We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Visitors Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Independence Visitor Center

Independence Visitor Center
1 North Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
1-800-537-7676
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$49*
and up
The Philadelphia Pass
Ranked #19 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Independence Visitor Center is the primary point of orientation for Independence National Historical Park, the City of Philadelphia, the Southern New Jersey and Delaware River Waterfronts, as well as Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery Counties in Pennsylvania.
Ames, IA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best Visitors Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Learned as much from the helpful park rangers in the center as we did from the park ranger guides. Sorry to hear that the 2013 financial sequester mess will limit hours and availability of historic sites to Philly visitors interested in seeing sites operated by our National Parks Service beginning May 1, 2013.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    307
    72
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Start your exploring here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visit here very time we come to the area for all the great features- parking garage below with easy ticket parking, rest rooms, snack bar, free maps to the area, knowledeable staff, and a great place to gather if you have a large group. There is a small exhibition area with the Underground Railroad, and sometimes other featured exhibits and there are always a few short films that run every 20 minutes for additional learning. The park rangers are friendly at the desk and will direct you with a map and their best route. All tickets for most attractions that require them can be purchased inside and they snack bar is great if you are travelibng with kids or teens and a good, central meeting spot should some of your group decide to go exploring on their own. The Liberty Bell and Independence Hall are right outside as well and the parking garage saves the hassle of trying to find a spot. I highly recommend it. During special events, they have period players inside interacting with people and telling stories.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“springbreak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This should be the first stop for all visitors to Philadelphia. The facilities are first rate and all the information to the city in located right here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice and clean, easy parkiing, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Philadelphia. We had a few questions and the staff was friendly and helpful. We parked in the garage underneath the visitors center and it was so handy, especially on a cold and rainy day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place to start.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Underground parking garage. Don't watch the 30 minute film, especially if you have kids of any age. Next door to the Liberty Bell and walking distance to many attractions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independence Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Independence Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independence Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.