We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refurbished gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Save Saved
You added The Independent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Independent
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust) (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Recently refurbished gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Independent is a small hotel in the heart of Philadelphia. Not far from the train (you can walk it - about 10 blocks) and one of the boutique inns in Philadelphia that are cropping up all over town. Someone has spent a lot of money fixing this older building up, new paint, king sized beds, interior decorated color schemes, upgraded new baths. Generally a wonderful experience in the heart and hub of old town Philadelphia. I was in a corner room which faced an interesection. At night this can get noisy as the neighborhood is what it is, funky, city, street action. For the money though and the location the only other place I would consider is the Alexander Inn (another boutique hotel). The place is also well insulated so in spite of some street noise, you can sleep well very easily.

Room Tip: Choose something interior from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    177
    41
    26
    2
See reviews for
122
243
47
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a central location for shopping, dining and the the arts. Unfortunately it is also located next to some clubs that close at 3-3:30am. For 1 hour after closing the noise generated from these clubs is intolerable. People screaming, horns honking for up to an hour past closing. In your a night owl and don't mind being up from 3-4:30am, this hotel will work for you. I stayed Friday and Saturday, don't know if the noise is any lower during the work week.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Got a nice sized room and comfortable bed. The complementary breakfast was at my door when I asked for it with yogurt and a granola bar - enough to get me going (there's a great breakfast place with full menu right across the street which I enjoyed after my morning run). The complimentary coffee was also a plus. The staff was helpful and pleasant. I'd stay again for work or for fun.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rooms are beautiful and clean, beds are very comfortable, staff is amazing, wine & cheese in the lobby every night and breakfast delivered in the morning.....they think of everything! Walking distance to all the sites. Would definitely stay again on next trip to Philly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here 8 nights with my girlfriend. The hotel is convenient to both the historical sites and the theater district. The room was very nice, the staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Hotel security was excellent. I liked the 24/7 complimentary tea, coffee, beverage bar in the lobby. Very comfortable beds...a very "cozy" hotel. Even though it's very bustling on Friday and Saturday nights in the area, the rooms are quiet and filter out the noise. I live in Las Vegas so I know what a good hotel property is.....The Independent is a well-managed property and is simply a great place to stay. Staff is very customer-centric.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We were very impressed with the room and the super comfortable bed. The room was very large for a boutique hotel. We walked to a fantastic restaurant and we got a voucher from trip advisor for free parking. We arrived just in time for the complimentary wine and hors d'ourves. The manager at check in was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was okay, fruit, juice, croissant, and yogurt. It was delivered to the room, which was nice. We did not get a chance to walk to any of the nearby destinations, but next time we are in Philadelphia we will plan to stay at the Independent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

At our stay in November 2012 we experienced very friendly and helpful staff. The room was big, clean and pleasant. The great location allows to walk to all significant sights in town. You get great value for your money. Only breakfast was disappointing (a basket with packaged food).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Independent 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.