We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yards Brewing Company

Yards Brewing Company
901 N. Delaware Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19123
215.634.2600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's smallest full-scale brewing company put Philadelphia back on the map with its hand-pulled pints of Extra Special Ale.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I were visiting Philadelphia and was told by a local bartender to make sure we check out Yards Brewing while we were there. We went in around 1:00 and stayed for a few hours. With 12 beers on tap we ended up doing two flights - the Signature and Revolutionary so we'd each be able to try 8. Then we tried two more of the beers by ordering a glass of each. The tasting room/bar area is very big and they have quite a space to accommodate people. There was enough space that you didn't feel crowded and could enjoy yourself. We ordered a late lunch - the bison chili and a four cheese grilled cheese. Both were great. The place prides itself on being green and giving back to the Philadelphia community - it really seems like a great place to hang out. We would definitely be there all the time if we lived close by! Definitely a must see if you're visiting the area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadellphia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Recently we were at this establishment for a funeral luncheon. It was on the small side for the amount of people we had, but the staff could not have done a better job. They always smiled, had something nice to say to us, removed our plates without us asking them to, and replenished our stock all with smiles. It was warm inside, but that was ok. The food was much better than I thought it would be. The baked ziti was good, the cheesesteak perogi's were very tasty, the roast beef sandwiches were much better than the usual ones, mashed potatoes were good, and everything we had was delicious. I was surprised how good the food was, and how cheerful the staff were. They sell hats and shirts from what I could see. There is a bar inside in addition to the tables and chairs. Parking is not good, they have a few meters nearby. Several people said they parked at the Sugarhouse Casino and walked over. We did not take the tour as I thought that would not be appropriate for the reason we were there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent tour and brew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stopped at Flying Fish on our way into town, so we stopped at Yards on our way out. Probably the nicest tasting room I have seen so far, with plenty of room and a nice bar. They are very sample happy and you get to try a lot of things for free. The tour was very informative, but there were so many people on our tour (that were chatting amongst themselves) that it was hard to hear the guide. Also, on a sunny afternoon it was a tad warm in the front part of the tour. But overall, we had a really great experience. Especially liked the Saison and the Grapfruit Pale Ale they had on Cask. They have a pool table and shuffleboard, as well as a few menu items to munch on. had a blast!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great beer great place to hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Last time when in Philly we got a chance to go to Yards well we tried almost all there beer they had might have missed a few. It was just a great place to hang out play some pool and have great beer. I will and would recommend this place to everyone looking to just relax and hang out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I've been to many craft breweries and this one is a top favorite of mine. Great beer, great employees, great atmosphere. A must see if you love a good beer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yards Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Yards Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yards Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.