We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A harbor in a storm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Save Saved
You added The Independent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independent
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust) (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“A harbor in a storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in Philadelphia when Hurricane Sandy hit: all the flights were canceled, all the shops and restaurants were closed. Stranded, we suddenly had to extend our stay at The Independent. And what a terrific job they did: several members of the staff came in and stayed at the hotel for three days to make sure they could take care of guests. They brought in food and extra wine. They let us know where we could still get sandwiches. They extended our parking privileges free of charge. And they put a cheery face on everything, even as they prepared for power outages and other eventualities. After spending hours on the phone with airlines and car rental agencies that were not at all equipped to deal with the hurricane, we relished the gracious service of The Independent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Scott,

Thank you for your kind review. While we realize being stranded during a storm isn't ideal,but I am glad we were able to make your stay comfortable during the storm. I do hope next time you are in town we have better weather so you can truly enjoy all that Philadelphia has to offer.

Safe & happy travels,
-Erin Fitzharris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    177
    42
    26
    2
See reviews for
120
243
47
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here last week in October and found the staff very friendly .The location was great for sightseeing on foot.

Although our room was dark it was meticulously clean and well appointed, the shower was great and the Hershey's kisses were a nice touch.

If the Independent chain branches out into a city i was travelling to I would definitely stay in one of their hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
HI Christa,

Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted you enjoyed your extended stay with us last week. We really enjoyed having you as our guest and sharing our wonderful city with you! I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of our wine hour each day and mingle with not only our staff but your fellow travelers. I do hope you visit Philadelphia once more and join us again!

Cheers,
Erin Fitzharris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here during Hurricane Sandy. The staff were all super friendly and welcoming- they even ordered complimentary Chinese food for all the guests because no one could really leave the hotel due to the storm. My room was beautiful and well-appointed. The amenities (free wifi, water, wine and cheese hour in the lobby, complimentary breakfast etc...) were absolutely first class. I highly recommend The Independent to anyone staying in Philly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wonderful beds, great personal service and good location. There was a multi channel TV, ipod music center, soaps and shampoos, coffee machine and fridge. Continental breakfast delivered in a basket to your room in the morning. Really good value. Will certainly stay there again. And such nice people no matter who was on duty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If I ever go back to Philly, I will stay at this hotel in a heartbeat. Friendly, helpful staff, immaculate rooms, convenient parking (for a big city), great free breakfast, good location, excellent layout of the room, I could go on and on. Our queen loft suite was just the right size for the four of us and as clean a room as any I have ever seen. Kudos to the staff and mgmt. at this hotel for doing everything RIGHT!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Others have said it, don't stay on the lobby floor. There is a night club below the hotel and things can get quite loud in the wee hours.

Outside of this, the place is charming. The rooms are nicely sized and very well appointed. The staff is friendly. My wife and I have stayed here twice, and both times have been romantic and easy, with excellent walking access to great restaurants, museums and shows. We haven't made it to the wine receptions yet, but will try to squeeze a week day trip in at some point in order to do so.

Breakfast in bed was the icing on the cake. Nothing fancy, but perfectly satisfying.

Room Tip: The King Suite is probably the noisiest room in the hotel. It's a wonderful and spatious room, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good sized room, walking distance to old town tourist area. Liked the free wine reception for guests staying on week days. No dining area, but breakfast arriving in basket outside hotel room worked for me, and there were free bottles of water/juice and coffee. Included pass to very good gym round the corner.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi BMc,

Thanks for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. I hope you were able to not only enjoy the hotel but see the sights and sounds of Philadelphia as well. We hope next time your in town you'll be able to join us again!

Cheers,
Erin Fitzharris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Independent 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.