We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service spoiled only by the inadequacy of the tiny tables.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zahav

Zahav
237 Saint James Pl, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3936 (City Center East)
215-625-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zahav is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 3,843 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Dock Street at Walnut (Between 2nd & 3rd)
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service spoiled only by the inadequacy of the tiny tables.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The food is clearly excellent. The chefs tasting menu was both plentiful, varied and creative. The 6 hour roasted lamb simply divine. having said that the wine list is exceptionally small and totally biased to expensive israeli and lebanese wines. They need to vary that up somewhat as some of those wines are simply not world class and there would be better pairings for their wonderful food if they offered better choices. I have little doubt the sommelier is up to that so long as the will and funds are there.
The service was both knowledgeable and attentive, albeit a little rushed and haphazard at times. The one big issue are the tiny, tiny tables positioned right next to your neighbor or in the walking aisles. In addition there was no covering for the table and that meant that unless its super cleaned and sanitized between diners it really is unacceptable. We kept getting bumped by the passing waiters and were totally part of the conversation from the rather loud table next to us. Not what should happen and that needs be addressed if the ambience/experience is to match the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    115
    36
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Went for the special Passover Dinner. Most unusual and delicious food. Service and server were outstanding. Can't wait to return for there regular menu.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lively, yummy, attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We dined here on a Thursday night, but could not get a reservation at any time other than 5:45 p.m. -- the downside of this restaurant's popularity. Despite the early hour, we were glad to have found Zahav. Good hummus -- although far from the best I've eaten -- creative menu and adequate portions, depending on what you order. The grilled duck hearts were delicious tiny morsels in a sweet-and-tart sauce. The fried cauliflower was tasty and the lamb merguez was small, plump and delicious. The bartender was friendly and fast while our waitress was attentive without being intrusive. The Jerusalem stone walls and lighting created the impression of being in Israel as the light fell, and the price for the quality and portions was about right. Recommend this for a night out with friends if you're looking for a unique and lively restaurant in Philadelphia.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence Island
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“OMG Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I traveled to Philadephia for a Conference and being a really big foodie - did a bit of research on places to eat in the City. Zahav was not ranked number one on trip advisor - but it doesn't matter. The food is 'slap your mama' good! The service is highly professional and friendly and the ambience is overall really welcoming - even for a solo diner like I was. I didn't have reservations - but they are highly recomended as I had to wait for a seat at the bar - which was worth it!

This is definitely a place I would return to with my family - and recommend to anyone looking for a really authentic and simply outstanding meal in Philadelphia!

OMG Good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Had dinner there today and loved everything, the food was different and great and the atmosphere was great as well, the customer service was 5 star. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zahav also viewed

 

Been to Zahav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zahav, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.