 (AAA discount) plus tax, we expected much higher rates for a major city. There are more expensive rooms as well. Ours were 307 and 207 and both of us agreed that we would easily book The Independent again. If you need large hotel services (business center, conference facilities, dry cleaning and laundry, etc.), this is not the place for you, but I travel often and honestly rarely use all of the hotel services anyway. There is a bar and restaurant on the ground floor--not sure if it is affiliated with the hotel--but there are so many wine bars, restaurants, lounges and other places nearby as well.

Location is fantastic for just about anything you want to do. Within just a 4 block walk in any direction are more restaurants and bars to last a month of meals. Tourist sites, cultural attractions, shopping and the like are all either within walking distance or--for the more distant ones or in bad weather--a short and inexpensive taxi ride away. The hotel offers complimentary light breakfast delivered to the room (in a basket left at the door @ the time you specify). Mine consisted of orange juice, fresh fruit, a croissant with strawberry preserves and yogurt; I made coffee in the room. They have a free wine and cheese reception every night, but we were out and did not try it.

Overall, it was a great stay and a surprising find.

Room Tip: Apparently, our rooms were in the mid-price range. Worth it for a bit of extra room and comfort. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Independent 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.