We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Independent to your Saves list
The Independent
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust) (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Got a nice sized room and comfortable bed. The complementary breakfast was at my door when I asked for it with yogurt and a granola bar - enough to get me going (there's a great breakfast place with full menu right across the street which I enjoyed after my morning run). The complimentary coffee was also a plus. The staff was helpful and pleasant. I'd stay again for work or for fun.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    206
    46
    27
    4
See reviews for
129
271
52
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rooms are beautiful and clean, beds are very comfortable, staff is amazing, wine & cheese in the lobby every night and breakfast delivered in the morning.....they think of everything! Walking distance to all the sites. Would definitely stay again on next trip to Philly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here 8 nights with my girlfriend. The hotel is convenient to both the historical sites and the theater district. The room was very nice, the staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Hotel security was excellent. I liked the 24/7 complimentary tea, coffee, beverage bar in the lobby. Very comfortable beds...a very "cozy" hotel. Even though it's very bustling on Friday and Saturday nights in the area, the rooms are quiet and filter out the noise. I live in Las Vegas so I know what a good hotel property is.....The Independent is a well-managed property and is simply a great place to stay. Staff is very customer-centric.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We were very impressed with the room and the super comfortable bed. The room was very large for a boutique hotel. We walked to a fantastic restaurant and we got a voucher from trip advisor for free parking. We arrived just in time for the complimentary wine and hors d'ourves. The manager at check in was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was okay, fruit, juice, croissant, and yogurt. It was delivered to the room, which was nice. We did not get a chance to walk to any of the nearby destinations, but next time we are in Philadelphia we will plan to stay at the Independent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

At our stay in November 2012 we experienced very friendly and helpful staff. The room was big, clean and pleasant. The great location allows to walk to all significant sights in town. You get great value for your money. Only breakfast was disappointing (a basket with packaged food).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We wish to say that they were kind, friendly, prompt and clean. From extra towels without asking, great shower, comfortable bed, clean, great in-bed breakfast, quiet, welcome letter, coffee and tea corner, plus water and juice, upon entering. Good size rooms, location was great, answered questions quickly. One extra piece for me was the chocolates on the desk, when checking in. Loved it! Great bar and rest. on the first floor. Elegant!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte. North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is clean, the rooms are a good size and the bed is comfortable. However, our room had no TV service and while the staff attempted to correct nothing was accomplished. No discount was offered for this problem. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom didn't fit. The shower head leaked. Finally there was no in room safe. There are more reasonable options in the Gaborhood such as Alexamders.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Independent 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.